We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wright Cottage Court # 238” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur to your Saves list
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wright Cottage Court # 238”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Wright Cottage Court
#238

My husband and I spent a lovely week vacationing at the Outer Banks of NC (OBX). Our young adult daughter and the Auntie joined us. We were very last minute in our plans leaving us with few choices for ocean front properties. We were about to give up when the Wright Cottage Court #238 popped up as available during our search. We dashed off an email which was promptly replied to. A quick phone call and our reservation was all set. The staff could not have been nicer.
The "cottage" is actually the top floor of a house with another "cottage" below and sits next to the Wright Days Inn. To be honest I was a bit concerned being so close to a hotel and finding out that our cottage was really not a free standing single cottage. I am happy to report it was one of the nicest places we rented in a 28 year history of renting houses and cottages at the OBX. It was immaculate and appeared to have been recently updated. Full size appliances in the kitchen included stove, refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. Cooking utensils, pots and pans, dishes, mugs and flatware all were provided. Linens also come with the cottage as well as towels. There is a full size stackable front loading washer and dryer combo tucked in a closet. A powder room and a bathroom with one tub/shower combo. Three bedrooms with doors and the living room kitchen is open concept design. It is decorated very beachy with bright yet coordinating colors. Beach access is pretty easy if you have mobility issues but on the same note climbing the stairs would be hard on someone who struggles with joint issues. The cottage is listed to sleep six. In all honesty that is a huge stretch. Four adults max. You could do six if four were small kids. There is just not enough room to be comfortable. The two sofas only sit two people each so if six came two people are out of luck. Parking is also a challenge as the hotel residents often park next to the cottage taking up spaces. A simple solution would be to replace the numbers on the cottage spots and instruct hotel guests to not park there.
WiFi worked great and there are plugs everywhere to charge phones etc.
The mattresses were very soft and the pillows can only be described as cotton batting stuffed in a case. Worst pillow title winner of all time.
I did not care for being handed bright orange wrist bands to wear if we wanted to use the pool that is shared with the Wright Days Inn If you put it on it was not coming off. It was tacky and not appreciated. Whatever the reasons they would give a removable wrist band would be better or a card to access the pool. From a security stand point I do not think the parking tag should have your cottage number present for all to see. A simple dates staying is safer. These may seem like little things but at $2500 a week one should have all the positive and negative things to weigh staying there.
As I said we have been renting for 28 years I would stay here again and recommend it if you are looking for a small rental on the beach.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments concerning the cottage court. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! Your comments were very lovely and kind. However for other people's reference, this property is a separate property from the hotel and is not a part of the Days Inn. We do hope to see you again at the Wright Cottage Court! Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    296
    144
    58
    32
See reviews for
274
360
41
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room was small, but very clean and we could see the ocean. Nice place for a short stay. Some other rooms looked larger. Staff was excellent and the lobby was kept well. Popcorn, cookies and lemonade in the afternoon are a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks and for choosing to stay at our property. I'm so pleased your found everything clean and tidy and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we will be able to see you again another time and please feel free to contact us and I will be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

spent first night of beach trip here. said oceanfront. the rooms are old and very small. bathroom is even smaller - not a shelf or hook in sight. it's quite a walk to get to the beach from the room. the place is a dive. we all had to wear a color coded bracelet to get access to the pool and breakfast. plus breakfast was over at 9:30 on aturday morning... who gets up that early on their first day at the beach after driving all day before!!?!?!? we won't be back. we coulda saved $$$ staying at a travel lodge or other low end efficiency motor lodge and gotten just as bad of a room! and it's not on the beach, really. just becuase they technically dont have another building between them and the dunes isn't really beach front to me. we did have to go around a rental house to get to the access. bad.

Room Tip: go to another hotel if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We appreciate your coming to the Outer Banks. The view from the oceanfront rooms is shown by pictures on our website. And from the pictures, you will be able to see there are no buildings between us and the ocean. From the oceanfront side of the building you just walk the short path to the ocean itself. To ensure that our guests have use of the outdoor pool and breakfast, we do ask that our guests have on the wristbands so that we are aware that they are staying onsite. We do hope that you will be able to visit the Outer Banks again another time. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were worried about staying here because of some of the reviews but we loved the stay and the room. Our room was decent sized... it was not small like other reviews state. the front desk was very helpful and gave us anything we needed during our stay, including suggestions on where to eat. The air conditioner worked very well and at most times we had to turn it up because it was too cold. The only problem we had was with the Wi-Fi. It was not the greatest but we weren't in our room enough to care. We stayed in the back of the hotel facing the ocean upstairs. While getting ready to carry our bags upstairs one of the maintenance guys that work at the hotel insisted in carrying our bags upstairs, very friendly! There room was clean, bathroom was clean. The cleaning staff was later cleaning our room one day but called to let us know that she was running late due to all of the check outs. She vacuumed, cleaned the bathroom, new towels, changed garbage and was very friendly when we saw her. Breakfast was great even though we rarely ate there because of all of the other great places but went down and got juice daily. In the afternoons they had lemonade cookies and popcorn which was a really nice touch for those popcorn lovers. The prive was very reasonable compared to other places in the area as well. Overall great experience!! I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your recent trip to the Outer Banks and we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Days Inn Oceanfront! I'm so pleased that our staff was able to go above and beyond your expectations during your stay and that you found everyone to be friendly and accommodating. We hope that you will be able to visit again with us another time and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Pros:
-Room was clean.
-Breakfast was quite good for a hotel breakfast- egg and cheese omelets, sausage, belgian waffles...
-From early afternoon to evening they serve popcorn, cookies and lemonade
-Location- oceanfront, walkway to the dune. Kill devil hills is the heart of the outer banks.
-Nice pool.
-very reasonable prices for oceanfront in the height of the season.
Cons:
-Room was tiny- we had a one queen bed room- there was no closet and we were quite cramped. Other rooms with 2 queen beds looked bigger.
-It is a bit outdated, but we really weren't bothered by that.

Room Tip: Get a 2 queen bed room for a bigger room. Some rooms have outdoor entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay while visiting with us on the Outer Banks. We happy that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip. As mentioned before, the rooms with 1 queen bed are the smallest-sized rooms in our hotel--the rooms dunefront rooms with 2 queen beds are of a larger size, you are correct, as well as the oceanfront rooms, dunefront rooms with 1 king bed or our suites. We do hope you will be able to visit the Outer Banks again another time and please feel free to contact me and I would be very happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girl in carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

this place is scarier than the Bates Motel! it hasn't been updated since it was built, and that wasn't lately! bathroom was awful! will never go back and we paid $200 a night! highway robbery.i wouldn't want my dog to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks. I was not able to track the room in which you stayed with the user ID listed here, but feel free to give me more particulars by contacting me at the hotel. Every year we renovate a few rooms at a time so that the hotel in the winter always goes through renovations--this way rooms are constantly being remodeled yearly without waiting like many hotels too late where a whole floor has to be remodeled because it's all falling down. As you can see from previous reviewers, this is not a complaint that we normally get and I would be very happy for more information concerning your stay. Please feel free to contact me at the property. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Address: 201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.