We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy. Nice and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Banks Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outer Banks Motor Lodge
Save
You added Outer Banks Motor Lodge to your Saves list
1509 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy. Nice and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

This is an old fashioned style motel with a great location. They also allow pets and we had a room just behind the office which was spacious and clean. Nothing fancy. A nice clean pool with picnic tables and grills. Some of the rooms open up directly to the beach. A lot of families.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Va
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We decided at the last minute to drive to Outer banks from Myrtle Beach. Had no reservations and stopped here to check on availability. We were pleasantly surprised super clean rooms and very friendly staff. Right on the beach and close to shops and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was our second stay at the Motor Lodge. We chose to stay again based on our first visit. In my previous review, I called the place dated when I should have said it has a Retro feel. My family loves the experience of staying at such a charming place. The Motor Lodge is extremely clean. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Taking two steps from your first floor room onto the beach is unbeatable. The Motor Lodge is convenient to restaurant, stores, and the main road yet it is tucked away nicely. The beach was never crowded. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

To be clear, we chose the Outer Banks Motor Lodge primarily due to its attractive price point for a motel right on the ocean. We also liked that it was a small family run motel rather than a chain and that the rooms seemed like a good value compared to the chains. Our King Efficiency room was spacious but had a strong smell of cleanser that was simply off-putting. We didn't complain but thinking about it now, I wish we'd mentioned it. The bed was old and not the most comfortable. The unit itself was clean but, as many have said, dated. There is some charm in it for sure, I loved the old school fridge for instance but not so much the rust in the tub and kitchen sink. Overall, I think they could do a better job of maintaining the small things and still have that old school vibe and still offer value. As it was, the motel was on the cusp of being a bit of a dive which is unfortunate because a little more attention to detail would make it a really cool spot to stay. Staff were friendly upon check-in and out, no issues there and yes, the location is great. It was also nice and quiet in the evening! It also rained during our weekend there so we had more time to notice things in the room perhaps.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Have always enjoyed our stays here! Cannot beat the view of the ocean! Would like to see a few upgrades to the efficiencies, very few utensils and the stove eyes were unlevel due to so much aluminum foil on them. Will still continue to stay here, staff is always cordial & helpful!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent a long weekend in pet-friendly efficiency #40. The room was big, with tile floors that are perfect when traveling with a dog. The best feature of this room is the private porch overlooking the swimming pool. The ocean access is amazing.

The property is cute; old, but well maintained. But we did have a couple of complaints. The stove in our unit had a couple of burners out. During our 4-day stay, housekeeping never once supplied us with toilet paper - I had to go to the office and ask. There is a wi-fi signal, but it's very weak.

I would definitely go back and recommend the Outer Banks Motor Lodge to anyone who wants a great value at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

By all means, DO IT!!! Stay at this property whenever you visit the Outer Banks, especially if you prefer the motor lodge experience as opposed to the hotel chain groove. Over the past 20+ years, my wife and I have stayed at a property near MP 10 on the Beach Road, but they closed at the beginning of the year. The OBXML is our new spot to stay! By far, the best beach access we've found.

Room Tip: Pick either the beach front rooms or room 35. You'll understand....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outer Banks Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motor Lodge

Address: 1509 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a world of sand, surf, sun and fun at The Outer Banks Motor Lodge, a quaint oceanfront motel nestled on the beach in Kill Devil Hills. We are conveniently located and easy to find, with several restaurants within walking distance; close to all the OBX attractions in nearby Nags Head, Kitty Hawk, Duck and Roanoke Island. Our motel offers an inviting family atmosphere, warm hospitality, a friendly staff and clean spacious oceanfront lodging. There are a wide variety of rooms to choose from – including oceanfront, poolside, efficiencies and pet friendly-rooms. Our rates are affordable and a great value. The Outer Banks Motor Lodge offers many great amenities. Enjoy our beautiful beaches, the outdoor pool and our picnic and playground area, free wireless internet, guest laundry & vending. Family owned and operated, we know you will enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Motor Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Outer Banks Hotel
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motor Lodge NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Banks Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.