We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John Yancey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added John Yancey Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2009 S Virginia Dare Trail, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
“John Yancey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Check in was not handled very efficiently. The person handling our check in was more concerned with handling people that were calling about future reservations. It was late at night and we just wanted to get checked in and had to wait 15+ minutes while he continually took and handled the calls rather than dealing with the people who were waiting in line. The room was clean and comfortable and the location was great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    62
    36
    77
See reviews for
108
113
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a wonderful time at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn. The location is fantastic and the staff is extremely courteous. Although the room was little pricy but for the location and the amenities it was worth it. Swimming pool, good breakfast and private access to beach were some of them. I would go back to same hotel again next year!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

If your looking an old style Motor Inn the John Yancey is for you. Our family loves this place and for that reason have been staying here for the last 8 years. Yes the place is older but for its age is well maintained. Looking at some of the negative posts I can tell you that if you brought your issues to the management they would have bent over backwards to please. Some people are just never satisfied. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. I have stayed in plenty of 5 star places but I love the nostalgic nature of the John Yancey and those 5 star staffs don't hold a candle to the management and staff of this place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Upside: friendly staff; ocean front-great view/quick access to the beach.
Downside: room smelled like a wet towel (this was the worst part of my stay, the smell was so awful that I went out and bought an air freshener to deal with the smell); bathroom was extremely small; walls are thin, so you can hear people talking/dogs barking from rooms nearby; outdated furniture.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in Room 504. This is an old motel showing it's age. The room was damp and smelled like a wet dog, but that's what you get with 100% humidity of a beachfront hotel without elevation or impediment to the ocean that is also pet friendly. The furnishing seemed new, the room was clean and the air conditioner worked well. There is breakfast, we missed it both days opting to sleep in or swim early. You are paying for direct access & view to the beach. I literally stepped off the deck of our oceanfront room and walked across the sand into the ocean. I've read other reviews listing damp rooms, rust or mildew. We didn't experience rust or mildew, but an old locally owned hotel directly on the beach is going to be ravaged by the elements.

This ain't the Ritz, but the view is worth a million bucks.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Rooms in the Sea Building will have the best view but be more humid than the Four Season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Staff friendly and accommodating. Rooms deteriorating and filthy. Had two rooms and both were disgusting. Rugs stained, blood stains on quilt, dust everywhere, bathrooms grubby and vomit or some other food stuck on doors in bathroom. Never had a more disgusting experience.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We've come back for anniversaries since we first discovered John Yancey five years ago. Direct access to beach without going over dunes is wonderful! We plan on returning regularly. Location is great for accessing the OBX sites.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.9 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
#15 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2009 S Virginia Dare Trail, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — John Yancey Oceanfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your John Yancey Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Yancey Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
John Yancey Quality Inn
Quality Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Quality Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.