We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Campground by Far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OBX Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
OBX Campground
126 Marshy Ridge Rd., Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Afton, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Campground by Far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the OBX Campground in mid-November, 2013. This campground, hidden at the end of a residential street was a real find. It is small, but there is nice spacing between sites and SO CLEAN. The bath houses were the largest and nicest I have yet to see. The 6 shower stalls were fiberglass stalls with seats, including two that were handicapped accessible. Not the concrete floor with rubber mat that you usually have. There were multiple, large toilet stalls, along with 2 handicapped accessible ones. The men's and women's facilities were separate buildings, which I liked. The campground is adjacent to the sound with a pier and picnic area adjacent to the water. The Wright Memorial is just north of the campground and other sites are very close and convenient. We would stay there again in a heartbeat and I would recommend it to any camper.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

In Colington, this relatively new campground is secluded from the highly commercialized Croatan Hiway. It has water frontage, very roomy campsites and is very clean. If you are into beach and sand, noise, etc., this may not be the campground for you. If you enjoy peace and quiet and within 3 miles of the beach, then this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Simple and serene RV park in a great location, just west of the Wright Brothers Memorial. Clean and well kept, surrounded by wetlands and the Sound. Gravel pads and roads. Playset for the kids. Full hookups with 20/30/50 amp connections, cable and WiFi included.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fabulous experience! They have the cleanest bathrooms I have EVER seen at a campground! The staff was very helpful and we didn't have any problems. Very close to the Wright Brother's Memorial. The rates were very reasonable and we felt like we got a great value.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to OBX Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OBX Campground

Address: 126 Marshy Ridge Rd., Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern RV park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
OBX Campground Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OBX Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added OBX Campground to your Saves list