We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Room Restaurant

Thai Room Restaurant
710 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
252-441-1180
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Corolla, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Thai Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I cannot believe that this was our first time here. The food is excellent, we enjoyed the appetizers as well as the main courses. The sauces are so tasty, everything we had was so delicious. We were a party of eight so we tried many different dishes.

We are looking forward to another visit. Enjoy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    29
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Twice in 2 weeks...Great all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Use to get take out here ten years ago while on vacation. Now we're part-time residents and we ate dinner there two times during the Christmas Holiday and had great meals every time. Try the summer rolls...Excellent!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeensboro, NC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Another great Thai Room meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Thai Room has become another "must eat at" restaurant when my wife and I go to the Outer Banks for our anniversary. This trip proved that the meal we had last year was not a fluke.

I had the Chicken with ginger and pepper made with "medium" heat. The ginger flavor was very evident and the spicy level was just right. My wife got one of the specials: Duck red curry and really enjoyed it. While she ordered "medium" heat as well, I think the curry "kicked it up a notch" but it still wasn't too hot.

We arrived around 5:30 and had no trouble getting a seat but the place started filling up about 7:00 and there were people waiting as we left so go early or be prepared to wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry valley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Keep on Trucking Jimmy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I have been dining at Thai room for over 20 years. It's family run and there is no need to talk about the food cause it is the real deal. we have eaten at Thai restaurants all over the country and Jimmy's is the benchmark for all to try and exceed. He travels to Ban cock once a year to get certain spices and supply's. Listen Folk's this place is great, so eat there..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Not very good!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We read the reviews and saw the high percentage of good reviews and thought this was a sure bet. We ordered chicken fried rice, moo goo gai pan and Mongolian beef. All of the orders were very bland and we will not return. In the end, it is not worthy of the current ratings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Room Restaurant also viewed

Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Thai Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Room Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.