We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local's place and very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar

Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar
2106 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7946
252-441-5955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Hamburgers, Grill, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Local's place and very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Just ate there and the oysters couldn't have been fresher! Had fried shrimp and oysters. Batter was very light and crispy. All around good coastal Carolina seafood platter and the pumpkin cheese cake was excellent. I will eat there again!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    199
    85
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not Awful at All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Although not of gourmet quality dinner was very appetizing and reasinablt priced. Locally brewed beer helped compliment the local sea food.
A nice place for good value with zero glitz.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I love Awful Arthurs. I have been coming here for over 10 years, and they never disappoint. We shared a half peck of steamed oysters and a pound of steamed shrimp, both of which were perfectly cooked and extremely fresh and delicious. The beer flowed freely and the service was friendly and prompt. I love this place and highly recommend it to anyone looking for fresh delicious seafood. I cant wait to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OB Staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Open in the off season and continues its good food. There for lunch this time. Soups are always good. Sandwich is a meal. Well prepared local catch.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“AWFULly Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We picked the right time to go, there was lots of seating and fast service....we all got the combination 2 and enjoyed the experience...The server was very kind and helpful in figuring out what our little one could eat and was VERY attentive to the table throughout.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.