We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
WHEELING
1 review
“vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

house cleaning staff was out standing, Amanda was who did our room and she was outstanding in the way things was done. The saft did not woek when we got there and the problem was fixed the next day. The food in the restrend was good , but we were there in the off season they were under staffed, the ones rhat were there was running there butts off trying to take of ever one , looks like there were one person short

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We appreciate you staying at our hotel and also value the insightful feedback. We’ll be sure to let Amanda know about your positive comments as well. Thank you and we hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    428
    280
    117
    65
See reviews for
491
424
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SPRING HILL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My friend and I extended our stay in NC after a wedding to come out and experience the Outer Banks. The package we got through TravelZoo was a phenomenal price - and we were positioned right on the beach, which was perfect for us. We were unaware that we got a free breakfast every morning, which a very pleasant surprise for us. Overall, we don't have any complaints - it is in a great location, at a great price, with great service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Awesome! We are glad to hear that you extended your time in OBX had such a nice time at our hotel. Our goal is to provide great service, a comfortable spacious room and great amenities to enable our guests to have the best possible time while at our oceanfront location. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again. Please stay in touch- facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKWOOD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great check in agent. We looked at 3 rooms before deciding on one. The agent did not seem to be bothered by the fact we wanted to look at the room first. We did not eat at the restaurant but did have drinks in the bar. Great area to visit. Our first time in the Outer Banks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our oceanfront hotel here on the Outer Banks. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff and truly hope you have many happy memories to look back upon. We hope you’ll stay with us the next time you come back into to the area. We’d love for you to follow us: facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have to say, you get what you pay for and considering that I got a very good deal on the room (approx. 50% off), it was all worth it.
The reason why I chose to stay here is because my husband and I prefer to travel with our small dog. The hotel is very dog friendly as is the beach. Yes, the pet-friendly rooms are on the main level so do not expect ocean views. What you do get in return is an easy and quick access outdoors to walk your dog (careful, many pet owners don't bother to clean afterwards).
The room was clean, had all the amenities promised, atmosphere was great. The staff is very nice and very responsive. We had only 2 minor issues, one - the TV stopped working but was replaced in less than 2 minutes by the hotel staff, and two - there seem to be some sort of remodeling going on in the room above us which caused a lot of noise at 5:30 am, but stopped immediately after we called the front desk (in all fairness, we stayed off-season and during weekdays so that's the perfect time for remodeling).
We loved the patios, swings, indoor pool, work out room... Not so much the hotel restaurant. It was OK for the breakfast but we had dinner there only once (enough said).
The hotel is undergoing major renovations in Spring 2013, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: It might be little bit more expensive, but if you can, choose room with an ocean view, the other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and we are thrilled to see that you had a great visit here in the Outer Banks. We’re sure you and your dog enjoyed the easy access to our beautiful beach as well as the great views of the ocean from our pool, decks and restaurant. We hope you’ll come back again soon. Stay in touch! facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My fiance and I are getting married early next year and went away spur of the moment for a night down to the beach in Nags Head. We were able to book a great deal online (make sure you check for state, federal room discounts....can save you a lot of money!) and were on our way. We had no real plans, and took our time getting there. From the moment we walked into the door the staff was very gracious. We had a few drinks and started checking things out. This time of year was great for an indoor pool, but we were lucky enough to get a weekend in the 70s to 80s. One of the best parts in my opinion was the comedy club. That night we watched a preview from the website of Mark Matusof, and order tickets immediately. It was a great show and Bill Russ also made us laugh so hard our stomach hurt! We eventually went after the show, once we got a photo with the comedians,we headed out for some more fun and then called it a night. The next morning we had breakfast at Peppercorn's inside the hotel with a great view of the ocean, even my fiance commented on that. Eggs Benedict was excellent, and they really have some great cooks there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Our oceanfront hotel does provide plenty of activities and fun things to do and we’re glad that you enjoyed the Comedy Show held right on site. We hope that you lovebirds had a great time staying with us and enjoyed our beachfront location, great ocean views and relaxing atmosphere. Please stay with us again and follow us: facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWPORT
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our stay was generally great; however, the accessible roll-in shower I booked was not available upon arrival and were placed in an end room nearly fifty yards from the elevators. Not having a walk in shower nor handholds was a bit problematic but we were provided a slip resistant tub mat. Joyce had prepared the room well and the four nights we stayed were properly maintained. Dan does an excellent service keeping the pool clean which can be no easy task with beach sand being continually introduced. This was just out of the summer season and the menu was complete. Tammy always had a cheerful smile and a pleasant disposition when we had our breakfasts delivered to the room. The wireless connection at the end of the fourth floor was a bit spotty in places within the room and mostly nonexistent on the balcony, but the purpose of our stay was not mega-wifi oriented; we came for the beach, it's view, the sound and a quiet stay. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for again staying with us here on the oceanfront of the Outer Banks. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff and service and truly hope you have many happy memories to look back upon. Thanks also for the valuable feedback and we hope you’ll stay with us the next time you come back into to the area. Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIENNA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is not as upscale as the internet photos look.
The first level rooms are "pet friendly", and do not smell good.
Perfumed sprays used to mask the odors make the problem worse for people with allergies.
There were not enough people at the front desk to provide good service. Sometimes only one person was working at the front desk, taking reservations over the phone while customers waited in line. It was not the fault of the employees. They were just understaffed.
There should have been a breakfast provided.
The elevators were very slow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We appreciate you staying with us but are disappointed to hear that your experience was less than perfect. We value customer feedback and will most certainly be discussing your comments with our team. Despite you opinion of our hotel, we do hope that you had a nice time while in the Outer Banks area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.