We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally tried, not disappointed...best obx fish tacos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar

Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar
1701 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
252-480-0967
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: We have been serving the Outer Banks, NC for the past 10 years, with our very own twist on food from around the world – and around the block.Our local seafood menu is designed to cover all types of tastes, so even the pickiest member of your party will find something they enjoy.We’re a laid back, fun and offer a casual dining experience for the entire family. We offer a kids menu, so everyone will find their happy place.We laugh a lot and smile because we enjoy what we do here. We hope you enjoy your time here at our local OBX bar and grill, and on vacation at the Outer Banks of North Carolina.
Burke, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Finally tried, not disappointed...best obx fish tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Loved the laid back atmosphere. Good service, good food, good price. Best fish tacos in OBX!! Also enjoyed Mamas Wings, sweet and spicy! Definitely recommend and likely our new go to for fish tacos! Not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    121
    41
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Kinda hard to get to but worth the trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

On vacation we stopped at Mama Kwan's for lunch. The highway in front is not set up for someone to turn left into the parking lot. You have to come up the highway from the south OR turn into McDonalds parking lot at the light. I saw people parking over there and just walking across the lot. The restaurant is small but we were able to get a table quickly. We had the pork plates which were great but save room for dessert. I had a salted caramel chocolate cake that was out of this world. The owner makes them everyday. The coconut cream cake got good reviews from my friend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Should visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was my first time going to Mama's Kwans and I was very pleased with the service and the food. I ordered a tuna salad wrap and it was the best wrap I ever had!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere, prices, people, etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I love this place. We love the money bags and fish tacos! I also just wanted to quickly talk about what great customer service this place has. I showed up an hour or so before they opened to buy a T-shirt for my Mom. They were very accommodating, welcomed me, and told me to come on in that it was no problem, and were patient as I chose a shirt for my Mom. This was the exact opposite experience I had when doing the same thing at Tortuga Lie. Kudos to you Mama Kwan's for remembering what it is to provide good customer service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, pricey drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

First night visiting OBX this year, and Mama Kwan’s was the first restaurant we ate at. Fun atmosphere, great service – the wait would have been fairly long, but the host was able to work some seats at the bar. My girlfriend had blackened chicken, and I had the fish taco salad – both were great! Drinks are a little more expensive that you would think. Great place for a family if you can get seating (July 2013)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.