We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great staff and great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Virginia
1 review
“Great room, great staff and great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I had a very enjoyable experience. The room was very clean, the view of the ocean from the 5th floor was beautiful, the staff was very friendly. I plan on returning very soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
We are ecstatic that you chose our hotel while in OBX and that you had a wonderful time. Be sure to follow us on Facebook to keep in touch and see all that is happening in the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    487
    319
    130
    69
See reviews for
551
482
41
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boykins, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

it is a very nice place
would go back any time we went on my birthday and they had set ballon up for me have a nice place to sit and watch water peceful and beautiful

Room Tip: just ask or let them know
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
We're glad you enjoyed your time with us & were happy to help make your birthday a little more special. We hope to see you back again soon and please don’t wait another year before seeing us! Also…become a fan on Facebook and keep in touch! (Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The room was expensive. I know it was a holiday weekend...but still!! The room was dirty. We had to call to have it cleaned before we unpacked. The waitress in the cafe was sweating profusely. Her T shirt was wet and her face was dripping. Did some get in our food? I wonder!! On the last night I got at least 30 bug (spider?) bites while I slept. They still haven't healed. I told the front desk about it when we checked and I got some lame excuse about the bugs coming in because of the forest fires, and that was it!! Only if I would have to sleep on the street will I ever stay in a Ramada in again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for offering your comments about your stay with us, however we're dissapointed that the memories you'll have are less than great. Rest assure we take action and research all of your comments to be sure it won't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

My first visit to this hotel was a TOTAL DISASTER, see my last post entitled, Lousy Hotel. After making this post, the management from this hotel posted back, apologizing and asking that we try it again. I was EXTREMELY cautious of going back! Long story short, when I called to make a reservation, I asked for someone from management and I was given the hotel manager, who said that we'd been sent a complimentary two night stay gift certificate but it had been returned due to a bad address. I was SHOCKED, let's face it, most companies today do NOT value their customers enough to do something like this. We went back, AFTER peak season, so while it was less crowded, it was MUCH better than our first visit. The hotel still had the same issues, older, noisy, BUT, they took care to put us in a room away from the elevator bank and since I'd been there before, my expectations were a little lower. Our trip was enjoyable!!

The management of this hotel went above and beyond to make the awful first trip we had there right.

I would return to this hotel, without the comped stay, I'd just do it outside of the "peak" beach season, provided I could get a room away from the elevators.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thanks again for letting us know about your visit and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. There are certainly fluctuations in the number of guests that stay with us and it is typically based on seasonality and weather. Please let us know when you are returning and we’ll be sure to again arrange for the room location you prefer!
Terry Davenport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Check-in was a breeze. Everyone was extremely friendly. My room, ocean view, was very clean and in good condition. Great view from the balcony, which was also very clean. The restaurant, Peppercorn's, has great food and a pretty good lounge. All in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittyHawktraveler, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear TravelinHokieFan,

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team members. i will also make sure to let our restaurant staff know about your comments. Peppercorns is one of the few oceanview dining establishments left in the Outer Banks open all year round and we are glad you enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach in not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Terry Davenport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Our room was filthy. It had not been vacuumed, the glass tops were sticky with something that had not been wiped off and obviously had not had a deep cleaning in some time. What is it with hotels that they will not edge around the carpet from time to time? This room was white around the edges and when I moved furniture there was a layer of dirt and dust. I even found clothing left behind from the previous guest. I called the desk and they sent housekeeping immediately. They agreed the room was unacceptable but there was nowhere else to put us. Also, we were told we would be in a rennovated room and when I complained that we were not the employee at the front desk kept stating that we were indeed in a rennovated room. Once I cleaned the room it was comfortable enough to stay in. We were so disappointed though. The hotel did try to make it right. Housekeeping responded right away, they notifed the front desk and hefty discount was waiting for us when we checked out. The night management was awful (insisting we were in a rennovated room) but the day shift management came through. The location is excellent and had the room been accepted we would have loved it. We plan to try again when the rooms really are rennovated and ready. Maybe then we can check that we would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittyHawktraveler, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear Beechmeezer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property. I am sorry you ran into someone who proved to be unhelpful at the front desk. I can assure you that is not the standard at our hotel. Since your stay, we have been working on the issues you mentioned including finishing up renovations on our ground floor rooms.

We would love the opportunity to have you as our guest once again, please think about giving us another try on your next visit to the Outer Banks.

Sincerely,

Terry Davenport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011 via mobile

The restaurant, Peppercorns, has a great view. The hotel's beach is the best in the area!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.