We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't even stay here and hated it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added John Yancey Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2009 S Virginia Dare Trail, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Washington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We didn't even stay here and hated it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Full disclosure: we never stayed at the John Yancey Inn. That said, we did reserve a room and were horribly disappointed with the service we received. After booking our stay, we never received a confirmation email, confirmation number, nothing. Closer to our trip, we decided to stay at another hotel nearby. When I called to cancel the reservation, the clerk (who was very nice) was unable to find our reservation. After several minutes of her looking for it, I offered that we never received a confirmation number, so perhaps the reservation did not go through. She agreed, and that was my understanding when we hung up the phone.

A month later, we were charged the full amount for the hotel room. When I spoke to the manager to explain what happened, she said the original conversation I had was inside the cancellation dates, so there was nothing she could do. When I explained that we did not have any indication that the reservation went through, she emailed a confirmation number from the date I spoke with her (the manager). There was no indication that the confirmation number had been emailed previously. I had never seen it before.

I believe their practices border on criminal and will not consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    51
    52
    36
    71
See reviews for
84
90
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

For starters LINDA is the rudest manager very unprofessional! We arrived at the dump where the keys wouldn't work called down to LINDA she was very rude and nasty to my family. Everyday day of our vacation we was locked out of our room. No hot water the entire trip of 4 days! We lost our power for 4 hours...No TV no microwave NO nothing! The whole place is a fire hazard should be condemned! The maid service does not change sheets or pillow cases, just flips them over! There was poop after poop on the beach...swimming pool is disgusting i doubt there are any chemicals in the pool. TV was so blurry couldn't see the picture. Called down to the office the manager refused the owners contact information refused her last name. She also said it was not her problem to take showers early in the morning or real late night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for a week in August 2013 at the John Yancey and it was a wonderful experience. Free breakfast, beach access, incredible staff, clean linens every day, and there was even a fridge in the room! Everyone that works there is so pleasant and very accommodating. They even provided us with beach chairs to use while we were there! Also, one of the best restaurants in Kill Devil Hills is right across the street - Kill Devil Grill - which also is a plus. We look forward to staying at the hotel again!

Room Tip: Book a room that faces the beach - the view is incredible and the sunset is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have stayed at the John Yancey many times over the past 15 years. The hotel is in a good location, has good beach access and a decent pool. The hotel website states that they have "renovated" but they have only done basic and necessary hotel maintenance. Our last stay July 4th week of 2013 was probably our last. We were without TV for over half of our stay and had no electric - and no airconditioning for 1 night and most of the next day,and no elevator (in a 4 story building) for 2 days. And although "Management" on this website stated that electric outages are a problem on the OBX - this time it was a transformer at the hotel (only the hotel was impacted) and the hotel manager did not call the electric company until the morning (the outage happened at about 10pm the night before). When we checked out we were told that the manager was out of town - but someone who appeared to be the manager (yes the one with the red BMW) appeared. We received no adjustment on our bill at check out - but we wre told that the "manager" and the owners were going to meet to discuss the adjustments that would be made for the guests that had no electric, etc.. Well I am still waiting for my credit or "adjustment" - and I have contacted the hotel in writting - but no response.
Also the 4 Seasons building is supposed to be pet free - a policy they clearly ignore- see earlier reviews - so if you are alergic to dogs this hotel is not an option.
The breakfast is not great and one morning one of the cereal dispensers clogged - so the person in charge of the breakfast room used a pair of sissors to reach through the cereal to unclog the dispenser - Gross and unsanitary.
If you are getting a great deal on the room - stay here- otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We needed a place to stay in northern OBX for a couple nights that allowed pets. John Yancey suited those needs. Our room and linens were clean. The hotel on the beach. A pool for the eight year old and ac for the dogs. For the price we couldn't ask for anything more. Would we stay again? Absolutely!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've been traveling to the Outerbanks for 20 years. We usually rent a beach house but come down early and spend the night in a hotel to avoid traffic. We travel with a dog and I understand we don't always get the nicer rooms. I also understand that being near an ocean is hard on the carpets and showers because of the sand. The rooms are small, the ice machine was broken. The room keys were demagnetized quite a bit. The hotel staff was really nice and the breakfast was average but they did have someone working there, filling items up. The beach access was good and they kids enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauts de Seine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is situated 50m from the beach (but in this area they are all !) with a "private" access to the beach.
The room are "functionnal" but very standard. It is clean but very basic. My son liked the TV with a screen from the 80s... There is a small swimming pool also. Nice after 5hours drive.
Breakfast is included but more than basic.
So ideal for one night if you travel in the Outer Banks, I will not spend more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2009 S Virginia Dare Trail, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — John Yancey Oceanfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Yancey Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Yancey Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
John Yancey Quality Inn
Quality Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Quality Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.