We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront to your Saves list
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Virginia Dare Trail, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Clinton, MD
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is your typical 3 star hotel. Room was decent, with plenty of space. Bed was comfortable. The older A/C unit was very loud but kept the room cool. Not a lot of bells and whistles but not worthy of the bad reviews either. The hotel is a bit older and more like a motel with the front door of your hotel room leading directly outside instead of in a hallway. The pool.was ok but not the most inviting. I say that because the day I wanted to get in, it was full of sand from the beachgoers. The price was great. The hotel offered a continental breakfast that was very not very appealing with only instant oatmeal, cereal and a few pastries, however for a quick meal, it would be acceptable. This was my first trip to the OBX and the hotel's location was excellent. A short drive south to Nags Head and Hattaras and north to Duck and Corolla. The hotel's location is walking distance to the beach and a short car ride to many eating and shopping spots. If you decide to stay at this hotel, please keep an open mind that it is not a Ritz Carlton, but a Quality Inn. I do suggest asking for a room with a ocean view on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Ocean view on the 1st floor faces a fence. Other rooms face a parking lot and don't have a private balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We value all comments and suggestions and are glad to be of service to you and yours. Safe Travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    75
    52
    18
    15
See reviews for
61
71
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

You can't beat the location being right on the beach with easy access. The rooms are not decrepit but not really updated either and are reasonably clean. The breakfast is good considering the price of the room. One pet peeve is that they allow smokers to smoke outside the rooms on the balcony which is irritating. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your thoughts and input are important to us and we appreciate them. Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The location was great, desk staff nice, we even were able to check in a couple hours early. But when we got in the room it was damp smelling. The carpet was very worn and stained. I wore my flip flops in the room. The beds were good, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was tiny. Breakfast was good. The wi-fi was useless. I couldn't log on at all. Even in the "business center" we couldn't stay connected. This was quality with a lowercase " q".

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments and inputs, safe travels and Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not impressed first off we reserved a beach side room then when we got there they said that we could have a road side room. We used points to get the room the guy at quality inn that made the reservation gave use the beach side room and never said that there would be an issue reserving with points, then we could not check in till 4 pm and when we got to the room they were still cleaning it, there were bugs in the floor by the base board it was room 139. And the a/c sounded like a plane taking off the air would not get cooled so it keep running lets just say I did not sleep good that night well for a 130 dollars a night I should have slept in my car or on the beach.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Mr. Morgart, I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have pulled your information and I will be contacting your very shortly. Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The front desk staff were very nice and the room was clean. The other pluses are that it is right on the beach and is centrally located to most restaurants and attractions in OBX. Also, there is a pool, and a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. The price was a little high but I can't complain because it was a last minute booking and on a holiday weekend. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It is important to us and we appreciate all you comments and input. Safe travels, hope to see you soon and Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The front desk staff were very nice and the room was clean. The other pluses are that it is right on the beach and is centrally located to most restaurants and attractions in OBX. Also, there is a pool, and a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. The price was a little high but I can't complain because it was a last minute booking and on a holiday weekend. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us and we want to always look at the perspective of our guest. Safe travels and we hope to see you soon. Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our first time in a Quality Inn hotel and we weren't impressed with the room. It had a funny smell which we contributed to the carpet which had a couple of large stains in it. The room was an average size with a small bathroom. It did have a nice size TV, coffee maker and refrigerator which was adequate. The rooms could use an update as they were a little outdated. They did provide a breakfast which was OK, could of used a few more choices. Not sure how many people like biscuits and gravy?? On a good note, the staff was very friendly and the hotel was close to the beach. The price for the room was not worth it to me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input and hope that we can be of service to you in the near future. Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Address: 401 N. Virginia Dare Trail, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.