We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mismanaged, disorganized” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dirty Dick's Crab House

Dirty Dick's Crab House
1502 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8714
(252) 449-2722
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Durham, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mismanaged, disorganized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stopped by Dirty Dick's at lunchtime on a Saturday, and the restaurant was half full. The host told us we'd have to wait to be seated, because the kitchen was backed up. A few other confused looking parties were waiting by, while many tables were empty. If you can't fill your restaurant beyond half capacity at lunchtime, you're doing something wrong. This location used to be Slammin' Sammy's, and was really nice. Sorry to see it's become this.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    34
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed! ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We went here while on vacation because we were told how great it was. The food was not good at all. The hush puppies were the best part about the whole meal, which is sad. The t shirts are funny but other than a t shirt and hush puppies I would never go back there. Not all its cracked up to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stop on our way to Rodanthe, because we were starving. The at atmosphere was lacking.. The food was ok. I would not go back. I had been there years ago. wasn't happy then either.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

If you're looking for a funny tshirt...def the spot if you're looking for a good and fresh seafood dinner...not here. Got the sno crab legs that were very disappointing. Fries were not fresh cut, more like soggy cold crinkle cut...def not worth the money. Don't waste you're time and money when there are much better options around

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'M LOCAL AND SUPRISED!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I currently live in the Outer Banks , NC and rarely do I go out to eat during the summer months. My girlfriend and I wanted to get out of the house so she gave me three choices, one of which being Dirty Dick's. Now I must say that my reasoning was the name and to see what the T-shirts I see in town, are all about. We got there later than planned, so there was no wait which was a plus. We were seated right away. Our server "Jason" came by to introduce himself and see what we needed. It's been a long time since I have had service like this. Took the time to go through each menu item that we were interested in, gave us options and made us feel as if we were at his own home for a good meal. Checked on us throughout our meal and even got in on a small joke I played on my girlfriend. To say the least I made sure to tell the GM about his service and about the wonderful time we had at his establishment. As I said I never go out during the summer as our population swells, but I can say that it has changed my mind on my reluctance to go out while tourist are in the area. Friendly, Attentive and Great service. Dirty Dick's, we will see you soon. Maybe even in season.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Dick's Crab House also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Dirty Dick's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirty Dick's Crab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.