We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    234
    103
    43
    26
See reviews for
214
265
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

stayed in oceanfront room 232 for 2 nights and enjoyed our mini-vacation so much !! highly recommend paying a little more for the spectacular view we had. room was spacious and the beds and pillows were super comfortable. bathroom looked like it was going through a renovation phase, new fixtures, vanity and toilet with the old flooring and tile but it was very clean. great breakfast with snacks throughout the day. front desk was friendly and helpful. great stay, definitely will be back !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely comments on your stay at our Days Inn Oceanfront on the Outer Banks. We are so happy that you enjoyed your oceanfront room, ocean view and were "pleasantly surprised!" We would love for you to come and visit with us again another time and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thanks so much! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We decided on an outer banks vacations very last minute (think 12 hours before arriving at the hotel) and we booked through hotels.com. When we got there, we were pretty pleased overall. The king bed was comfy, and we had a pull out couch, mini fridge, and microwave. The room decor is definitely dated, but honestly who cares? The only things that mattered were that we were steps from the beach, the bed was comfy and cozy, and the air conditioning got the room super cold. We did have a little leak in the ceiling of the bathroom the very first couple of hours we were there, but we didn't bother contacting management because we liked the location of our room and didn't want to move. It shortly went away anyways. The area is great there are restaurants close, we even got delivery one night. The pool was a nice amenity and there was a little bike rental place down the street. Overall we would come again.

Room Tip: We really loved our room that was beach facing. So close to the beach and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking that "last minute" trip to the Outer Banks--we all appreciate it! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you are correct, the dunefront rooms are just steps from the beach area. I'm sure that Days Inn would be very happy that you enjoyed the comfy beds since they are the ones we're required to purchase by them. Our housekeeping staff did find the evidence of the leak in the room after your check out and we were able to have a plumber come in and take care of the leak. We do hope that you will be able to visit again another time and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great location. Free WiFi. Free breakfast which was decent. Free parking. Right on the beach. No frills, but good enough. Stayed here when a Category 2 Hurricane passed over, and the hotel was solid as a rock. Good option if you don't want to rent a whole house.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here on the Outer Banks. We are pleased we were able to help shelter you from the storm while it passed--thankfully it passed very quickly and the following day was beautiful. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you can return (when there's no storm) to visit another time....please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you!! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soperton, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel is very old but decent and clean. Room was very small but bed was okay. Television cable didn't work well. There was easy access to beach but the beach wasn't visible from the room we were assigned. Breakfast was decent. If I ever return to this area I would choose a different hotel in hopes of finding a place more updated.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks and for staying with us. We are happy that you found everything neat and tidy during your stay. If you are looking for an ultra-modern, sleek styled hotel, that is not the ambience we are going for at our property. This property maintains the Olde Nags Head style tradition of a "lodge" or "B & B" feeling, which is what most guests stay when they visit---it is unique to the Outer Banks. We appreciate your comments however and do hope that you will visit the Outer Banks again soon. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We booked this motel using Expedia, and chose it mostly for the fact that it was one of the few ocean front motels we could afford. We didn't expect too much, but were pleasantly surprised when we got there! The lobby is very rustic and pretty. The staff was very friendly when we checked in. The room was a little on the small side (for a King Size Bed), but we weren't planning on staying in the room much anyway. The room was very clean and nice. Being on the ocean, we expected the water to be typical beachy-sulfur water - while you could smell just a hint of sulfur when you first turned on the faucets, for the most part the water was normal. Water pressure was good in the showers and plenty of hot water. They have a boardwalk to the beach, and a grill for motel guests. There's also a rather large pool (for such a small hotel) but we didn't use it. The breakfast was your typical - make-it-yourself waffles, cereal, toast, etc, but was hot and good. The only negative we found was that there was limited parking by our room, but where we did park was still very close. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this place!.

Room Tip: There are 8 rooms that are actually facing the ocean - if you open your door you get a nice breeze f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks and for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip. Thank you for all of your lovely comments concerning your stay with us at our Days Inn Oceanfront. I am so very pleased that you found everything clean and comfortable and that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We do have one of the largest pools for any hotels here on the beach--though as you mentioned, most people don't seem to hang at the pool as they've come for the lovely beaches instead. We do hope that you will be able to visit with us again another time--the fall is quite spectacular here on the Outer Banks. Please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thanks so much! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Address: 201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.