We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dirty Dick's Crab House

Dirty Dick's Crab House
1502 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8714
(252) 449-2722
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
FAirfield
1 review
“Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Food was awful. I'm still embarrassed by how much money we spent. Ridiculously overpriced.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    34
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“OK food, OK Service. Pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I was expecting delicious seafood with all the hype of Dirty Dicks. The seafood I get in Chicago was 10 times better and at half the cost. Dissapointing. The service left something to be desired as well. We waited over 10 minutes before a waitress even acknowledged we were seated in her section. I would understand this if it was busy, but we arrived early evening (5:00) to avoid the dinner rush. Not an establishment I will be returning to for the 2013 season.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New York
2 reviews
“Great chain restaurant, food was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great seafood, cool atmosphere portions were large
Would go back again

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Food really isn't all that great. And pricey for what you get. i think it was better at the other location but since they moved it's just not the same.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good place for a large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Dirty Dick's was able to accomodate our large party of 37 with same day notice. The food and service was good with the hush puppies being the best in the world! We were treated great, the manager Rob took pictures of our whole family group and quickly took care of our whole group. Great casual place to eat.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Dick's Crab House also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Dirty Dick's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirty Dick's Crab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.