We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little beach hotel, too many smokers!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Yancey Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2009 S Virginia Dare Trail, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little beach hotel, too many smokers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We have stayed here many summers for short weekend trips down to OBX, it's no frills but serviceable, they allow dogs, and have a nice little deck and easy beach access. The staff is normally very helpful and friendly. However, we are hesitant to return if the hotel doesn't do something about all the smoking in common areas. They have smoking rooms but the smokers had also taken over the hotel's deck and beach access points. We couldn't even stand to be outside on the deck at night, and when I suggested to the front desk that it would be nice to restrict smoking in that area, I was met with a gruff response. I hate to have to find a new regular place to stay, but we might be scoping out other spots on the beach now to avoid all the smoke and cigarette butts.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward22, Guest Relations Manager at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are a smoking friendly hotel and do offer dedicated smoking and NON smoking rooms for guests in different areas of the property, in an effort to accommodate different guest needs. We understand your desire to avoid smokers and your concerns and will discuss ways to restrict smoking in common areas/ outside going forward. We strive to make all our guests enjoy their stay and make the John Yancey a family friendly resort for years to come.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    55
    55
    36
    71
See reviews for
90
93
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Do not believe the online photos ....the place is very run down. The breakfast is limited and the breakfast room quite unpleasant. The pool is small and shabby looking. Read the fine print....if, due to an emergency, you need to leave prior to your ordinal check out date, they will not refund any money, but will charge you for the time you stayed and give you a credit for a stay there to be used in the next six months. I do NOT recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of motels in the outer banks and this one ranks low. I paid $123.00 to stay here in late May. The chairs in the room were wet. And the shower still had wet towels in it. The door had gaps around the frame. I was on the first floor and the curtain didn't close all the way, I had to shut it in the door to get some privacy. My dog didn't even want to go in the room. The motel offered a free breakfast but it was all empty when I got there. I wouldn't stay here again. The only positive comment I have is the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyersdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Our room had two double beds with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. It was a clean, average size room that served it's purpose. It had a balcony on the ocean side with a sliding glass door. It is an older hotel and does have some wear and tear to it, but no more than any other place I've ever stayed at the beach. The staff were excellent. They were friendly and happy and professional. The continental breakfast was above average with many choices from make-your-own waffles to fruit. This is one of the cheapest beach front hotels around, and for the money, you cannot beat the amenities: swimming pool, direct beach access, on-site-laundry, picnic tables and grills, and 24 hour in coffee service in the lobby. This place is worth a visit and I will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

If you look at my more critical reviews on Tripadvisor, you may not understand this review. I am compelled to write because of the negative raps that this motel gets. For the past 7 years, we have stayed here for one or two nights before our week at a house in Duck. We very much enjoy this reasonably priced motel that allows pets. This motel reminds me of my old family trips to Wildwood, NJ or Ocean City, MD. It is your typical east coast shore motel. It is clean and has very good ocean access and parking. The same staff has been there every year that we have been there. I don't expect any more than I get...a nice family style beach motel. It has the playground, the pool, the grills, the picnic tables and a place to walk the dog. It doesn't pretend to be anything more than it is. It is not pretentious...just a nice down home, good value shore motel. I am sorry more people don't appreciate it. I would rather not write this review for fear that the prices will go up and the vacancy will go down; but, that would be selfish of me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward22, Owner at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. We agree! We aim to offer that independent, unique Outer Banks hotel experience with clean, affordable (yes, pet friendly), rooms with superior beach access and all the hotel amenities one needs.

We look forward to having you back the Yancey, as we continue to look for ways to improve our guest experience. This includes future plans to replace the remaining older TVs with new flatscreens, new mattresses, and other property improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Access to the ocean and other activities was good. Room was not so good. The sliding glass door was in need of repair and not easy to open or close. The door to the room had a wide enough gap around it that light came in on all four sides. The hot water in the shower was very difficult to control. The beds were comfortable, and the free breakfast was okay. The condition of the room did not equate to the high cost of the room. The pool was small given the size of the facility. We got to the hotel about three hours before check-in time. When I checked to see if the room was ready, I was informed that it was. We were told we could go ahead and take it for an additional $50 charge. I thought that was rather extravagant, but since we were tired from our journey, I went ahead and paid it. I don't think the room warranted an additional $50 for early check-in. Would I stay there again? Seriously doubt it.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room you are renting before you take it. Make sure that the sliding glass door works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville,tn
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We just returned from our long weekend in Kill Devil Hills. This was a very quaint place to stay, no long waits for elevators that were overstuffed. We were in the ocean front building and it was great. Quiet complex, very family friendly. Our second floor room was perfect, will definitely plan ahead and get the first floor with direct sand access next time. We were very sad to leave and look forward to our next visit with John Yancey and Kill Devil Hills!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2009 S Virginia Dare Trail, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — John Yancey Oceanfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Yancey Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Yancey Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
John Yancey Quality Inn
Quality Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Quality Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.