We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Korner's Folly

Korner's Folly
413 South Main Street Kernersville, NC 27284, Kernersville, NC
(336) 996-7922
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
319 attraction reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This house was built in 1880 to be used as designer Jule Gilmer Korner portfolio. Who needs to looks through a folder of pictures when you can walk through a house and pick from all the different designs. The floors are buckled in places so be careful not to trip. There are openings in walls of one room to allow you to look down on the floor below you or into a hallway (haven't figured that one out yet). Some ceilings are so low you can't stand up straight and watch out for the narrow doorways and stairwells. It's a strange experience that will leave you smiling and at times scratching your head. It gets very hot in there so I recommend going during the cooler months.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fun and quirky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

this is a great place to go to see an interesting and historic house . It is fun every time I have taken visitors there-and when they have an event at the location it is more fun. Wish they would have more special events on the grounds!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Piece of history what can't be missed in small town of Kernersville, hope you will enjoy as much as me and my family. Have ayes and ears open you will learn a lot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I toured Korner's Folly on February 8th. It definately was well worth the trip. So many antiques to see, such beautiful art work in the fire places, the walls, the ceilings, amazing - simply amazing. And the quirky way it's laid out. Fortunately for me I'm only 5'2" so I had no problems with the low ceilng - my husband on the other hand :-) but oh my the fun of exploring and reading the information and direction from room to room. I took over 85 photos in this house.

I loved the courting chair concept. The original owner definately had a wonderful design imagination. In one of the reviews a comment was made about the 8 minute pre-video you watch being childish - while it was animated with puppets, once you realize the puppets in the video are encased in glass in the theatre room, and these were apparently originals the owners wife used in her teaching of the arts to young people of the neighborhood - the video didn't seem to be as childish as mentioned.

There are alot of stairs in this house, and it's not handicap accessible if you plan to see all the rooms. Many of the staircases are very narrow and steep. Currently there are rennovations being done to restore everything to the original appearance.

We plan to go back and visit again and taking friends with us - what an enjoyable way to spend the day - I'm sure we overlooked some things and we were in the house for well over an hour.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun, nutty house to explore alone, descriptions in every room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Ugly exterior so I've never gone in before. Exterior isn't fetching because nothing lines up for good reason. Three floors that he converted into 7 levels, 22 rooms now. Nothing lines up with anything. Got a kid on the way, halve a room and make it two by adding a new ceiling and putting the kid above it. So the kids' rooms have 5 foot ceilings, they don't care. His entire house was a showroom... every room different in color and decor. The dude was an interior decorator so the house was samples of everything. Brilliant. I gather he married the Nut of His Dreams too. Fun, nutty house to explore alone, descriptions in every room. But the stairs are narrow and steep and very uneven. It's quite a workout. It's barely accessible for the able-bodied.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korner's Folly also viewed

 

Been to Korner's Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Korner's Folly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.