We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Arriving 2days before the start of the spring season was great we got excellent rates! Also the hotel had been remodeled last spring everything was fresh and up to date...and the ocean front 5thof floor balcony had a million dollar view!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay--and our Oceanfront rooms DO have amazing views! We hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    104
    21
    17
    12
See reviews for
109
135
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The resort itself is a little bit run down but is clean and a great value. What really blew us away was the food and the staff. The crab cakes and the coconut shrimp are amazing! The waitstaff/bartenders Garret and Steve really made the trip for us. The beach was right out the back window and the view was spectacular!! I would most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: 517 is a nice condo suit on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We love the Sea Ranch and stay there exclusively when on the Outer Banks. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I enjoy coffee every morning on the balcony watching the sun rise over the ocean and a glass of wine in the evening watching it set - amazing view for the price! The staff is extremely professional and helpful. I highly recommend the Sea Ranch if you're looking for an affordable and relaxing place to stay on the Outer Banks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, SC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After reading other reviews, we chose this hotel for our "base" as we explored the Outer Banks. The room was clean and spacious. We were shocked to walk on the balcony and find the water almost directly below us with a very thin area of beach. No problem...as we love listening to the surf as we relax or sleep! We even had a beautiful sunrise complete with two groups of dolphins passing by! We had a "get-away" deal which made it quite affordable. Chose to bring food back to eat since there was a nice table with the ocean just out the window!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I were looking for our first relaxing vaction since having our four children, we have 4 under 4. This was the perfect place and the perfect price. We booked their Romance Package and it was wonderful. From the moment we walked in and saw the view we relaxed fully. Clean rooms, extremely helpful and friendly staff and amazing views! We even had our own private balcony with Telescope patio furniture. The room included microwave and mini fridge making our stay most enjoyable. We had access to the pool, and being off season had it to ourselves. Our package also included one dinner which was fantastic and 2 breakfasts at a local hangout VERY close to the hotel which was really great too. Our package also included a couples massage and it was arranged for the massage therapist to come right to our room. It was just perfect.

The rooms were very nicely remodeled and we didn't want to leave. Thank you for giving us back our sanity! We intend to do this again next year with the hopes of making it our annual get away!

Room Tip: 5th floor of ocean side rooms are the best for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel, the rooms was great! Very Clean, new remodel, and very pleasant to stay in. We will come back over and over. To see the sunrise and set was the best site ever... I will recommened the hotel to everyone. Which this is my fourth stay there it was better then ever this time. If you ever want a relaxing place to go try them atleast once, you will go back for more.
The staff was great could not ask for anything better.

Room Tip: Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We're happy that you are pleased with the updated decor and comfort of our oceanfront rooms, and enjoyed your FOURTH stay with us!

We hope that your travel plans will bring you back to see us at the Sea Ranch very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

the staff welcomed my wife and i early feb 1. we had driven all night and was early to the resort. without hesitation they allowed us up to our room. the room was very clean and large. from the window we could watch the ocean and sunrise each morning. the weather was cool but sunny. any questions about the attactions or area was answered by the staff. the staff also directed us to unknowed sites. we are already planning our next trip to the sea ranch this fall. thank you

Room Tip: top floor oceanside best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review! Happy to hear that you had such a great trip and that we helped make it more enjoyable for you! We look forward to seeing you back this fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the recently renovated room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool, new fitness center and game room, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us for in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms in the beachfront resort and oceanside lodge offer: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: We now offer 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a full kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 3 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.