We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in a really nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Banks Inn

Save Saved
You added Outer Banks Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outer Banks Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in a really nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent two nights at the Outer Banks Inn in July 2013. The hotel is vintage with fairly dated furniture and decor, but I must say that it was clean and the bed was comfortable and the rate was reasonable. Unfortunately, they put us in the room next to the ice machine. They acknowledged that the ice machine was somewhat noisy, but the room was one of the largest. They were right on both counts. Aside from all that, it was a pleasant stay and the complimentary breakfast was ok. The Outer Banks are beautiful. We were out of the room except for sleeping.

Room Tip: The Lost Colony was wonderful and only 20 minutes from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I do hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The Outer Banks Inn was a wonderful place to stay for our vacation! The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, and we loved the beach golf cart service. All of our requests were met in a friendly and timely fashion.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the OBX Inn to add one extra day to our vacation. The room was basic, but I wasn't expecting the Ritz, I was expecting a clean room and friendly staff. That is exactly what we received. Great job OVX Inn. My family and I felt very comfortable at your hotel and will return again next year! I called ahead of time to ask for traveling advice and I spike with Katie. She was very patient with me answering all the questions I had. The check-in and check-out staff was great too. Plus, the ladies cleaning were so friendly and happy. I've never seen such a happy crew. All I'm going to say cleaning ladies is..."Alms for the Poor!!" I said I'd give you a good rating....because you deserve it! Hope to see you all next year!

Room Tip: The rooms with the sofa bed are larger. The bathrooms are small, but still big enough for a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I certainly appreciate the kind feedback. I will pass long your review to the staff and we certainly hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at the outer banks inn for only one night just to visit my girl friend on my day off... the hotel was beautifully kept... everything was clean... and the staff was amaizing... i stayed on the second floor and the 2 housekeeping girls were such nice ladys i think there names where jenny and kira... hope to stay again soon... i recommend this hotel to everyone.... great job... thanks alot for the great stay.... james

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
James thank you so much for the kind words. I will certainly share with the staff. I say it often but deserves repeating, I am very blessed with a great team who truly enjoys what they do and embraces the true customer service concept. We do hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff that checked us in were really friendly and helpful, giving us a good restaurant recommendation. The hotel had given us a bottle of wine, note and candle as we were celebrating our honeymoon. A nice touch and the only place so far to have done anything for us. The first room we were in was a decent size, but smelt strongly of damp. My husband also got loads of bites and we're not sure what from. We're not ones to complain so didn't say anything. However, that night the kids in the next room were so loud we had to complain the next morning. I don't know if it was because there was an interconnecting door but you could hear everything! We were promptly moved to another room, which was much smaller and pretty cramped really. But at least the smell of damp was gone!

I think they put us in that room to give us a larger room, but would recommend they don't put couples next to families. I would ask for a room without a connecting door, even though they're smaller. Although maybe we would have heard them anyway?!

The hotel is a short walk to the beach, less than 5 mins. The hotel offers a beach shuttle but it's not really needed. There is free parking at the hotel and the pool area was nice, with the pool a nice temperature.

The breakfast was very basic, and on the second day there was no juice :-( no good for someone like me who doesn't drink tea or coffee. A wider fruit selection would be a plus point, there were only apples and oranges.


Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your feedback. I am so happy to hear that you were pleased with the customer service and the staffs efforts to correct the issues during your stay. I inspect rooms on a daily basis and will be sure to look into some of your concerns. Feedback only helps us improve and again we truly appreciate it. We do hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

3 stories, no elevator. Pay Ritz prices for a Motel 6 experience. Avoid it. I really can say anything positive about this roadside hotel. Rooms were very simple, bathrooms tight, linens worn. Breakfast was very simple.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. I can promise our prices are very competitive and we do our very best to ensure everyone enjoys their stay. Again I sincerely apologize and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything I can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband, four year old, seven year old, and I just returned from four nights at The Outer Banks Inn. From the minute we arrived, the hotel staff was warm, courteous, accommodating, and interested in our comfort. The manager, Josh, went above and beyond to help us stay an extra night from what we originally planned because we were having such a nice time. Staff members like Hagen, Katie, Krystal, and Emily made our stay extra pleasant by helping us choose the best attractions and places to dine and were always thinking of things to help us even before we thought of them. The continental breakfast was good and well-stocked with bagels, waffles, fruit, yogurt, various cereals, Danishes, muffins, and more. The hotel offered a shuttle to the beach, free of charge and gratuity, but we did it use it as the beach is just up the road two blocks. The room wasn't fancy, but it was comfortable and clean. The housekeeping staff was also warm and courteous when we met them in the hallways. The biggest plus for my boys, other than warm chocolate chip cookies provided every afternoon, was the pool which ranges from three to just under five feet. They enjoyed nightly swims although the pool is open from ten to ten -- and later if you're not too loud. Overall we really enjoyed this hotel and would choose to return over other available places in the OBX, mostly because of the fabulous staff!

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I am so happy to hear your kind words. I will certainly share this with the staff as it is encouraging for them to hear such positive feedback. I hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outer Banks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Inn

Address: 1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiles are contagious, and courteous service is our standard. Our staff cares about your needs and will ensure that your visit is a very pleasant and memorable one. The Outer Banks Inn is nestled at MP 9 in the heart of Kill Devil Hills, NC. Let our experienced staff do the work for you. With our state of the art beach shuttle, trips to the beach are easy and hassle free. Let our front desk staff know when you are ready for a ride. Enjoy our continental breakfast, fresh every morning in the lobby. We are also pleased to offer Bath & Body Works bath amenities and LG flat screen televisions in every room. Relax by our outdoor pool, or just relax on the beach.We know the area and would love to assist you with your plans and activities during your stay. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey’s Ridge State Park is right up the road and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is about a mile away. There are many restaurants close by and we will help you find the perfect match for a great evening out.The Outer Banks Inn truly cares about your satisfaction and we welcome any suggestions that might help us improve our service to you. We appreciate the opportunity to present our hotel to you. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us. If you are looking for a memorable experience for the entire family, the Outer Banks Inn is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Outer Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Inn NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Banks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.