We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay with the Ramada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Mechanicsville
1 review
“another great stay with the Ramada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Ramada Nags Head has a great staff and location. I have never, never had a bad experience staying here! The amenities are plentiful and the atmosphere is fantastic! if you are choosing to stay in Nags Head, give this hotel a shot... you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for again staying with us here on the oceanfront of the Outer Banks. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff and service and are flattered by the recommendation. Please visit with us again and stay in touch at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    434
    281
    117
    64
See reviews for
496
425
35
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Loved this place! We had an ocean front view and it was great! We will definitely come back-hopefully in September for a longer stay. We have no complaints!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments and we are thrilled that you had a great time at our oceanfront hotel. We’d love to have you come back in September for some more fun here in OBX and look forward to seeing you then! In the meantime, stay in touch with us at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family spent 2 nights here. Our first trip to OBX. The room was supposed to be "ocean-view" but due to the high dunes we couldn't see the shoreline at all from the 3rd floor. Maybe a room on the 4th or 5th floor would have been better. The bathroom looked dated, and the water in the tub wouldn't shut off completely, which meant we had to listen to an endless slow trickle of water. The toilet handle had to be held down for 5-7 seconds for it to flush properly. The balcony was grungy with a rusted door. By 4PM on our 2nd day housekeeping still hadn't come to our room to tidy up or bring new towels, so we had to call the front desk. They made the beds and brought towels, but didn't clean the coffee pot, didn't give us new coffee pods/sugar/creamer, and left us with only one almost-gone roll of toilet paper. We will NOT be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you want to see the shoreline of the ocean, get a room on the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we are so sorry to hear that your experience with us was less than perfect. We will certainly look into your comments and appreciate you taking the time leave your remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family and I traveled to this beach hotel the weekend of July 5, 2013 and had a nice time at the beach. Just what we were looking for. Kids had a great time going between the indoor pool and beach. The room was ok. They say that the just completed a renovation however I still noticed small things like a broken dresser drawer & rusty / chipped bathroom door. All in all it was a nice room but the bird in the lobby was not so nice.

Their resident cockatoo named Sabrina is in an open / unmanned cage in their main lobby. They have a sign to 'Handle Sabrina At Your Own Risk' but their staff did not warn me that she bites. I put my arm out to what appeared to be a friendly bird and was then bitten! Not just a bite but she removed a mole from my arm and was bleeding quite bad.

After checking in I gathered my thoughts and called the front desk to inquire about the bird and the agent on the other end informed me that this bird bites approx 8 guests a day! I questioned why they have the bird in the lobby if they know it bites people and they say it is the owners decision. To me this is a lack of concern for their guests well being.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are truly sorry to hear that Sabrina wasn’t polite to you when you picked her up from her cage recently. While we have signage stating that handling her is at your own risk, we are disappointed that you were bitten. We will certainly pay more attention and monitor her more. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you had an enjoyable time while in the Outer Banks area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.