We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, O.k. Motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean House Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean House Motel
Save
You added Ocean House Motel to your Saves list
1901 S Virginia Dare Trail, Mp 9.5, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
kingston tn.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, O.k. Motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were here once before, and enjoyed it, so we decided to stay there again on our way to Virginia. I guess it was prime time for al the hotels , everything was at it's highest price.. We didn't get a view of the ocean, or even facing the ocean, but it was a nice clean , but a little shabby, room, where you could walk over the dune to the ocean. The bedspread was worn thin and had a couple of holes. but the linen was clean , the bathroom could have used some cleaning, and the shower was tiny. There was saop. Period. No microwave, refrig. hairdryer, shampoo or other extra's. No chairs on the beach.
We found out though that after this summer they'll be closing due to someone buying the land to put up 4 ,16 room condos.. So anyone planning on going back there will have to make other plans.
At least there are reasonable places to eat in the area, we had a delicious pizza at Pizza Hut, and very friendly service. The motel room cost well over $100.00 but the bigger hotels in the neighborhood ran over $300. Well over our budget.

Room Tip: They will no longer be open after Sept. so dont go there. There are a couple of other old fashioned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    10
    9
    20
See reviews for
18
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Let's face it, it's a [-]. It's real old; staff is less so and passably nice only (contrary to other reviews). Will work in a pinch if you are not any kind of germaphobe and you are (a) booking last minute or (b) too cheap to pay $50 more for Ramada 2 blocks down. Add dogs and it's a lock. But avoid otherwise.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I just returned from this property today. For the price it was much better than I had thought it would be. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had 2 rooms (side by side) and they were both clean and comfortable. I love the easy beach access and location of the motel in general.

I would recommend The Ocean House and will stay here again. I am not a coffee drinker, my husband is, so the only downfall was no coffee pot in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I paid for an "ocean front" room and got a sand dune and glass that was disgustingly dirty. The chairs were falling apart. The bed linen smelled mildewed. A few guys in the room a few door down had a huge scorpion/bug in their bed! The planks on the deck leading into the rooms are rotting from the air conditioners leaking onto them. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came for our yearly anniversary getaway. This is the first time we stayed at ocean house. Service was great. The rooms were dated but many of the accommodations are unless you stay in a new rental home. We loved that the patio had a path directly to the beach. They had grills which we thought was perfect to cook a surf and turf dinner on. They did not have plugs in the bathroom, blow dryers, alarm clocks, or room phones but it wasn't that big of a deal for us. We had fun. We expected worse. Another hotel down there was way worse had bed bugs and was priced higher.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Check in was pleasant, people were friendly. We were early and our room wasn't ready, so they switched our room; which was fine because it was a bigger room. Excited to see the rooms, we went up the stairs and that's when I could see this motel is not maintained and very dated. Nails and screws sticking up out of the steps and some boards were split. Inside the room; nice tile entry, but the only thing nice in the room. Entry doors do not seal (see daylight all around them), bathroom sink drains slow, tub/shower area has mold/mildew and rust. Beds are uncomfortable, sheets were tore. Back deck leading to beach is trashy and again nails sticking up everywhere.

This is the second motel I've stayed in claiming "ocean view" rooms and again I've been disappointed because you can't see the ocean.

Won't be staying here again...

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very disappointed after seeing the internet information and picture and then finding out what our room was really like. Would never go back again to this motel. Only redeeming qualities were the price and proximity to the beach. Bring your own alarm clock, kleenex, and hair dryer as they are not provided for you. Glad we were only there 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Motel

Address: 1901 S Virginia Dare Trail, Mp 9.5, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel Outer Banks, NC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Ocean Motel Kill Devil Hills
Ocean House Motel Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.