We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A couple minuses, but more pluses...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur to your Saves list
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A couple minuses, but more pluses...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Pros:
-Room was clean.
-Breakfast was quite good for a hotel breakfast- egg and cheese omelets, sausage, belgian waffles...
-From early afternoon to evening they serve popcorn, cookies and lemonade
-Location- oceanfront, walkway to the dune. Kill devil hills is the heart of the outer banks.
-Nice pool.
-very reasonable prices for oceanfront in the height of the season.
Cons:
-Room was tiny- we had a one queen bed room- there was no closet and we were quite cramped. Other rooms with 2 queen beds looked bigger.
-It is a bit outdated, but we really weren't bothered by that.

Room Tip: Get a 2 queen bed room for a bigger room. Some rooms have outdoor entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay while visiting with us on the Outer Banks. We happy that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip. As mentioned before, the rooms with 1 queen bed are the smallest-sized rooms in our hotel--the rooms dunefront rooms with 2 queen beds are of a larger size, you are correct, as well as the oceanfront rooms, dunefront rooms with 1 king bed or our suites. We do hope you will be able to visit the Outer Banks again another time and please feel free to contact me and I would be very happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    296
    144
    59
    32
See reviews for
274
361
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
girl in carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

this place is scarier than the Bates Motel! it hasn't been updated since it was built, and that wasn't lately! bathroom was awful! will never go back and we paid $200 a night! highway robbery.i wouldn't want my dog to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks. I was not able to track the room in which you stayed with the user ID listed here, but feel free to give me more particulars by contacting me at the hotel. Every year we renovate a few rooms at a time so that the hotel in the winter always goes through renovations--this way rooms are constantly being remodeled yearly without waiting like many hotels too late where a whole floor has to be remodeled because it's all falling down. As you can see from previous reviewers, this is not a complaint that we normally get and I would be very happy for more information concerning your stay. Please feel free to contact me at the property. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great location right on the ocean. The lobby was very cozy and inviting. The day we arrived was overcast and chilly. The roaring fire in the lobby fireplace was wonderful! The rooms are smaller than usual, however, was fine for the 2 of us. Rooms had comfy bed/pillows. Hotel is very clean. One of the best "included" breakfasts I've ever had. The free popcorn was a fun touch!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at the Days Inn Oceanfront on the Outer Banks. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Though we love the summer like everyone else--the fall and winter for us is a fun time when we have the fireplace going as you mentioned as well as serving our guests fresh baked cookies along with hot spiced apple cider and popcorn in the evenings. We hope we will get to see you again soon on the Outer Banks and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night for a weekend getaway. The hotel is old but clean and the bathrooms have been completely renovated. Great location with beachfront. Good for a few nights but its much cheaper to rent a vacation home if staying for more than five nights.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks and for choosing to stay with us at our Days Inn Oceanfront. I'm so happy that you found everything clean and tidy for your stay. We hope that you will be able to visit again soon (since you're not that far away) and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here as part of a road trip around NC, TN & KY. It's in a great location right by the impressive sand dunes. Many aspects of the hotel are fine - quit location, fridge, microwave, pool. However much was not great - we were in room 202 which had a tired look, low ceiling, small windows, 2 queen beds squeezed in to a small space, cracked tiles in the bathroom and a crack in the wall of the bedroom. The free wifi did not work and staff were not helpful in trying to resolve it. There is free coffee 24/7 in the lobby and cookies and popcorn in the afternoon. You don't expect 5 star luxury for 2 star prices but I did expect a little more.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for coming to NC during your whirlwind tour and for coming to the Outer Banks. In regards to the Wi-Fi, we had discovered that the access point (located next door to this room) was not working and has since been fixed by our wireless provider. We hope that you may come and visit with us again and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in the oceanfront room 230 for one night. Normally I wouldn't stay at a Days Inn but since it was 4th of July weekend there wasn't much left and this is where we were stuck. We tried to check in early (website says a 4pm check in time) and the front desk told me at 1pm that the room wasn't ready but they would call when it was. They called at 3:55 pm so don't count on an early check in. It is very convenient right on the beach, 5 minute drive from the Wright brothers museum and 10 minute drive from everything else it seems like.

The room itself was just motel quality. The beds weren't terrible but not overly comfortable and the linens may have been changed but hard to tell. Rings on the sink, marks on the wall, etc. Even the view of the water is blocked by a run down area that has a grill and a volleyball court whose net was all torn to shreds. It seems like they just don't care enough to fix anything up because they still got $250 out of me.

PROS: Great location, nice beach, right on the water, nice view with your own chairs with the oceanfront rooms

CONS: Staff wasn't overly helpful/friendly, rooms were old and musty, beds were mediocre, too expensive for what it is

Room Tip: 2nd floor Oceanfront rooms have a nice view and your own set of chairs outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your coming to the Outer Banks for a visit. Though we do try to let guests check in early if it is possible, when we have many check outs with many check ins it is not possible for people to always check in early...this is why we mention that check in begins at 4 pm and that we cannot promise an early check in. What we can promise to do, and what we have done for years and what we did in your case, is to let guests fill out the registration information and go ahead and obtain pool and parking passes so that they may use the beach area at the hotel or use our outdoor pool if they arrive early before the designated check in time. We offer guests the use of the public restroom to change and then take their cell phone numbers to call when the rooms are ready. As you did visit after the storm, the volleyball net area has been repaired in the few days since you checked out. Otherwise I have located the room in which you stayed and will check it myself this afternoon. We do hope that you will be able to visit the Outer Banks again soon. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Address: 201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.