We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I couldn't pick a better place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I couldn't pick a better place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights at the Sea Ranch Resort for our 10th wedding anniversary. We had an oceanfront room with a private balcony. We were right on the beach, we could watch the dolphins and sun rises from our balcony while we had coffee. The room was clean and nicely decorated. It is in a great location so you can get north to Duck and Corolla or south to Nags Head or Hatteras. It was very affordable. I was nervous when making the reservation because it wasn't a "name brand" hotel but I'm so glad we did. The staff was friendly and I can't imagine I better place to stay. We are very pleased and we can't wait to stay again next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
FIRST...Happy Anniversary! We are so glad that we could be a part of such a special time for you! Thanks for taking the time to review and we look forward to having you back at the Sea Ranch Resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    108
    22
    19
    13
See reviews for
115
137
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Loved this place! Second floor room with ocean view, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms & large balcony at fall special rates. Really nice rooms and well stocked kitchen. Staff was very helpful. Will return ASAP!

Room Tip: Second floor or higher for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! Happy to hear that you enjoyed the two bedroom/two bath suites. All the conveniences of home...OCEANFRONT. Keep in touch for specials and packages that we are offering and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I booked Sea Ranch for two nights October 12th & 13th for our anniversary. We have never been to the Outer Banks so I was not sure what to expect. Booked thru Booking.Com and at check in we asked about the breakfast that was included. They told us they did do that anymore. I showed them my paperwork and the ladies quickly honored it. Thank you ladies. By the way breakfast was very good! Now on to the room .It was on the top floor (5th) and such an awesome view of the ocean. The one night we had the door open and listen to the ocean all night. The room was very clean and the maid came while we were there and I told her what time we were going out and she was very accomodating about coming back.Which she did. Also had a small bar and a musician. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Jolly Roger is in walking distance and they have food specials .Of course the theme is pirates w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and we are so glad we could be a part of your anniversary! We hope that you will come back and enjoy that 5th floor view and ocean breeze again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Not a bad place for the money. Room was nice and very close to ocean. We were in a ocean front room on the fourth floor great view. Resturant was pretty good and bar wasn't bad a little expensive but on par with the area. Overall would stay there again if in area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for your review, we hope that you will re-visit us in the future! Stay in touch for special promotions and packages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Wish we booked in advance to get king room with ocean view as it has a sofa for additional seating. But our room with 2 queens is very nice. Love hearing sounds of waves from our room/balcony and to be right on the beach. Helpful staff. Great fall special rates.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Fall is such a great time to visit the Outer Banks! We are glad that you found your room comfortable and a good value! If we can assist you planning your next stay in a king oceanfront room, please feel free to contact us! Thanks for taking the time to review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel staffing is incredible. We had car trouble when we fist arrived and Mary Ann the manager was so helpful; even though car was a problem the staff helped us in everyway so we still had fun and gave us late checkout. The bartender at the cafe Garrett mixed our drinks extra special to ease up the anxiety of no car and the food was great on the beachside cafe so close you could touch the sand

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Sorry to hear that you had car trouble during your trip...but so happy to hear that the staff here was able to put you at ease and help you start your vacation the right way! Thanks do much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you your next visit to the Outer Banks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We found the Sea Ranch Hotel while riding by. Our reservations were not what we had planned with Hotels.com. So we cancelled and went looking. Nice rooms right on the beach, indoor pool well keep, nice people and the resturant was wonderful with great food. We will go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch R, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Well, sometimes things DO happen for a reason! We are so happy that we could turn your vacation around and hope that you will continue to stay with us year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
Fitness center...
Show More
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Free Parking, B...
Show More
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Romantic, Free...
Show More
6.9 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#8 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Resort

Address: 1731 N. Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 325, Kill Devil Hills, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Ranch Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the recently renovated room accommodations that reflect a coastal color palette and modern room finishes that will create a relaxing and comfortable space for your stay. Convenient on-site amenities include an enclosed heated pool, new fitness center and game room, outside picnic area and grill. The Sea Ranch also welcomes you to our oceanfront restaurant, the Beachside Bistro, which offers a delightful menu with a focus on American Coastal Cuisine. Join us for in the dining room or on our deck where you can soak in the beautiful ocean view! Beachfront Resort: All rooms in the beachfront resort and oceanside lodge offer: microwaves, refrigerators, Cable TV and Internet. Oceanfront Suites: We now offer 2 BR / 2 Bath fully equipped, condo style suites. Each suite offers a full kitchen, washer & dryer and living room with a sleeper sofa! Minimum of a 3 night stay required in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sea Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Sea Ranch Resort Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.