We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive early for a table” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar

Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar
2106 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7946
252-441-5955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Hamburgers, Grill, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Arrive early for a table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We arrived at 4:45 and there was already a line forming for a dinner table. No problem; my husband and I just ate at the bar, which was great fun. The bartenders were charming, and it was a treat to watch them shuck the seafood in front of us. The food was very good.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    199
    85
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Daleville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kitty Hawk vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our family is on vacation in Kitty Hawk, NC. We have 8 Adults, and 5 children. This restaurant is small, but they have an impressive menu. Our waitress did a great job taking car of us, and the food was great. We will go back!!
They also have a local "Awful Arthur nutty brew" on tap that is a must!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at a beach house a few blocks away and we enjoyed our drinks and meal so much the first time we went, that we ate here a second time that week. The staff is very friendly and even though there was a long wait for a table, there was a bar area upstairs (with an ocean view) to have drinks or appetizers. The bartenders were also very friendly upstairs. I tried oysters for the 1st time and had a few oyster shooters as well :) They make them with beer but I would recommend vodka! The actual dining room is a bit small, dark and cramped but everything else makes up for it. The hushpuppies were delicious and a few Southern friends with us said they were some of the best they ever had. I ordered the crabcake BOTH nights we ate there because I loved it so much. We ordered everything from their soup to sandwiches to seafood and out of the 6 of us, nobody had a complaint. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a great place to eat if you are looking for fresh seafood without spending a fortune. The wait was a bit long, but there was a bar upstairs with a great ocean view where we enjoyed a few drinks while we waited. Once seated, service was quick and friendly, and the food was extremely good for the price. This is a great place to visit if you are craving some good local seafood without spending a fortune.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The service was great, and the oysters were even better! They shuck them in front of you. It was our first time here, and we will def. be back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.