We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the Hotel Again? Perhaps. The Room? Not So Much.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur to your Saves list
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stay in the Hotel Again? Perhaps. The Room? Not So Much.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let's start with the positives. The hotel has great beach access, a quaint facade and lobby, and is relatively low priced. In addition, the staff seem to work hard and appear to be doing the best they can. There's a chance we would return. However, we would not stay in room 211 again. Because of the odd architecture of the facility, room 211 is an afterthought structurally. The bathroom, which we took to calling "the closet," was tiny. The shower enclosure (no tub) was just barely large enough to turn around in (barely). And that's not hyperbole. The plumbing fixtures were actually loose in the walls. The toilet never did work properly. We expected the dank smell throughout because, after all, it is a beach motel, but the room was far below expectations. We suspected that, perhaps 211 and similar room designs are saved for those of us who got low rates through third party websites. But that's speculation.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in 211. Also, ask if your room is the same design - unsure about 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review of our hotel and for providing this feedback which I am sharing with our maintenance staff to make sure any issues with the bathroom are remedied. Because we are the longest-continuous, running hotel on the Outer Banks this building (structure itself) dates back to the 40s so the rooms were built to a smaller scale during that time period. For reservation purpoes--our suites with kitchens, our dunefront rooms or our oceanview rooms will be the largest sized rooms in our hotel.

I do hope that you are able to come back to the Outer Banks for a visit and if you do, please feel free to get in touch with me and I will be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thanks so much, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    247
    113
    45
    26
See reviews for
223
285
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We booked a week at the WW Days Inn and didnt even stay 1 night. When driving down to NC we called the front desk and advised them we would be arriving a little late. Upon arrival we checked in and were given the keys. When getting to our room we found the door was ajar and our room was left open for anyone to go into.

When we entered the room it looked dated and smelled. It had broken doors and patch work on the walls. Exposed outlet covers and dirty radiators. You could tell it was in need of some repairs. Due to our late check in, we did not make a big fuss, immediately. Needless to say we were extremely dissapointed with our accomodations.

I sent my wife to pick up dinner for us while i took the kids to the pool on the premises. Once we arrived at the pool we saw that the shallow end was sandy and full of debris from prior swimmers that must have not rinsed off before entering. My kids stated if they wanted sand on their toes we couldve just walked to the beach.

After my wife returned with dinner we ate and got the kids ready for bed. Once we pulled back the comforters we were horrified at the multiple samples of DNA we encountered. The comforters and the matresses were stained and contained clumps of hair that were left behind. When we opened up the sheets to make the beds those were stained as well. Being skeeved out was not even the worst part, upon calling the front desk we were confronted with a rude receptionist stating there was nothing they could do since all of the housekeepers had gone home already.

This was UNACCEPTABLE to us and we asked that the receptionist call the owner or whatever mangement would be "on-call" for situations like this. After not receiving a call back for over 20 minutes i started looking up other vacancies around the area so that my family could at least have a clean place to rest their heads. My wife walked down to the front desk to inquire what was going to be done only to find out the receptionist had still not called the owner because she did not want to "bother" him BUT they found the housekeeping key and they would bring us new linens. After an additional 20 minute wait, we called the front desk again and were told that we would have to wait as they would need to lock up the front before going to get our new bedding. Over 30 minutes later, and subsequently having my 4 & 7 yr old fall asleep on the couches, the receptionist finally arrived with what we thought were clean sheets.

In the meantime, while waiting for a response and our new sheets, I had laid out all of the bedding with the stains clearly visible for them to see what our gripe was all about. We received new pillows out of a bag and proceeded to open up the bed sheets to make the beds only to find out that the replacement bedding was just as bad if not worse then the original DNA soiled sheets.

At this point my wife and I were irrate and demanded that the receptionist call the owner immediately!!! She stated she would have to step out and call him privately as she could not give us his number. She then turned around and asked "so you dont want me to make the beds??" Taken back by her question I asked her if she would ever sleep on those sheets and she replied "Yes, because i used to work in laundry and sometimes the detergent makes those stains". I had no reply as I thought who in their right mind would ever say that? My wife followed the receptionist back to the lobby so she could call her boss. The receptionist went on to tell the owner that we were unreasonable as we even refused the 2nd set of sheets she had offered us.

Furious over the whole situation, we had to find other accomodations and ask for a refund of our money as we found this room to be extremely dirty and uninhabitable. We were refunded our stay minus the 2 days they could not re-rent the place for which we found hard to swallow as we did not even stay over 1 night. But what can you do when its already late and you need the money to stay elsewhere?

Upon leaving we left our name and number for the owner to call us and were GUARANTEED we would receive a call back. To this day we have not received a call to say Sorry or to even apologize for ruining our vacation!!!

Save yourself and your family the headache and stay away from this place if you like good customer service and a clean place to rest your head!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Please note that this review and pictures are not for the Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers but for the adjacent property located next door which is not a part of the Days Inn Oceanfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We are a senior couple from Canada, and stayed at this Days Inn in July 2012. We were entirely satisfied with our stay there. The beach was just out the back door and over the dune. The lodge-like lobby was comfortable and welcoming, and the shaded front porch was lovely in the morning for coffee. The staff were friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast, and all-day coffee and snacks were a nice perk. We were late booking though, and there were only rooms with one queen-size bed available. It was fine, but the actual room was barely bigger than the bed, so new guests should take that into consideration. All the same, we stayed 3 nights (extended our original plan by a day) and enjoyed ourselves, even though we had to take turns moving around in the room. We got a glimpse of the house-keeping suites and they looked to be very large and comfortable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We appreciate your traveling all this way to visit the Outer Banks! I'm glad you had such a great time that you extended your stay to see all you could see of our lovely area. We appreciate your comments concerning your stay and if you are able to return again please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to help make reservations for your stay--Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We normally stay here for one night a few times a year. We come down the day before we check into the Golden Strand and OBBC timeshares. We are normally just using the room for a place to sleep. The free internet, breakfast, and good location keep us coming back. Due to the fact there is zero beach view from any room I would never use this hotel for a long vacation. The beach is a very close walk to the hotel and it has a nice pool. The rooms are very small and most times I have been there they were clean. I had one issue with the room not being clean enough in 6 stays but it was corrected fast. The staff is always good but the hotel is a bit run down.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front or you will have no place to sit outside. Only beach front rooms have seating ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We're glad you chose to visit the Outer Banks for your vacation...We thank you for writing a review of our property from your stay. Just to clarify for everyone--the 2nd floor rooms facing the ocean do have an oceanview. Those rooms do have 2 Adirondack chairs outside their doors that you can sit in. The rooms below those rooms (dunefront rooms) also have chairs outside their door. The suites (which run along the south side of the property) have an interior and exterior entrance with these chairs located along the exterior entrance area. All of these rooms types are larger sized rooms than the other room types (and they will be designated as: oceanview, dunefront or suites).

We hope that you continue to come to the Outer Banks every year for your vacation and if you need a room before your week starts again next year we'll be right here! Thanks so much--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Got a good deal on the hotel via AAA membership, hotel isn't the ritziest place in the world, but then again, if you're looking at Days Inn, that's probably not what you're after. That being said, for the price, the hotel was great.

Pros: There's a path behind the hotel that leads to the beach no more than 100 yards away, and the section wasn't too packed the days I was there; there's also a small shower to get the sand off before you head back inside, which I thought was a good idea; breakfast was pretty good, some variety and enough food that there was no worry of the food running out (I've had that happen before...); showers have shower heads at a reasonable height, which for a 6-foot-3 guy like myself is worth mentioning; had no noise issues or problems with other guests

Cons: The room I stayed in was a two-double bed, compared to other hotels it's a bit on the small side, but still sufficient for 3 adults; also, our hair dryer sparked and broke one evening, and the night shift at the front desk didn't seem to know where any spares were to remedy it

For me, the cons were minor points, and overall the hotel was decent quality for a comparatively good price at the Banks. My family had a great time at OBX, and we would definitely consider staying here again for our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I travel extensively for my work and stay at a number of hotels weekly. This was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at. The staff are all extremely courteous and friendly. The breakfast was much more than expected with eggs, sausage, waffles, and the expected cereal and bagels, in addition they have snacks throughout the day in the breakfast area. That being said, it is a Days Inn, the room is a room, not a suite, however it was decent sized and once again CLEAN. One suggestion for those of you traveling with kids or are gamers yourselves, they do have LED HD tv's so you can take your gaming systems along for the evenings or an HDMI cable to watch movies from your laptop if you desire.Overall for the money a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want an Ocean View choose the second floor on the Ocean View side of the hotel. Ocean View a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

If the best thing you can say about a place is the waffles are great you know it isn't the best choice in the OBX area. That said the rest of the breakfast was fine, just wish they had some condiments for the eggs and ham. Rooms are in need of make over but the carpets seem new.
The pool is right beside a busy road. Access to the beach is right behind the hotel. There is a volley ball net and you could have a BBQ in the outdoor fireplace.Got a good price on hotwire and the family liked the popcorn and lemonaid served in the afternoon. Fridge and microwave in the standard room. Everyone very nice and quick check-in and check-out!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Address: 201 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.