We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be carefull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur to your Saves list
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Louisburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Be carefull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went stayed at thie motel Valentines weekend.. I told the lady we wanted to stay three nights and she quoted me the three night price, which was a great rate thats why we stayed, We got home and was looking at our bank statement and there was a extra charge on there, I called and the lady said it was for a extended night stay, We stayed the three nights the lady quoted us and said we were only charged for two nights, And she even repeated back to me the three night charge, If they dont just charge us for the price she quoted we will never stay there again and we will make sure everyone will know about this. Overall room was clean and I hate not to go back , but If they are going to try to charge us without letting us know thats wrong.. We stayed because the price she gave s was a real reasonable rate compared to the others around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the Outer Banks. I am sorry that you had this issue with your stay, and I know that we have contacted you and we have resolved this issue for you. I'm very sorry that this occurred and we do hope that you will visit with us again. We appreicate your visiting with us and if you have any more questions please feel free to contact us anytime. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    264
    120
    49
    28
See reviews for
234
317
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This property is super clean, on the ocean, warm, and friendly. Although it is an older property, it is well-maintained and managed and great attention is paid to property detail. My room was on the oceanfront, with a king bed, refrigerator, and chairs outside on the porch. Great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us on the Outer Banks. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can see you soon! Please feel free to contact me when you are able to return and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thanks! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Found great deal for this hotel on hotels.com.. Very affordable during off season... Got a free complimentary upgrade with balcony and king bed...

Comfy bed, nice flat screen tv, good wifi Internet, breakfast isn't great but ok for the price I paid...

Very good customer service:kind and courteous and very clean room...

Not the typical Days Inn... A great value !

Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property on the Outer Banks; we appreciate it! We thank you for your comments stating that we "are not your typical Days Inn" and we are very happy that you say so. We try to make sure our guests have a more "homey" time stay than a regular "hotel" type stay. We hope that you will be able to visit the Outer Banks again soon and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Traveling for business and decided to slip over to the Outer Banks and spend a cold January night. With no planning in advance we checked trip advisor and saw this place. It was our good fortune. A fire in the lobby fireplace, complimentary warm cider and cookies, and a very friendly staff made it great. It oddly had the feel of a ski lodge on the beach. The place appears older. It is well maintained and clean. It has been suitably updated. Only negative was noise from upstairs. Good internet service. Great location on the beach near the Wright Bros park. They were aware it was January and properly reflected that in the rates. I would go back this weekend and sit by the fire if I could.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We're very happy that you decided to take a little side trip to the Outer Banks and that you chose us for your stay. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the fire is still going! We made a conscious effort to keep our lobby in the Olde Nags Head style, so the flooring is original as well as most of the other wood in the lobby---it's something completely different from other properties on the Outer Banks. Many people tell us they feel like they're in a lodge instead of a hotel especially in the winter months.

We hope that you will be able to come and visit again another time and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Hotel is quaint, cozy and a maybe 25-50 steps and you are on the beach. Was able to cook in my room, with stove full size refrigerator and microwave. Just Loved it, and the Lobby is cozy with fireplace burning and homemade cookies and hot apple cider for guest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi there! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope you enjoyed the Outer Banks Wedding Expo while you were here--I know you said you enjoyed your dinner while here. We hope to see you again soon and if you are able to return please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were initally hooked by the idea of being on the beach, but this stop was much more. Uon entering, we spotted the lobby fireplace with a warming cozy fireplace. Our initial greeting by Zack, our desk clerk, was warm and charming. He was helpful about where to go and what to see and do.
Our room was a converted king to a king suite. this meant that a wall was removed and converted two rooms to one to include a kitchen/ lining/dining room. Most importantly, it created 2 exits to the room-- from the hall and the outside parking lot. Comfortable, clean, and a good location.
WE are so delighted we came upon this gem.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are easy access if you have trouble with steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments concerning your stay at our Days Inn Oceanfront. We are sol pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will make sure Zack sees your comments too! We hope that you are able to visit the Outer Banks again soon and please feel free to contact us and we would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Address: 201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.