We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Banks Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outer Banks Inn to your Saves list
Outer Banks Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I originally booked my trip at the Colonial Inn but when they had to close for repairs, I was offered my same reservation (price and everything) at OBX Inn and they upgraded me from a queen room to a king. The staff was super friendly and helpful and the room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Great location, although the parking lot is a bit awkward. We always stay in Salvo during the summer but when I visit in the off season, I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Jenny we sincerely appreciate you kind feedback. I am happy to hear the relocation went smoothly and you enjoyed your stay. We are working diligently on our sister hotel this off season and excited about upgrades at both locations. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    67
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
65
68
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We were on the road for nine days heading down to Florida with a stop in Kill Devil Hills. We saw a special promotion on another site but missed the opportunity. Went directly to the Inn's web site we saw the Inn was offering a pay for one night get a second night free offer which fit into our travel plans. We got a great price for our two night stay. When we arrived we were greeted cheerfully by Gail who provided us with local information and recommendations. Our room was a typical hotel room with a King bed, table and two chairs, fridge and microwave and a flat screen TV. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable but the decor was a bit outdated. The free breakfast was just OK with packaged muffins, breakfast burritos, cold cereal and beagles. The Inn is located on the Main Street but set back so you don't hear any traffic in the room. It's about two block from the beach and they have a little shuttle to take back and forth during the season. Local attractions such as The Wright Brothers National Memorial and the National Seashore are not too far away. Plenty of shopping and dining options nearby. All in all, for our purposes The Outer Banks Inn fit the bill. It was clean, comfortable and conveniently located....and we were able to get a great special off-season price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Bob, I sincerely appreciate your kind feedback. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The "Not so good"

Musty moldy smell when you walk into the Inn. (Not so good for my allergies). When we got to the room, the bottom hinge of the door had no screws! Here's a good comment --->But management fixed it promptly. Musty smell in room as well. Beds were too hard for my liking. But then again I am not a hard & firm bed person. So this may be ok for you. After a night on the town and a not so good nights sleep, even with my own pillow & from being able to hear people come up the stairs, we stayed in a room next to the stairs & when waking up could hear people in hallway from inside the room. Not too sound proof or private feeling! We had a room with a king sized bed and it was kinda cramped (bulky dated furniture). Table in room was not sturdy. Not too many accessable electrical outlets that were "handy" local to the bed. The bathroom faucet when taking showers, would come out of the wall! Water pressure not the best and took time for water to get to the right temp. The second night I did not sleep on my pillow and woke up with a slight rash on my cheeks? I am not allergic to many things but that was a signifier to possible bug problem, as I am not allergic to washing soaps. Then again I don't know what they wash their linens in. Saw some gnats flying around in our room and we didn't have anything really sitting out, we had fresh fruit in our carryall bag but nothing that would have spoiled to get gnats. Complimentary breakfast was just little yogurts, mini bagels, toast, cereal, juice & coffee. Coffee was so-so. I had a yogurt and then we went to a local place called Stackem' High Pancakes which was good!

Here's the plus side of this hotel

Management was friendly & prompt on fixing the door. Overall clean & organized. Decor was a little dated but had some nice beachy scenes being that it was not on beachfront property. Flat screen tv where we retired for a late football game & other tv shows was nice for relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Megan - I sincerely appreciate your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve. I do apologize for the odor you seemed to encounter. Beach hotels can be a challenge to this regard however we will certainly look into this issue. I can assure you we are inspected monthly and consistently and preemptively treat to prevent any sort of bugs. We use all Proctor and Gamble cleaning products so our linen is washed in Tide. I am happy to hear that the maintenance staff was so responsive. I sincerely do apologize for the issues you encountered and promise to investigate and correct any issues that may present. We are continually striving to be the best hotel in this area so we hope you would consider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The inn is average ..not worth paying more than 90 dollars.
There is a certain damp smell as one enters the corridor and the room,the building seems pretty older compared to many on the outer banks.
Location is good with the beach and stores around being very close by and a convenient shuttle for use.Staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I sincerely apologize that you didn't seem to enjoy your stay. I appreciate the kind words with regard to the location and staff. We will certainly look into your concerns as it is our goal for every guest to have an unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This is an older hotel. Our room smelled musty and had a faint urine odor. The carpet was old and stained. On the plus side the staff was helpful and friendly. Great location,close to the beach with convenient shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Celia, I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our rooms should never have a musty feel and the carpet is new as of last year. I will certainly make sure I check on the rooms to ensure this does not happen again. I sincerely apologize and hope that you would consider us in the future as this is not the norm for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot close to everything you need especially if staying in the off season. Was there last weekend stayed two nights. They even let us check in early. Decent place for a nice price! Will probably be our October tradition!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words and we certainly hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The reviews said this was one of the best on the Outer Banks NOT!!! Three floors no elevator, room smelled musty, carpet was dirty with stains, shower mat had mold on it, toilet was loose and move, soap film on the shower walls along with someone one black hair.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Richard I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and encountered these issues. We typically receive very positive feedback and work very hard to correct mistakes when they do happen. I am not one to make any kind of excuses however do sincerely apologize. I will make it a point to trace back and find the room you were in and ensure any issues are corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outer Banks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Inn

Address: 1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiles are contagious, and courteous service is our standard. Our staff cares about your needs and will ensure that your visit is a very pleasant and memorable one. The Outer Banks Inn is nestled at MP 9 in the heart of Kill Devil Hills, NC. Let our experienced staff do the work for you. With our state of the art beach shuttle, trips to the beach are easy and hassle free. Let our front desk staff know when you are ready for a ride. Enjoy our continental breakfast, fresh every morning in the lobby. We are also pleased to offer Bath & Body Works bath amenities and LG flat screen televisions in every room. Relax by our outdoor pool, or just relax on the beach.We know the area and would love to assist you with your plans and activities during your stay. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey’s Ridge State Park is right up the road and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is about a mile away. There are many restaurants close by and we will help you find the perfect match for a great evening out.The Outer Banks Inn truly cares about your satisfaction and we welcome any suggestions that might help us improve our service to you. We appreciate the opportunity to present our hotel to you. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us. If you are looking for a memorable experience for the entire family, the Outer Banks Inn is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outer Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Inn NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Banks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.