We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't ask for a better location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Banks Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outer Banks Motor Lodge
1509 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Can't ask for a better location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed with some buddies for 2 nights July 17-19. Good sized rooms and right on the beach. The 2nd floor has views of the ocean and the 1st floor is literally on the beach. Some ants and flies and make their way into the room since all the doors open up to the outside balcony. The room does come with plates, pans, glasses, and silverware. The deck overlooking the ocean has rockers and Adirondack chairs to sit in. On-site free laundry. Beds are ok, great A/C, the recliner is very uncomfortable though. The hotel is right across from American Pie, which is a great place for dinner and ice cream. When I come back to the OBX, this is where I will stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has the view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nothing fancy but classic beach charm, wood paneling and rocking chairs on an oceanfront patio. It's within walking distance of restaurants, french fry alley and enough things to keep you occupied. If you want to experience the way hotels on the beach used to be, give it a try. Just remember, in the '60's they didn't have all the fancy amenities the big chains have now. You went to the beach to be at the beach, fish, relax and enjoy. Slow down and check it out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Family of four stayed in a beach front room with an effeciency. The access to the beach was great....literally steps to the sand. We saved money eating breakfast and lunch in the room (full stove, frig and microwave). The room is quite dated, but clean....beds a bit mushy. Good maid service, not sure how they get all the sand out daily! Teens could walk to stores and fast food nearby.

My one issue is that I am a non-smoker, and I could not sit on my patio rocking chair for long without inhaling other's smoke. Not sure how they could handle this, since it is outside, but it seemed like everyone surrounding us were chain smokers.

Room Tip: I was on the oceanfront room five.....I would avoid, since the sand shower is right there, so there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We needed a pet-friendly hotel for our trip and this place suited us just fine. I warned the children that it wasn't the same level of amenities we were used to, but we'd have a reasonably priced place to stay, it was on the beach, had a kitchennette, and the people were so helpful. We'll be back!

Yes, it is an older motel but I didn't have to worry about tracking in the sand, which was good considering how often we went to the beach (at least twice a day!).

PROS - location right on the beach, good value, helpful people, free washer/dryer, pet-friendly (and we did pick up after our dog, even in the middle of the night when our little one had to go!)

CONS - rooms (esp. bathoom), on the small side, older decor (but clean), smokers light up outside their rooms, so you have to walk past them to get to the beach

SUGGESTIONS: get another grill, and another dryer - the two times I used it I had to start laundry the laundry late at night because others were using it. I just wanted to dry the beach towels before we went to the beach in the morning (that we used in the pool that evening).

BOTTOM LINE: Would stay here again . . .

Room Tip: look at the motel map before asking for a room . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in June 2013 and everything was perfect. We made reservations for the week of July 4 and upon check in we had a different room than we were told and a different price amount! Upon getting in the room we did an inspection and found utensils dirty and blood around the mattress protector!!!! After traveling 4 hours to get here there are no vacancies anywhere! So its either stay here for $600 and look at the street or go home :( I'm very disappointed in the fact that we didn't have the room that we reserved, the uncleanliness and the fact that its late and we are stuck! Ive stayed here before and never had any issues but this will be our last stay! The place is out dated and obviously the cleaning crew missed quite a few things in our room from linens with blood to dirty utensils to paint stained chairs that have oil stains to a roll of toilet tissue almost empty and a room door that wasn't locked upon our check in!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoot66, Manager at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I'm sorry you are still so unhappy that you decided to write such a review. In response to the blood on your sheets, if you recall our conversation we changed the entire bedding and explained how it was a simple marker streak on the bottom edge of the mattress pad for easier recognition for a queen vs. a double - you completely understood and said "oh ok no problem, we weren't sure". And that mark is not seen unless searched for. Also, $536.40 was the amount you paid at check in, not 600. Again, I am truly sorry for the confusion/miscommunication. The room you were hoping for was booked a year in advance and there were no other options at that time as you were originally bringing two pets. I hope you will accept our apology for the miscommunication. And thank you for trying to extend your stay...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This motel is an older motel but has everything you need without the added expense of adding the things you really don't need, but rather want. This is our annual home away from home. we stay here every year and really like the atmosphere, the people, the cleanliness, the beach ! Want a great value ? This is the place !
Our only complaints are that the other visitors are not considerate - making loud 'party' noise ALL night that you can not sleep and the motel does allow pets - which is okay - BUT the other visitors walk their dogs close to the rooms and do not clean up the mess. Walking in dog poop first thing in the morning is not my idea of a good time at the beach. Not a problem with the motel regarding this - they provide a nice side yard - the visitors just do not care. Many diseases could result.
Personally, I feel the motel should return to the "No Pets Allowed" policy. We have someone come in to take care of our critters while we are away so why should others encroach on our peace with dog poop and dog howling all night. Just saying.
The motel itself is a great value with great people.

Room Tip: The beach front room are real nice to wake up to and see the beach - cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoot66, Manager at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to right a review. I'm so glad you were pleased with your visit minus the dogs using the bathroom in areas they should not. I am so sorry you found yourself walking around and maybe even thru poop. Because you have brought this to my attention we have since gone out and stomped the pavement scooping up any such problem. This pet friendly policy is something in question. I have so many guests who take care of their pets and are considerate of others however it only takes that 1 or 2 to ruin it for so many others. Again thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Pros:
Good location
Clean
Quiet

Cons:
Outdated decor and furniture
Small Rooms


Very old 70s type motel with 90s style decor. We only needed a place to sleep and shower, so the lodge served its purpose. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outer Banks Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motor Lodge

Address: 1509 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a world of sand, surf, sun and fun at The Outer Banks Motor Lodge, a quaint oceanfront motel nestled on the beach in Kill Devil Hills. We are conveniently located and easy to find, with several restaurants within walking distance; close to all the OBX attractions in nearby Nags Head, Kitty Hawk, Duck and Roanoke Island. Our motel offers an inviting family atmosphere, warm hospitality, a friendly staff and clean spacious oceanfront lodging. There are a wide variety of rooms to choose from – including oceanfront, poolside, efficiencies and pet friendly-rooms. Our rates are affordable and a great value. The Outer Banks Motor Lodge offers many great amenities. Enjoy our beautiful beaches, the outdoor pool and our picnic and playground area, free wireless internet, guest laundry & vending. Family owned and operated, we know you will enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Motor Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Outer Banks Hotel
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motor Lodge NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Banks Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Outer Banks Motor Lodge to your Saves list