We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nags Head Woods Preserve

Nags Head Woods Preserve
701 W. Ocean Acres Drive, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
252-441-2525
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Outer Banks, this preserve is one of only a few maritime forests left in its natural state.
Dover, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What an unexpected treasure at the beach! Found this while looking for something to do on a day that was too windy to be on the beach. The trails are well maintained. Very peaceful and serene.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dog Owners Outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We brought our dogs to nags head and we were seeking an activity to tire them out. You can't walk dogs on grass down there because of cactus and its fun to take them to the beach but not getting the sand out.

We found the preserve had three dog friendly trails and was totally free. The trails were awesome and well maintained with beautiful views and interesting native species info signs. It was very cool because the trails are in the woods.

I definitely recommend to dog owners, runners, people annoyed by their families needing a break and families with older children.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome hiking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Who knew there were steep hills on this sandbar???

The woods are a great reprieve from the beach (if you happen to need one).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful piece of preserved nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This preserve can be a 15-minute walk, which is perfect for families, or a much longer, leisurely walk for those who choose. This is a wonderful natural maritime area which MUST be preserved. It is a little slice of quiet under-appreciated heaven.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you love nature this is your spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I thought it was very nice and peaceful here. We took the Roanoke Sound trail which brings you to the water at the end. It was very secluded and a nice spot to just take a rest and look out at the water. Plenty of trees for shade on those hot days. Next time I come I would like to do the other trails. When you arive you will notice a swamp. I didn't see any aimals expcept for a big turtle sitting on a branch. All this beauty that doesn't cost a dime. Great for familess, hikers, and bikers. They also have a trail for the disabled with a paved trail. Bring some water because there isn't anywhere to buy drinks or snacks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nags Head Woods Preserve also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Nags Head Woods Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nags Head Woods Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.