We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation Spot for Couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Banks Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outer Banks Inn to your Saves list
Outer Banks Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trafford, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Vacation Spot for Couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the OBX Inn for our first "beach vacation" and were very pleased with the value, location and room. We booked our room through Expedia, which had a summer sale that gave us a price of around $80/night (with a King-sized bed)--I didn't see any other place to stay in the OBX with that great a deal! Location was within walking distance to the beach, and there's parking right next to the beach in case you want to bring a cooler, umbrella, beach bag, etc... The room was perfect for the 2 of us, on the smaller side, but enough room to hold everything we brought along with us for the stay (plus a mini fridge for all of our bottled water and a nice closet to hang up our nicer clothes for going out). The bed was pretty standard, but nothing to complain about. Finally, the staff was always very friendly, personable and quick to serve. We would definitely stay here in the future!

Room Tip: There is no elevator in this Inn, 3 floors total (I believe). I booked a month in advance and was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and feedback. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    69
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My friends and I took a girls trip to the Obx and staying at the Outer Banks Inn was such a great idea! It was the best price around and had everything we needed. The pool was clean, the continental breakfast was simple but good, the rooms were average in size, and the location was perfect for us. The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We love it there! Clean rooms, with frig and microwave. Small pool but never busy for a swim after a day at the beach. Everyone is friendly and rooms are clean. Great value even during season. Breakfast included. Small but very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hurry back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just a really great place to stay, staff very helpful and the Inn is very close to beach. The Inn gave shuttles to and from the beach. Good location to see Wright Brothers Memorial, Horses at Corolla, Jocky's Ridge, and Lost Colony.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Nancy thank you so much for the kind words and sharing the picture. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice little hotel a couple of blocks from the beach. Cannot say enough about the customer service. Young lady at the front desk (think it was Katie), was very pleasant and helpful. Room was more than adequate for the price, but the staff makes this a top notch place to visit. Golf cart rides to the beach are great when you have small kids, even though it is only two blocks away.
Highly recommend this great little place if you are on budget or just don't want to waste money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
The beach shuttle was certainly a great idea during our remodel last year. I am elated to hear your comments regarding our staff. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here week of June 16 with family group. traveling with 3 small children and family member recovering from recent back surgery and management staff was above accommodating. arrived early morning after 12 hour drive and staff immediately took our luggage and allowed us use of pool or a ride on their shuttle to beach. arranged early check-in and were always cheerful and helpful from check-in and beyond. only drawback would be no elevator for a three floor unit but in every other way they try to make up for it. would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone in this area. special thanks to day manager, cleaning staff 3rd floor and Katie front desk, you made our short beach stay very much enjoyable. great value, clean, close to beach and wonderful staff

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I truly appreciate your kind words. I will certainly commend the staff. I say it often, I am truly blessed with a wonderful group of people. I hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent customer service! Everyone was very accommodating, friendly and helpful, especially Emily at the front desk (I believe that was her name). Centrally located, very clean and great pool, within walking distance to the beach. Emily helped us with picking restaurants and even checked the weather for us without us even asking! Couldn't have asked for a nicer staff or more pleasant stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will certainly share with the staff. I am very blessed with caring people who enjoy what they do. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outer Banks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Inn

Address: 1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiles are contagious, and courteous service is our standard. Our staff cares about your needs and will ensure that your visit is a very pleasant and memorable one. The Outer Banks Inn is nestled at MP 9 in the heart of Kill Devil Hills, NC. Let our experienced staff do the work for you. With our state of the art beach shuttle, trips to the beach are easy and hassle free. Let our front desk staff know when you are ready for a ride. Enjoy our continental breakfast, fresh every morning in the lobby. We are also pleased to offer Bath & Body Works bath amenities and LG flat screen televisions in every room. Relax by our outdoor pool, or just relax on the beach.We know the area and would love to assist you with your plans and activities during your stay. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey’s Ridge State Park is right up the road and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is about a mile away. There are many restaurants close by and we will help you find the perfect match for a great evening out.The Outer Banks Inn truly cares about your satisfaction and we welcome any suggestions that might help us improve our service to you. We appreciate the opportunity to present our hotel to you. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us. If you are looking for a memorable experience for the entire family, the Outer Banks Inn is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Outer Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Inn NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Banks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.