We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
The Lost Colony Play
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
A TripAdvisor Member
“pleasantly surprised !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

stayed in oceanfront room 232 for 2 nights and enjoyed our mini-vacation so much !! highly recommend paying a little more for the spectacular view we had. room was spacious and the beds and pillows were super comfortable. bathroom looked like it was going through a renovation phase, new fixtures, vanity and toilet with the old flooring and tile but it was very clean. great breakfast with snacks throughout the day. front desk was friendly and helpful. great stay, definitely will be back !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    220
    94
    41
    23
See reviews for
197
249
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We decided on an outer banks vacations very last minute (think 12 hours before arriving at the hotel) and we booked through hotels.com. When we got there, we were pretty pleased overall. The king bed was comfy, and we had a pull out couch, mini fridge, and microwave. The room decor is definitely dated, but honestly who cares? The only things that mattered were that we were steps from the beach, the bed was comfy and cozy, and the air conditioning got the room super cold. We did have a little leak in the ceiling of the bathroom the very first couple of hours we were there, but we didn't bother contacting management because we liked the location of our room and didn't want to move. It shortly went away anyways. The area is great there are restaurants close, we even got delivery one night. The pool was a nice amenity and there was a little bike rental place down the street. Overall we would come again.

Room Tip: We really loved our room that was beach facing. So close to the beach and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location. Free WiFi. Free breakfast which was decent. Free parking. Right on the beach. No frills, but good enough. Stayed here when a Category 2 Hurricane passed over, and the hotel was solid as a rock. Good option if you don't want to rent a whole house.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent front desk staff - particularly Diana who was very helpful. My wife and I spent one night on a busy weekend and the room was ready, very clean and most convenient to our rental property one mile away. The breakfast was very good with the exception they did not have skim milk for cereals and no bananas. Other then that, very convenient. Only issue with room was clock/radio that was out of order (we didn't ask for a replacement) and in-room safe didn't work properly. If all that was in order, I would rate the hotel 4+stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soperton, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very old but decent and clean. Room was very small but bed was okay. Television cable didn't work well. There was easy access to beach but the beach wasn't visible from the room we were assigned. Breakfast was decent. If I ever return to this area I would choose a different hotel in hopes of finding a place more updated.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this motel using Expedia, and chose it mostly for the fact that it was one of the few ocean front motels we could afford. We didn't expect too much, but were pleasantly surprised when we got there! The lobby is very rustic and pretty. The staff was very friendly when we checked in. The room was a little on the small side (for a King Size Bed), but we weren't planning on staying in the room much anyway. The room was very clean and nice. Being on the ocean, we expected the water to be typical beachy-sulfur water - while you could smell just a hint of sulfur when you first turned on the faucets, for the most part the water was normal. Water pressure was good in the showers and plenty of hot water. They have a boardwalk to the beach, and a grill for motel guests. There's also a rather large pool (for such a small hotel) but we didn't use it. The breakfast was your typical - make-it-yourself waffles, cereal, toast, etc, but was hot and good. The only negative we found was that there was limited parking by our room, but where we did park was still very close. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this place!.

Room Tip: There are 8 rooms that are actually facing the ocean - if you open your door you get a nice breeze f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Address: 201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.