We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Save Saved
You added John Yancey Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2009 S Virginia Dare Trail, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Mechanicsville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in the main building. The rooms were clean & very nice. The beds were very comfortable. The employees were very friendly & nice as well. The outside of the main building could use some repair & updating. Overall we had a very nice stay. The next time I stay there I would rather have a room where I have my own private balcony

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward22, Owner at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback. We continue to look for ways to improve the guest experience at the John Yancey. Our two oceanfront buildings have undergone extensive renovations over the last 2 years. Most of those rooms feature private balconies or terraces. We have more planned for the upcoming fall/winter for the Main Building. Please do come back and see us again!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    51
    36
    71
See reviews for
84
89
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah Ga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We read a lot of bad reviews about this hotel........ We decided to give it a go after we read about the renovations of the Four Seasons building which we stayed at. There were some good features to the hotel but overall the experience was not that great due to the cleanliness of the facility.

The bad:

Double beds in the renovated room. I knew what we were getting when we reserved the room, I just didn't understand why they didn't put queen beds in.....

The carpet is horrible! We understood the first floor hallway not being in great shape given the fact that it is by the ocean, that being said there were two areas of our carpet (on the fourth floor that was "renovated") that looked like two dead bodies laid on. We would not walk on the carpet bare footed. Socks or shoes only. People will always remember a dirty floor.

They really need to ditch the carpet in the main halls and go with tile due to the ocean. They should also tile the main entrance of the doorway in each room when you first walk in. There was also green carpet that looks like it belongs on a pontoon boat on the balconies that is no longer secured to the balcony.

The area under the fridge needed cleaned and the head boards were dusty.The shower handles had a lot of zinc build up. There was a toy gun left by the previous guest. (Remember they pride themselves on the cleanliness of the facility but missed a toy water gun)

The facility needed maintenance. The air conditioning was broken on the first floor near the elevator. Our rail on the balcony was loose. The door leading out to the balcony took a body builder to get it closed and the door leading to our room wouldn't shut properly without force.

The AC was weak in our room. It is an older facility that does not have central air. That could be a personal preference though.

I didn't see any in the hotel, but on the 4th floor there were 2 smokey brown cock roaches on our balcony. From what I read due to the mild winter here, they are very common.

The Good:

Great price! We couldn't find a better one.

Staff was friendly to us.

One of the best locations around and easy to find!

Beach is clean and the waves and wind were non stop. Had a great time at high tide with my family.

Crabs would come up on the beach at night and made for a fun time spotting them. (THEY RUN VERY FAST ON LAND!)

Adequate amenities. I wouldn't change anything they offered. It was basic, but good!

Internet was sufficient for browsing and video. (you could tell when everyone in the hotel was settling down, but it wasn't horrible)

Pet friendly.

All in all if they fixed the floor problem I would have no problem staying back in the facility. .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward22, Owner at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are continually looking for ways to improve the guest experience for customers of the John Yancey. We are sorry you did not have a better vacation, and hope you will give us another opportunity to show why we are and have been a favorite Outer Banks hotel for generations.

We in fact did replace carpets in all Four Seasons and Sea Building (oceanfront) over the last 2 seasons. We pride ourselves on cleanliness of the property, and in addition to a carpet replacement program, we steam clean carpets on a regular basis.

We have completed a number of capital improvement this offseason (cable upgrade, WIFI upgrade, room renovations, additional flatscreen TVs, etc. We have more planned for 2014/2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The only "pro" this hotel has is the fact that it is in a good location. However, upon checking into the room and walking barefoot on the carpet we noticed that it felt and look wet at the ends of and between the beds. After getting back from Jockey's Ridge a couple hours later, I decided to notify the front desk and see if maybe they had an explanation for the dampness of the carpet in that area. The front desk sent someone (seemed to be a service man who spoke broken English) who told us that the carpet was not wet and that it might look wet from the AC unit and that it was fine. There is no excuse for saying the carpet was actually not wet despite what we could feel, and the AC causing the carpet to look wet from the condensation on the unit IS A PROBLEM. Laying in bed that night, we noticed that every time the AC unit turned on the room was filled with a musty mildew smell, which is more than just an nuisance it's a HEALTH HAZARD as well.
I almost said that being "pet-friendly" was a pro as well, but at $20 extra a night this makes it a con. I received a voicemail at dinner saying the front desk had received complaints about our dog barking. The amount of noise coming from the other guests makes it a wonder anyone could hear or complain about our dog, who was probably only barking at the noise coming from other people.
Thankfully when I made the reservation John Yancey only had availability for one night that complemented the availability of Sea Foam motel for the other night we were staying at the OBX. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND STAY AT SEA FOAM INSTEAD!!! They only charge $10 extra on your total stay for having a dog and have a cheaper base price as well, much cleaner and fresher smelling rooms, and seem to have a better family-centered clientele.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just got home from several days stay at the John Yancey Oceanfront Inn in Kill Devil Hills, NC. We stayed in the Four Seasons Building which was clean and our accommodations were good. We had an oceanfront king room and the view was great! Hotel employees were friendly and helpful. Pool out front was very nice and water was so clear and cool. There is a little playground for children and picnic tables and grills for those wanting to cook out. The only negatives we found were the Continental Breakfast and the daily housekeeping. The breakfast area was very small and I'm not a fan of all kinds of people hanging around food counters, reaching across food items to get what they need. There were several items to choose from to eat there, I'm just very picky when it comes to cleanliness around food I'm eating. The housekeeping was a little less than what I expect from a hotel. It appeared that the hotel may have been short-staffed with housekeepers because it took them several hours to clean rooms. This is not a huge hotel either. I'm not sure our room was vacuumed while we were there and we had to ask for clean towels a couple times. All in all, it was a good hotel and I would probably stay there again. It was a very quiet hotel and I liked the AC window units in the hallways next to the elevator. What a nice touch so vacationers stay cool while waiting for an elevator.

Room Tip: At the Four Seasons Building, there is a sand dune behind the hotel. So, you may want to request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here on way home from a week in a rental house in Hatteras. Good price friendly staff room was freshly painted and extremely clean. On the down side had to pay (2.50) for ice and our fellow guests were pretty scarry looking.

Room Tip: There are beachfront rooms with balconies try for those. Stay away from pool area really noisy at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in the Sea Building. We had room 513.
The GREAT: The room location was fantastic. We were on the second floor and we were about 50 yards from the ocean. We had a balcony and could sit out and enjoy the view. You just walked down the steps to the sand and headed out. It is PET FRIENDLY and it seemed like there were a lot of folks with pets. This was a huge plus. The literature says pets aren't allowed on the beach but most people do it. Just make sure to keep your dog under control and you should not have an issue.
The NOT SO GREAT- The bed! This was bad.. felt like they took a piece of plywood and put a very thin mattress pad on it and called it good. The pillows were okay but the bed was horrible. It was old, they said they had remodeled this building but other than a coat of paint and what looked like maybe newer carpet, the furniture was still particle board and they did not replace any of it. Also, being on the second floor, you have to lug your bags up the stairs (maybe they have a elevator but i did not see one).
General comments- the shampoo/soap products are organic so that was a nice touch although they seemed inexpensive. The room has a refrigerator if you need it. The bathroom is really small. They did have an area on the beach, like a patio type where the people that didn't have ocean front could come and enjoy.

Overall, if they got new beds I would stay here again. The view is spectacular.

Room Tip: Any room in the Sea Building is good in terms of view and beach access. We had room 513 and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubert, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We just needed a hotel for the night as we were passing through the area so we didn't really expect/demand all of the frills of a beach vacation. The location is excellent and right on the beach, your toes are in the sand in less than 30 seconds. The rooms are average size with decent (if slightly dated) appointments. You can tell that the carpet had been recently replaced. I had noticed in previous reviews that quite a few people had mentioned the poor carpets. It was nice to see that owners had rectified this problem. The have a continental breakfast in the morning during the tourist season so that was a nice touch. if I was staying for an extended time I would probably upgrade but this was nice for a one night stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2009 S Virginia Dare Trail, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — John Yancey Oceanfront Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your John Yancey Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Yancey Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
John Yancey Quality Inn
Quality Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Quality Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.