We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be back!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis to your Saves list
Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 Cloverleaf Pkwy, Kannapolis, NC 28083   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kannapolis
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wont be back!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I made our reservations and called ahead to let them know we would arrive after nine. Clerk very nice and helpful. Arrived and was sent to a room with two people already sleeping in the bed. Waited almost an hour to be told we would be sent over to another hotel. Now we are approaching 10:00 pm have traveled with three children and do not wish to be sent anywhere I am not familiar with. we made our own reservations instead with a more dependable name in the hotel industry. They held our money because they ran the credit/debit through and we had to spend time on Saturday because it could not be freed up and we had to transfer funds. I have talked to the management a number of times with the request for them to cover our other hotel stay , contacted corporate offices and nothing has happened. Amazing that a large hotel chain can be that inconsiderate, unorganized and unable to meet a families needs.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
7
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kannapolis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

My stay lasts for the entire tax season of Nov through May. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location is close to most anything that's needed. The GM Andy CLapp exceeds expectations. The entire staff is professional and friendly. I would give each and every one of them a 5 star rating. I am a member of the BBB and Chamber of Commerce and have recommended friends and colleagues. This is my 2nd year staying at the Home Towne Suites and I will be back again next season. I highly recommend this location!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I booked this hotel last minute, when my flight home from Columbia, SC got cancelled. I had to drive for about 2 hours to get there from SC, but the hotel was totally worth it. My previous stay at an Extended Stay in SC was so terrible, and I didn't have high expectations about my last minute choice in NC. But when I got to my room...I was pleasantly surprised! The room had a nice little kitchenette, full-size refridgerator, microwave, and a 2 or 4 burner stove (I can't remember). I didn't use any of this, besides the refridgerator, but it was great all the same. The bathroom was almost as big as a small apartment bathroom, with a nice sized (and clean) shower. There was even cabinet space under the sink! There was a small connected living area, with a comfy couch and coffee table, and large dresser. There was a large flatscreen on top of the dresser, with crystal clear picture and additional hook-up's (for DVD's, game consoles, etc). The bed was AMAZING. King size, lots of pillows and comfy blankets. I wish I had stayed there the whole time...even if I had to drive 2 hours to Fort Jackson! Great hotel, I'd recommend it to anyone...the front desk staff was only one woman, as I got in after midnight, but she was very helpful and pleasant. The price wasn't bad, especially since it was last minute. Best "cheap" hotel I've ever been in!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We relocated from Virginia Beach, Va and our new home was not going to close when we expected it to. We looked for value priced accomodations in the area and found that most extended stay hotels offered similar amenities, so we chose Home-Towne Suites for its location, hospitality and comfort for our needs. We don't have any kids, so the room layout was fine for us, the free internet a plus. What made our stay out of the ordinary was the friendliness of the staff. They were helpful in providing us with restaurant tips, local events and attractions, which enabled us to acclimate to our new neighborhood and the Charlotte area. We are now in our new home and continue to explore our community.........

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

I went and stayed at this hotel and the clerk at the desk gave me room 205 and I went and looked and turned on the lights and the room was dirty and nasty and it was not clean. I went to the front desk and told the clerk I needed another room because that one was not clean. She apologized and gave me another room and that was clean other than that I had no more complaints.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

No, this isn't the Ritz but no one said it should be. I was worried prior to my stay due to the reviews from when this place was still a Main Stay. The hotel has it's pros and cons. The front desk staff was truly the nicest and most hospitable of any place I have ever stayed - whether it be a one star or a 4 star hotel. The location is easy to get to but is right off the interstate. I would imagine the rooms on the back side of the hotel could be noisy but the front side was no problem. Our room was small but spotlessly clean with a queen bed, a loveseat, a small bathroom, and a small kitchen area. The layout is not well thought out, but it was fine for a few nights. My only real complaint with the room was that there was no where to store or deal with an open suitcase (like the luggage racks you find in most hotels.) Unless you wanted to completely unpack - the closet was not big enough to fit a suitcase so it stayed in the middle of the room on the floor. Also - there are no hairdryers in the room so bring your own if you need one. The hotel does offer free wi-fi and the connection speed was great.

We were greeted warmly by the desk every time we came and went from the building and also thought a nice touch was the in -room basket of popcorn, coffee, and crystal light mix. No breakfast was served that we saw - just some coffee but there is an IHOP right around the corner.

Only other observation was that there seemed to be a lot of strange characters coming and going late at night. No one was a problem, just a lot of people pulling up in a car or even a taxi, going inside for 15 minutes and leaving again so I did have to wonder if this might be some kind of a drug dealing spot? Hopefully management will take care of this if that is the case before they drive off business as everyone was very nice and seemed to genuinely value our business. That would be the only reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel again. While I felt safe enough with my husband, had I been traveling alone I would have been leery of they many strange people coming and going who obviously weren't guests.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTS000, Marketing Director at Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
The safety and comfort level of all of our guests is a top priority at our hotels. All public areas of the hotels as well as parking lots are monitored by security cameras. The office of our Kannapolis hotel is also open 24 hours. If while staying with us you encounter a situation which leads to your feeling unsafe, please address the situation directly with management at that time.

After checking on the timeframe of your stay with our General Manager, I discovered that we had several extended stay business guests in house who were without transportation other than that provided by their company to and from work. Therefore, after their workday ended, they often made quick trips in and out to stores and restaurants, usually by taxi.

Thanks for choosing to stay at Home-Towne Suites and we hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

I stayed at this MainStay for the first time. The Pictures online looked great! checkin was easy. I thought ok! BUT... our room was NOT what we expected! first we asked for a quiet room. we were givin ground floor next to the interstate. also our room had an outside door with a sign outside stating the hotels not responsible for theft! we did not feel safe. the beds were hard. the bathroom sink dirty. (leftover toothpaste gel on sink handle a big bunch) 2 lights didnt work. the phone didnt work. the microwave light didnt work & the fridge kept making funny noises all night like it was dying! the ceiling looked like it was patched like the floor above had fallen through-we felt very unsafe was really glad to get out of there. the rest of the hotel looked ok just the ground floor had you enter from the outside. the kitchen had lots of things broken. didnt try any breakfast/slept in/ ate out.
would not go back to this hotel very disapointed

  • Liked — it was only 1 night
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis

Address: 3200 Cloverleaf Pkwy, Kannapolis, NC 28083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Kannapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kannapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only minutes from NorthEast Medical Center, Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis offers affordable extended stay lodging accommodations for business and family travelers. Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis features spacious suites comfortably furnished and equipped with full kitchens and living areas. The hotel boasts a friendly staff and excellent customer service as well as easy access to Interstate 85 and close to the Carolina Mall. For added convenience, the hotel provides free parking, Wi-Fi and premium cable TV. Guests also enjoy 24-hour access to the onsite laundry facility and vending area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Kannapolis
Kannapolis Mainstay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home-Towne Suites of Kannapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.