We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, well stocked condo on beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Strand By Evrentals

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Strand By Evrentals
Save Saved
You added Golden Strand By Evrentals to your Saves list
1529 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Spacious, well stocked condo on beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Best things about resort
Plenty of room in two bedroom condo right on the beach with most of the rooms oceanfront. At first, we were disappointed that we were in unit B1, one row back on the side, first floor. That proved to be a non-issue as we were high off the ground and still had an ocean view from our balcony. The unit was very well-equipped with kitchen items with lots of counter space for food preparation. The extra blankets and towels in the linen closets were much appreciated as was the more than adequate closet space. The use of the free laundry room was great. We enjoyed daily walks up and down the beach and beautiful morning sunrises. The beach right in front of the condos was a bit narrow but walking a couple of minutes in either direction gets you a wider beach. We were there in September so beaches not crowded but occupied with people swimming, reading, fishing, walking.

Best attractions or restaurants nearby
The Grand Strand is in an excellent location to take in both the northern and southern outer banks. We traveled to Corolla a couple of days. Took the Bob's Wild Horse tour which was lots of fun. Visited the Currituck Lighthouse, small heritage village, wildlife exhibits, etc. We went south a couple of days to Hatteras Island and visited Bodie Lighthouse, Pea Island Refuge, Graveyard of the Atlantic - all worthwhile. We also spent a day on Roanoke Island visiting the lovely Elizabethan Gardens and the Roanoke first settlement. Just down the road from the resort we visited the Wright Brothers Memorial, hiked the Jockey's Ridge Dune, and hiked the trails in Nagshead Woods. We had a wonderful birthday meal at the Flying Fish Cafe which was perfect for a special night out. We had a more casual meal at Goombay's Grill right across the street from our resort and were pleasantly surprised at the appealing menu selection and the quality of our meals.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at The Grand Strand. We would go again and would recommend to others. The unit we stayed in was very well equipped, very central to site seeing, and we enjoyed staying right on the beach.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I own a timeshare unit here and stayed for the first time this summer. It was a great vacation for the family. My unit is a 2nd floor 2 bedroom. The view from the second floor was great! The beach and water could be viewed from the unit and private deck completely unobstructed by the dunes! That is rare in the OBX. The beach and new pool are just steps from the well maintained units!
These beach front units (I think every unit is beach front with its own deck) are a great place to stay. I think we were only about 100 feet from the waves rolling in. With the great staff, free laundry, and large sized units this place is a winner. I have only been here in the summer but I think this would be a great place to stay off season since it is so close to the ocean. I bought it thinking I would exchange it but now I am planning on using it! Its a winner!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just got back from the Golden Strand, had a great time. It is located on the beach. This is great, no worries about finding a place to park at the beach access. The condo was a great size, the rooms had great closet space. Towels and linens are provided, laundry facility is free, never had a problem to wait for a machine to finish. Plenty of kitchen supplies. Had great sunrise every morning and sunsets to watch on our balcony. It was super quiet at night. We plan on staying there again when we go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for 12 years. They are always doing up grades ; a new pool a few years ago. This year we have wall mounted flat screens and new couches. My bedroom is about 100' from the ocean. I love sleeping with the window open and hearing the waves crash! This is a perfect family condo. Close to lots of resturants and shop

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I exchanged our timeshare for this 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo and stayed for a week with my husband and another couple in mid-March 2012. The check in was very quick and without asking they gave us a unit with a better view than the one we had been assigned. Very nice of them – thank you very much!

The exterior and interior are nothing fancy and are older but well maintained and clean. The beds seemed new and were very comfortable. They were delivering new sofas the day we departed but not sure how many units were being upgraded. The kitchen seemed to be well stocked even though we did not cook – just made coffee in the morning and cocktails in the afternoon. The condos are right on the beach so we walked in the sand most every day and since it was not the busy season there were not many people and no swimming. There was one restaurant that was walking distance but we did not try it.

There are many interesting places to visit in the area that we enjoyed including Kitty Hawk, Roanoke Island, Fort Raleigh, aquarium, Cape Hatteras, Jockeys Ridge State Park and several light houses. Because of the time of year some attractions and restaurants were not open but we still enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is an older resort but the location makes the place worthwhile. This is our second time staying here; this time we have a 2nd floor unit with a great view of the ocean (2 couples). The unit is well-stocked with paper products, towels, etc., (no beach towels). Knowing there were no washer/dryers in the units we did not plan to do laundry. This time of year the resort was quiet with lifeguards patrolling the beach via vehicles.
The unit had a full kitchen and there are so many good places to eat (Kill Devil Grill, Owens, Flying Fish Cafe, Colington Cafe, Black Pelican) and the beach is a definite attraction. The beds were comfortable, but you may want your own pillows.
Although the place could be refurbished and updated, we would stay here again, just for the proximity to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011 via mobile

To start off, this is a great place to stay; it has all the necessary amenities, it is located right on the beach, there is a pool and laundry facilities. Overall, it is good; however a few things could be fixed. I found blood stains on the sheets and when we went to cook dinner, we found that most of the dishes had a strange chemical smell and some of the pots and pans were not well cleaned (they had food crust on them.) Nothing a quick run in the dishwasher didn't fix. The whole building is clearly older, along with the appliances and decor, but if you can get past that, the proximity to the beach, the pool, the oceanfront rooms and the value compensate for a bit of grime here and there. Definitely rent here, just bring your own set of sheets.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Strand By Evrentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Strand By Evrentals

Address: 1529 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Also Known As:
Golden Strand By Evrentals Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Golden Strand By Evrentals Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Strand By Evrentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.