We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chilli Peppers Restaurant

Chilli Peppers Restaurant
3001 N Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8989
252 441 8081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The most amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Holly crap! This place rocks. It was our second choice and it should have been our first. The staff is friendly! The servers was honest and fast! The food was freaking delicious. A must go.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plum, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Each person in our family got to choose a place to eat during our vacation, my son picked this one. Food was good, service was better, waitress was helpful. Only downer was having to walk through the bar to get to the dining room where the low life drunks could try and hit on my wife.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey C, General Manager at Chilli Peppers Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We thank you very much for the compliment!! We like to take pride in our service with a smile! Although walking through the bar can be a downer, at least you can be sure of how wonderfully beautiful your wife truely is and how lucky you are to have her! We hope you come back the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly lousy food; what a disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I'd asked an acquaintance with a home in OBX for a good restaurant suggestion. He said this was a family favorite so I took our group of twelve for dinner. My crabcakes were the awful kind, mostly like stuffing with no discernable meat. The "fiesta" rice was a gummy white affair, nary a speck of red pepper or spice in sight. When I expressed distaste for my dish, the waittress quickly offered another option. The shrimp arrived chewy and the grits that were part of the dish were undercooked. Even the omnivorous teenage boys in our group said their sandwiches and fries were not good at all. To add insult, while my house margarita was delicious, we were charged for three and only one had been ordered. Our fault we did not realize until too late. So much for our one night out not having to cook.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey C, General Manager at Chilli Peppers Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
First of all, I would like to thank you for coming in and tryig our restaurant. We are very much a locals favorite and you could imagine my suprise when we found ourselves reading a review with a dissatisfied customer. I can assure you that your comments have been taken into consideration. We have spoken with the kitchen staff and chef to insure these mistakes do not happen again. I'm not exactly sure what could have happend with the margaritas. If they were on your check then they would have had to be made, as our computer system sends the order straight to the bar. Please feel free to contact me and hopefully the next time you and your family are in the OBX we can provide you with one of those delicious House Margaritas you've already paid for. Thank you again for taking the time to give us some helpful feed back so that we may maintain the excellence of our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Local bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

In the heart of Nag's Head, chat with the locals while having and adult beverage with dinner. The bartender/server was friendly and helpful with dinner specials. Nothing fancy, just a fun place to go and meet new people and enjoy the courtyard for a game of cornhole. Friendly, good food at reasonable prices and great place to meet locals.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler,PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Large portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The food was well prepared and served quickly. The place was a little crowded and loud, not a good place to go for an intimate, quieter place to enjoy your dinner company.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli Peppers Restaurant also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Chilli Peppers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilli Peppers Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.