We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo space for hotel price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Banks Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Outer Banks Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outer Banks Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile Post 9 Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Condo space for hotel price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I found the Outer Banks Beach club while combing through all of the reviews of the mediocre beach hotel/motels and decided to give it a try. We made reservations online and it seemed to work just like making a hotel reservation. We booked a 2 BR 2BA condo for 2 nights. Upon arrival, we checked in at the office, and we had to leave a credit card for a security deposit.

We were not given any other information. When we got to the unit, we found instructions for check-out which is where the establishment varies from what you'd find in a hotel. You will need to strip the beds and towels and put all soiled linens in a big bag before you check out. You will also need to wash and put away any dishes that you use and take out the trash. I did not find any of this unreasonable, considering the fact that I was paying less for a condo than I would have paid for a hotel. The only thing is that none of these details were explained at check-in.

The complex is divided between being ocean side and across the street (Beach Rd aka Virginia Dare Hwy aka Hwy 12) from the ocean. Our unit was on the top floor, ocean side, but looked out onto the parking lot/pool. Note: Due to condo configuration, Ocean front units of the Beach Club II would provide a ocean view from the Bedrooms, and parking lot views from the living room. On the ocean side are also some "yurt" shaped buildings. I cannot speak to their configuration or views.

It was very spacious, albeit a bit dated in decor (early 90's is my guess). However, the unit was extremely clean. The kitchen was well-stocked and there were plenty of linens, seating space, dining space, and closets. There was a small balcony accessible from both bedrooms that faced West (view of hwy 12). The "front" door opens onto a common breezeway, but each unit has a table and 4 chairs on the breezeway if you were to want to eat outside (just know that your neighbors very well may walk right by while you dine). I think the complex had 2 outdoor pools,and it had an indoor heated pool that is open year-round. The outdoor pool closest to our unit was clean and filled, but was very chilly. There was also a hot tub.

Our building had an elevator. Note, given the fact that this a time-share condo, there is not help with luggage, but there were luggage carts for those who would need them.

My only complaint is that on check-out day, the staff was knocking (quietly) on our door by 8:30 AM. When we did not respond to the quiet knock, they proceeded to try to enter the unit. I called out to the man, and the creepy thing was that he did not answer me nor did he apologize. He stood there for a bit and then walked away. Check-out is 10AM, so there is no reason anyone should have been trying to let themselves into our unit.

The other thing is that when we got home, my husband had some missing medication. This facility does not include daily housekeeping, so no one should have been in our unit. However, we cannot explain the loss of the medication from his bottle....

There is no "hard-sell" or anything here, but there are time-share resales available. A listing was included in our check-in packet. You can also rent specific units by the week, I am pretty certain. I would stay here again, especially due to the price and the space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We travelled to the outer banks in June 2012, driving by car from Washington,D.C.
Once we passed the bridge connecting the banks to the mainland we already felt like it is a different country, isolated from the outside world.

The Outer Banks Beach club is a timeshare RCI, located in the heart of Kill Devil Hills, on the beach. There are a few 4 storey buildings hosting 2 bedroom units.
E place is maybe 25 year old, however I was pleasantly surprised that it is well maintained and in a very good condition.
The units are specious and vey clean.
With 200 yards to the sea it was a perfect place to enjoy both the beach, the sea and the town attractions.
It has a very nice outdoor pool, very convenient.
The beach is clean, however it was very windy during our stay with large waves that made swimming and sunbathing challenging.
Overlay, it is a nice place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We did a 2 day get away at the Outer Banks Beach Club . we have stayed there 3 other times , and were able to get ocean front unit s which have a elevator. This time we had a 2 bedroom unit across the strret from the beach , but that was OK because it is just a short walk. We did have 2 sets of steps, and that was OK , But if you are on the 3rd floor you would have alot of steps to go up. The weather was great and we spent the day on the beach, just enjoying the view . there were alot of surf fishin going on , and they can drive on the beach which I dont care for , but that NC . We got our reservation through Booking .com. and they never sent it to the check in desk , not happy with booking . com , and will not use them again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed again and the place was great! I was in 18 PH (ocean front unit).
The Outer Banks Beach Club II (square buildings) is on the same property as Outer Banks Beach Club (round buildings). Our unit was on the beach side of the property overlooking the ocean with a great beach view! The walk to the beach was less then 30 seconds from the door. The weather and water temps (both in the ocean and the three pools) were great during the 4th of July! The 3 bedroom unit is spacious, two rooms had queen beds and the other has 2 twins. There are 2 full bathrooms, which is nice and one had jets. There is a lot of closet space in the unit. The kitchen was great and had 2 dining tables. The furniture clean but a bit outdated, The staff was very nice, we were able to check in early, which was awesome. You can rent movies and do activities in the clubhouse. There is an indoor pool and hot tub that is good for rainy days, it isn't large, but no one else was there when we were. You can get a pass to the local YMCA, we didn't do this,but might have if we had stayed longer. They had bedding, towels, and beach towels in the unit for our use which they will replace the linens for you mid-week.
Overall, it is a great place to stay. We liked it so much we came back a second time and even bought a unit this year from the on site sales staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were surprised to find the price of renting a timeshare condo was actually less than most hotels. We rented a one bedroom, which also had a pull-out queen size sofa in a separate living room, a fully stocked kitchen, and a small dining table. Very clean. Bonus - laundry facilities & storage area underneath the building where we could keep all of our sandy beach gear. Check-in was a breeze & staff was very friendly. Downsides - you can only get clean towels 1 time during a one week stay, no daily room cleaning as you get in a standard hotel, no private balcony. The shared balcony was not too bad though as the way the units are structured, people tend to use separate stairwells so it was rare someone walked by our deck area. The beach wasn't too long of a walk from our unit (1A in OBBC 1) and we were right next to the pool. Neither the pool or the beach got too crowded as we expected since we were there during a prime week. In short, this place is a great value and I would highly recommend. We will stay there again when we visit OBX next summer. One last tip - loved the little place crabby fries which was right across the street. They had the best lemonade and the owner was very friendly.

Room Tip: Some of the units are across the street. If you want to be near the beach, make sure you get a unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We just returned from another wonderful week at the OBBC. Our unit in OBBC II was on the top floor and overlooked the ocean. You could sit in your living room and see the beach and ocean. Our two bedroom unit was very spacious with a living room, dining area, full kitchen, and two full bathrooms. Perfect for a family or group of friends (which we were). Ocean access is just steps away as is the outdoor pool and spa. They also have an indoor pool and spa which is very nice, too. The other great thing is that it's very convenient to restaurants, shops, and the Wright Brothers Memorial. I will say that it could use some sprucing up but it was certainly clean and very comforable. Certainly nicer than staying in a hotel room.

Room Tip: Rooms in OBBC II on the top floor have terrific views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Who knew? I searched for a place a step up from a boring hotel, and found a great condo resort, that was cheaper than the hotels in the area. Outer Banks Beach Club I is a real nice place. We had a 1 bedroom condo, right on the beach. Yes, step out of your door onto the boardwalk, and we were on the beach. The place is very well managed and very well maintained. We had no issues from check in to check out. The 1 bedroom condo was just right for our family of 4. The only thing I would change is to taek out an over sized dining table and repalce it with a smaller table. They also rent 2 bedrrom and 3 bedroom units. We had access to the local YMCA, an indoor pool on site, and scheduled activities. The place is smack in the middle of everything too - Kitty Hawk is 1 mile away, Jockey Ridge State Park is about 4 miles away, etc.... This place is obviously a timeshare development, that rents out units. I'd never own a time share, but I sure like this place to rent for a few days. Great!!

Room Tip: 1st floor level rooms are below the sand dune level, so you can't see the beach/ocean. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outer Banks Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Beach Club

Address: Mile Post 9 Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outer Banks Beach Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Time Share Resort that is family oriented. Friday check in's are across the street from the ocean with elevator access available in early 2014. These are two bedroom units. Saturday and Sunday check in's are oceanside and oceanfront with elevator access. One and three bedroom units on the oceanfront have elevators. Oceanside do not.There are two outdoor pools with hot tubs and one heated indoor pool with hot tub. We have shuffle board and tennis courts. Free wifi in the clubhouse and a free computer if needed. We offer free day passes to the local YMCA only two miles away. Plenty of activities daily for adults and children. We have beautiful beaches with spectacular views. Great local attractions very close to the resort. We have wheel chair access on our beach boardwalks with a large gazebo and viewing decks. We have 24 hour security and offer help with luggage especially for units without elevators via our luggage lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Outer Banks Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Beach Club Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Outer Banks Beach Hotel
Outer Banks Beach Club NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Banks Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.