We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinient Fun Stay at the OBX” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    220
    97
    41
    23
See reviews for
199
251
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
GREENSBORO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just wanted a clean bed, got a great bed, great view of the ocean, great breakfast, great service. I will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments concerning your recent stay with us on the Outer Banks. I am so please that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting. We will be happy to have you visit with us again and please feel free to contact me directly and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The common area is equipped with a computer and a fireplace. Breakfast is pretty standard but good. The staff are very nice and accomodating. The only problem was the noise created by the fridge in our room! It was super loud. Flat screen TVs and great water pressure. What more could you want from a beach front hotel?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the Outer Banks. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have just now dispatched maintenance to the room I believe you were in during your stay to check the refrigerator. We hope to see you again soon and when you are able to return and visit, please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to help make reservations for your stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First a confession: I grew up on the Outer Banks in the '70's, '80's & '90's, before the boom that turned into something, in my mind, more akin to Virginia Beach than an eastern North Carolina barrier island. This hotel has been there since way before I moved there and used to have a sister property that was taken out by a waterspout in the late '70's. What it lacks in modern amenities, it makes up for in charm and hospitality. I stay here when I go down there frequently and for the money, wouldn't really stay anywhere else.

The main lobby has original wood paneling and floors, a big brick fireplace (which is lit on cool fall/winter nights and is the perfect place to sip the free hot cider and read a book) and the feel of old beach charm. The rooms, while more modern than the lobby, would be spare by current standards. They are not however uncomfortable or dated. I've stayed in many of the rooms - from the basic double bed one's above the lobby to the deluxe suites complete with a full kitchen. All of them have comfortable beds & pillows, decent linens, clean bathrooms and enough room to hold some beach gear & clothes for a short vacation. The suites are perfect if you stay longer or as an alternative to a cottage; there's an exterior balcony/walkway off these rooms and each room has a set of wood chairs outside the door.

The location is within walking distance of a local store (Stop N Shop) which has everything you need from deli sandwiches to beach chairs & health care needs. Duck Donuts, Slice Pizza and a bike store with beach cruiser rentals are also within easy reach & I highly recommend all of them.

The hotel staff is always friendly and ready to recommend restaurants or places to see. The beach in front of the hotel is great for lazying your day away staring at the ocean.

There's really no reason to stay at a modern hotel on the Banks when places like the Wilbur Wright (and several others) still purvey their special brand beach charm.

Room Tip: Any really though the suites (all on the south side) are a good value for 2 rooms with a full kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We appreciate your returning year after year to stay with us and you certainly have stayed in many of our different room types. We really thank you for your kind comments and are happy that you continue to enjoy your stay with us every year. We thank you for coming to visit and will be happy to see you again the next time! Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

One of the most comfortable stays. Fire in the sitting room was awsome and very comforting. Breakfast was nice and easy. The lady Jo from N.J. that was keeping the food for breakfast available, made the trip feel like I was staying with family. My wife and I really loved sitting and talking with her. Will go back because of how she made us feel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your trip to the Outer Banks. I will make sure I share your comments with Joan. It's quite funny because we have many guests who actually do return every year to see Joan. We love this time of year as well when we have the fireplace going as well as the hot apple cider and cookies. We will be happy to see you again and please feel free to contact me when you start planning your visit and I will be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Address: 201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.