We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar

Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar
2003 S Croatan Hwy, PO Box 2593, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8724
+1 252-441-6894
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located between Milepost 9.5-10 in Kill Devil Hills on Route 158 Bypass
Fort Pierce, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We discovered that being primarily a beach area, the OBX is not all about fancy facilities. This restaurant isn't much from the outside, but inside you'll be comfortable, have great service, choose from a decent wine and drink list and enjoy excellent food! We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    45
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nags Head, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I live in Nags Head and have frequented Flying Fish in the day when the past owner was present. It was not a good restaurant to go to when he wasn't there. Thought I would try it with the new owners. Started with a perfect Manhattan (waitress had to have her boss look it up on his smart phone) not the best but worth the effort. Had parmesan spinach pie for an appetizer and it was cold (ulk) had a chop(medium) for dinner and asked for rice instead of mashed potatoes. Chop was lukewarm and barely edible and no rice - mashed potatoes that were over salted. In fact, the entire dinner was over salted. I had hoped that the new owners would turn this restaurant into a world class restaurant. The past owner did a good job but only when he was actually in town. Not worth a trip back. The saving grace was the waitress, despite her not giving me the rice, because she was knowledgeable and very personable. I doubt if I will recommend or go there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I have made this a "date night" tradition when in the OBX. Go early (6:00) for a very quiet meal, with excellently prepared fresh seafood for all tastes. Excellent value, good wine selection, knowledgeable and friendly staff... the perfect start to a romantic evening!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We decided to give Flying Fish a try during our week at OBX. The atmosphere is upscale yet relaxed. The server was excellent. I liked their menu, which had a number of offerings to please most pallets. The wine list was also diverse. We were all very pleased with our meals which were skillfully prepared and intend to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricey, but good food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'm not a wine drinker, but others in our party thought their wine list was extensive. We go here for a special meal when we're in OBX. Make a reservation...not many tables! Great steaks. Love the garlicky dressing on the caesar salad.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish Cafe & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.