We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Atlantic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Main Building Guest Rooms
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
new orleans
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Right on the Atlantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family and I just returned from a stay in one of the two bedroom, two bath oceanfront suites. The location was perfect as we were right on the beach with an ocean view. These are more like condos or apartments with full kitchens including washer and dryer. The living room and master bedrooms have access via sliding door to the glass enclosed porch which overlooks the Atlantic and the beach. There were windows that could be opened if you liked, but it was cold and we could hear the ocean waves just fine with the sliding doors open.

The furniture is basic and not very fancy, but provided a comfortable living room sofa and reading chair with ottoman. The dining room table sat six with plenty of room plus there were bar stools for the eating bar. The bedding wasn't the fanciest or highest thread count, but for the price and location I think it was sufficient. I think they could invest in some nice solid colored duvets to update the bedrooms a bit. The master bath seemed to have been updated and was roomy. The other bathroom had an older blue tub from the 60s or 70s with older hardware. Our daughter liked to use our tub in the master bath instead.

There was a continental breakfast provided, but we ended up eating at the Jolly Roger down the street instead. We also bought some food at the local grocery, Harris Teeter, and enjoyed some meals in our room. If you like coffee in your room, you should bring your own filters, coffee etc. as there was no started set provided. Otherwise the kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, glassware, pots, pans, can opener, toaster , blender and microwave.

There is a nice enclosed pool, but it was closed during our visit probably due to low occupancy during the winter.

The staff was wonderful and very helpful. They always had great suggestions for sightseeing, dining or shopping.

We managed to see a lot of historic sites on this visit and found everything to be easily accessible from this hotel's location.

Room Tip: I would suggest a two bedroom, two bath on the beach on a higher floor. I bet the lower locations ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Sounds like you had a great trip! Thanks for taking the time to leave your compliments and suggestions! We look forward to having you back in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    111
    25
    19
    14
See reviews for
120
139
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visit this facility several times a year - just returned from dual Christmas and New Year (the latter combined with a great New Year's Eve party at the Jolly Roger restaurant just down the road, a quaint and very friendly place that appears to be always open). We are planning to return for my upcoming birthday in February. Barbara Gusler, Sea Ranch's General Manager, and her staff are engaging, accommodating and always available 24/7. Sorry that their excellent restaurant and bar are closed for the season. We love this retreat and consider it our second home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for all the kind words! See you in a few weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a nice place right on the beach. It is clean and well-maintained. The staff is helpful and pleasant. The only criticism I have is about the restaurant. Workers were cursing loudly in the kitchen and we had a lengthy wait for our food. We will absolutely stay there again soon...we will just eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in a two bedroom oceanfront suite. I apologize on the Bistro's behalf for the experience you had while dining during your stay. We will be sure to address our staff with your comments. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and we look forward to your return in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonton, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The room was great, and wow what a great price. We stay here every time we come down when it is just a few days. On the beach, easy access to everything. We walked for hours! The room was claen and easy to get to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! Glad to hear that you enjoyed another getaway here at the Sea Ranch and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The best part of this hotel is not the building, but the location. The building, lobby and rooms are older and somewhat worn, but the Atlantic Ocean is steps away. I was very satisfied paying an off season rate of $70 for a room not facing the ocean, but would never pay more than $100 at anytime. There is an indoor pool, but no hot tub which was very disappointing. The continental breakfast consisted of bread, bananas and coffee. I would suggest to come here in season and get an oceanfront room, but only at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Request oceanfront with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for taking time to share your comments. I wanted to make you aware that the Sea Ranch is in the process of a three step renovation. The oceanfront guest rooms were completely remodeled for the 2012 season and we are planning this winter to begin upgrading the oceanside rooms (where you stayed)! We hope that you will return and experience these changes for yourself!

Stay in touch for special off season rates and other promotions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 5 days, 4 nights at the Sea Ranch for the 2nd year in a row, in town to run the marathon. Having vacationed in this area every summer for many years now in a beach house, it is definitely different staying so long in a hotel but the Sea Ranch is worth it. A great price for an oceanfront room at this time of year, we had another fantastic stay. Missed the advertised breakfast buffet (they should really mention that upon check-in as we were looking forward to it!), but we were given a coupon for the Jolly Roger just down the street. The room was clean and we had plenty of towels and blankets for the bed. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. The proximity of the freezing cold ocean and the nice warm indoor pool for those of us incredibly sore after running 13.1 or 26.2 miles was well-appreciated!! We will definitely stay at the Sea Ranch again for any shorter trips to the Outer Banks. I would recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor oceanfront rooms have direct access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to review us! We hope too see you in the spring for the next OBSE event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our time there. We are planning on going back in spring.

The breakfast was confusing. Book in room states a buffet and there was no breakfast buffet or even an opportunity to order something only a continental buffet which is fine but should be stated at checkin.

Additional mirror in room is recommended, only location is in the bathroom.

Room clean! Balcony GREAT!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review! We apologize for the confusion with breakfast - breakfast hours and menu are seasonal and in the off-season we offer our guests a complimentary continental breakfast. We hope that you will return to the Sea Ranch Resort your next trip to Kill Devil Hills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the recently renovated room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool, new fitness center and game room, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us for in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms in the beachfront resort and oceanside lodge offer: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: We now offer 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a full kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 3 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.