We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Banks Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outer Banks Inn to your Saves list
Outer Banks Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I booked this hotel for 2 nights. There was a problem with the booking site that I used to reserve the room. I was extremely impressed at how quickly and completely the staff handled the issue and how courteous they were. Thank you for a wonderful trip and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Brandy, we are glad the issue was resolved with your reservation and that your recent stay was pleasurable. By booking directly through the hotel you are guaranteed great service and you will actually speak with a live agent that works on site when calling the Outer Banks Inn. We look forward to your return and hope that you will consider booking directly with us! Have a great rest of your summer and thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    69
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Had a bad tent camping night and had to find an alternative up coast a bit. This place was available and the price was unbeatable for the area. It's not a beachfront property, but that wasn't what I was after. We got in after 10 PM and the fellow at the desk couldn't have been nicer. He welcomed me and offered to accommodate any needs I might have.

We parked in the back and entered from the second floor of the exterior staircase. The entrance was secured by key card. Immediately upon entering the hallway, I was taken back to my childhood and traveling with my folks. The smells. The paint color...it was all pretty much original decor I would guess.

But I don't judge my experience on the paint color. The room was comfortable. The free breakfast was pretty good; cereal, fruit cups, OJ, cinnamon rolls...

The TV could have been elevated a bit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hey there, we are so glad you decided to stay with us after your negative camping experience. We are glad the check-in experience was fantastic and that you were filled with memories upon entering the hallways. That is pretty neat. However, we were renovated in June of 2012, so everything is fairly new. We are glad you also enjoyed the breakfast and feel as though your experience was a positive one! We hope that you will return to see us! Thanks so much for your review of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Large, comfortable rooms. A short walk to the beach and close to many restaurants, as well as the sand dunes (although this isn't the most pedestrian-friendly part of the Outer Banks). No beach towel service, but they sell high quality beach towels for $10. Breakfast was OK -- just enough to get you going. All in all, a good motel, but nothing special.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the back to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hey there, thanks so much for the review of the Outer Banks Inn. We are glad you chose us to stay with all the way from Canada! We are glad you enjoyed the location and your stay with us. We have some pool towels, but yes we do sell really nice beach towels that guests can keep! Our breakfast is a light continental and we are glad we can offer it free of charge to our guests. We hope that if you are ever in the area again that you will come back to see us! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

What a great staff and nice hotel. We feel very fortunate to have found this place and will return often. The guy working the desk treated us as family and friends. The rooms are clean and our room is large. 2 doubles and a fold couch. The area feels safe and it's a quick walk to a nice beach. Highlight of our trip

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Wow, we certainly appreciate the kind words and are so excited that the Outer Banks Inn was considered the highlight of your trip! That is wonderful news and we are certainly proud of our facility and staff! We are so excited that you plan to return again (don't forget about our returning guest discount between 9/2/14-4/1/15 - 20% off by calling directly) and look forward to it! Thanks for the kind comments regarding the staff and rooms! The area is super safe and convenient to lots of shops and restaurants! If next time you don't want to walk to the beach, remember our beach shuttle service that is free!!! See you again soon! Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Questo motel è molto carino e comodo, sia per chi è di passaggio una notte sia per chi soggiorna più giorni; per chi soggiorna una notte la sola cosa scomoda è se hai una camera al terzo piano, soprattutto per i bagagli! La struttura è munita di wifi e anche di una piscina. Consigliato sicuramente.

This motel is very nice and comfortable, both for those who are passing a night for those staying more days; for those staying one night only inconvenient thing is if you get a room on the third floor, especially for luggage! The property is equipped with wifi and even a swimming pool. Recommended for sure.

Room Tip: Le stanze ai piani alti sono più scomode per i bagagli ma sicuro meno rumorose delle stanza ai piani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks so much for reviewing our hotel. We are so glad you got to stay with us and appreciate the feedback. We appreciate the fact that you wold recommend us to others, and hope that you will return to see us again soon! Have a great rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I booked a very last-minute mid-week one-night stay and brought two kids with me (one ten year old, one 14 year old, cousins). We are about a 4-hour drive away and just packed up quick and headed to the beach. I was worried because it's a few blocks off the beach and I didn't figure my kids would be great at hauling a bunch of beach stuff but the hotel has a courtesy beach shuttle (an oversized golf cart that can tote multiple people and beach stuff!!). And it is available almost as soon as you ask for it - they give you a number to call when you're ready to be picked up. Plus, it's just three blocks from the public access boards (or walk across the dune - your choice), where there is a don's john AND two (open but very handy) shower heads so you can shower the sand and saltwater off and even change (if you absolutely had to).

Back to the hotel...I had a room with two double beds - small beds but plenty of floor space - a standard round table with two chairs. Temperature controls worked just fine. Plenty of places to hang towels and wet clothes...we never even turned the tv on, which amazed the kids. A fridge to hold our leftovers from dinner that we planned on eating in the middle of the night but the kids were too tired out from being on the beach all day.

Breakfast in the lobby was good enough. Cereals, milk, oatmeal, a toaster with bread choices, granola bars, etc. Coffee was good enough to get by. Front desk people were amazingly courteous and helpful. They offered a late checkout as soon as I checked in which was great. We didn't try the pool, it seems small. We were there mid-week and parking wasn't much of a problem...we moved in and out quite a bit for the short time we were there.

Some noise from the people above us but nothing to mention from room to room. We were near the ice machine and that was probably the loudest thing we heard but it's a hotel and sometimes you are the one getting the ice and other times you're the one listening to it.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor - there are three floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Wow, thank you so much for the detailed review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in such detail to help other guests in their decision on a hotel in the Outer Banks. We are so glad the beach shuttle was convenient for you and your family, and are glad to note other areas of your stay. We certainly hope that you will return again to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We booked last minute because I just couldn't wait to get to the beach. After driving all night and not really sleeping great, we arrived at the Outer Banks Inn. They let us check in as soon as we got there! Staff was pleasant and friendly too. We really appreciate that! With two young children and me ending up having to go to urgent care, it was such a relief to have a place to stay as soon as we got in. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was small and had a little bit of a musty smell, but the price was right. I really cannot complain. It is right on the bypass pretty close to CVS too just in case you end up needing to go there like I did.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are so glad you were able to check in upon arrival. While we don't guarantee early check-ins, we certainly do our best to get you in as quick as possible. We are so glad that you were so pleased with the service of the staff at the Outer Banks Inn, and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outer Banks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Inn

Address: 1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiles are contagious, and courteous service is our standard. Our staff cares about your needs and will ensure that your visit is a very pleasant and memorable one. The Outer Banks Inn is nestled at MP 9 in the heart of Kill Devil Hills, NC. Let our experienced staff do the work for you. With our state of the art beach shuttle, trips to the beach are easy and hassle free. Let our front desk staff know when you are ready for a ride. Enjoy our continental breakfast, fresh every morning in the lobby. We are also pleased to offer Bath & Body Works bath amenities and LG flat screen televisions in every room. Relax by our outdoor pool, or just relax on the beach.We know the area and would love to assist you with your plans and activities during your stay. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey’s Ridge State Park is right up the road and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is about a mile away. There are many restaurants close by and we will help you find the perfect match for a great evening out.The Outer Banks Inn truly cares about your satisfaction and we welcome any suggestions that might help us improve our service to you. We appreciate the opportunity to present our hotel to you. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us. If you are looking for a memorable experience for the entire family, the Outer Banks Inn is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Outer Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Inn NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Banks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.