We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Banks Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Outer Banks Beach Club to your Saves list
Outer Banks Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile Post 9 Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Okay for a weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here on a rainy February weekend. The accommodations were nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our only negative was the $17 a day Wi-fi charge which we refused to pay (Wi-fi free in the resort office) - I mean, come on, it's 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    40
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here through an RCI exchange. The space was comfortable and roomy, and the proximity to the beach, and Outer Banks attractions was excellent. That being said, the unit is outdated - old TV;s, couches, etc. and in terms of the places we usually stay with RCI, this one was a bit below the usual par. This being said, the kitchen was well stocked with equipment, including plenty of dishes and high quality pans and silverware. We rented a two bedroom, which had two bathrooms, one with a good sized jacuzzi tub. There is also plenty of closet space. PLEASE heed - we are a middle aged couple in good shape - so the 2.5 flights everytime we went out or came back was fine for us. But it's a long way up - with just a "lift" for a luggage transporter. There is an indoor pool and hot tub that we never checked out, but looked nice. We did use one of the outdoor hot tubs, and that was warm and pleasant. We would definitely plan a trip back here.
Also, please note: Regular check-in is between 4 and 5 ONLY! The night security person lets you in if you arrive past 5. This was fine by us, as he was far and above the nicest and most informative staffer we met. The few times we stopped at the front desk, none of the many women behind the desk were attentive or helpful. We clearly were not as important as their on-going conversations. We got one word answers to our questions, and mostly inaccurate information.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is our 2nd stay for a long weekend, in a large oceanfront 3-BR unit. This is a great kickback-and-relax place in the winter. Condos are large, very clean and well maintained. Facilities responds immediately to any problem; you will have some stairs to navigate, as everything is built up (but there are elevators). We enjoyed full beach view, and it is conveniently located to Duck, Manteo, and other nearby places. This is an older timeshare place, but location is first rate. There are a lot of units here, so request ocean side / ocean view, or you may be looking at a parking lot. Great restaurants all around. Many shops are closed in January, but there's still places to shop and see for a lazy weekend. I plan on making a yearly visit here in the winter; maybe even during beach weather.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views but more stairs - small elevator available, but we didn't use it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Thanks to reading the positive reviews, we made reservations online for a two-bedroom suite at the Outer Banks Beach Club. Other reviewers have covered the details very well but we'd like to our positive review. We had a spacious, comfortable, and remarkably clean beach front condo at an incredibly inexpensive price. Don't hesitate to choose the Outer Banks Beach Club.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice condos for the price.Complete package just bring your suitcase and a few groceries and let the fun begin. There are lifts availabe to take your stuff up to the upstair units, leg saver! Master suite is very large. Facilities are very well maintained for a large resort. Kitchen was very well equipped and functional. Large beach area with easy access from all units even the ones across the street. Great shopping and resturants in the area. Wright Brothers memorial and musem and Jockey's Ridge just a stones through away. Other activities include Hang Gliding schools and good surf fishing espicially in the fall of the year.Whether this will be your first visit or repeat it will be a good choice. Great job guys!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I found the Outer Banks Beach club while combing through all of the reviews of the mediocre beach hotel/motels and decided to give it a try. We made reservations online and it seemed to work just like making a hotel reservation. We booked a 2 BR 2BA condo for 2 nights. Upon arrival, we checked in at the office, and we had to leave a credit card for a security deposit.

We were not given any other information. When we got to the unit, we found instructions for check-out which is where the establishment varies from what you'd find in a hotel. You will need to strip the beds and towels and put all soiled linens in a big bag before you check out. You will also need to wash and put away any dishes that you use and take out the trash. I did not find any of this unreasonable, considering the fact that I was paying less for a condo than I would have paid for a hotel. The only thing is that none of these details were explained at check-in.

The complex is divided between being ocean side and across the street (Beach Rd aka Virginia Dare Hwy aka Hwy 12) from the ocean. Our unit was on the top floor, ocean side, but looked out onto the parking lot/pool. Note: Due to condo configuration, Ocean front units of the Beach Club II would provide a ocean view from the Bedrooms, and parking lot views from the living room. On the ocean side are also some "yurt" shaped buildings. I cannot speak to their configuration or views.

It was very spacious, albeit a bit dated in decor (early 90's is my guess). However, the unit was extremely clean. The kitchen was well-stocked and there were plenty of linens, seating space, dining space, and closets. There was a small balcony accessible from both bedrooms that faced West (view of hwy 12). The "front" door opens onto a common breezeway, but each unit has a table and 4 chairs on the breezeway if you were to want to eat outside (just know that your neighbors very well may walk right by while you dine). I think the complex had 2 outdoor pools,and it had an indoor heated pool that is open year-round. The outdoor pool closest to our unit was clean and filled, but was very chilly. There was also a hot tub.

Our building had an elevator. Note, given the fact that this a time-share condo, there is not help with luggage, but there were luggage carts for those who would need them.

My only complaint is that on check-out day, the staff was knocking (quietly) on our door by 8:30 AM. When we did not respond to the quiet knock, they proceeded to try to enter the unit. I called out to the man, and the creepy thing was that he did not answer me nor did he apologize. He stood there for a bit and then walked away. Check-out is 10AM, so there is no reason anyone should have been trying to let themselves into our unit.

The other thing is that when we got home, my husband had some missing medication. This facility does not include daily housekeeping, so no one should have been in our unit. However, we cannot explain the loss of the medication from his bottle....

There is no "hard-sell" or anything here, but there are time-share resales available. A listing was included in our check-in packet. You can also rent specific units by the week, I am pretty certain. I would stay here again, especially due to the price and the space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We travelled to the outer banks in June 2012, driving by car from Washington,D.C.
Once we passed the bridge connecting the banks to the mainland we already felt like it is a different country, isolated from the outside world.

The Outer Banks Beach club is a timeshare RCI, located in the heart of Kill Devil Hills, on the beach. There are a few 4 storey buildings hosting 2 bedroom units.
E place is maybe 25 year old, however I was pleasantly surprised that it is well maintained and in a very good condition.
The units are specious and vey clean.
With 200 yards to the sea it was a perfect place to enjoy both the beach, the sea and the town attractions.
It has a very nice outdoor pool, very convenient.
The beach is clean, however it was very windy during our stay with large waves that made swimming and sunbathing challenging.
Overlay, it is a nice place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outer Banks Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Beach Club

Address: Mile Post 9 Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Hotel Class:3 star — Outer Banks Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Time Share Resort that is family oriented. Friday check in's are across the street from the ocean with elevator access available in early 2014. These are two bedroom units. Saturday and Sunday check in's are oceanside and oceanfront with elevator access. One and three bedroom units on the oceanfront have elevators. Oceanside do not.There are two outdoor pools with hot tubs and one heated indoor pool with hot tub. We have shuffle board and tennis courts. Free wifi in the clubhouse and a free computer if needed. We offer free day passes to the local YMCA only two miles away. Plenty of activities daily for adults and children. We have beautiful beaches with spectacular views. Great local attractions very close to the resort. We have wheel chair access on our beach boardwalks with a large gazebo and viewing decks. We have 24 hour security and offer help with luggage especially for units without elevators via our luggage lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Outer Banks Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Beach Club Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Outer Banks Beach Hotel
Outer Banks Beach Club NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Banks Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.