We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had read the reviews- Bad Choice!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kannapolis/Concord

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kannapolis/Concord
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kannapolis/Concord to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kannapolis/Concord
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3113 Cloverleaf Parkway, Kannapolis, NC 28083   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kannapolis
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Wish I had read the reviews- Bad Choice!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

After a few stays in very nice Microtels, we chose this one for a one night lay-over in Concord. The lobby is tiny and reeked of some over-sprayed room spray. Our reservation (made on-line) was screwed up - they had us staying two nights starting two days before we actually arrived. Luckily, I had everything printed out. Our room was outdated, but that was the least of the problems. The bathroom had not been cleaned (dried on urine and hair on the toilet!!) and the remote didn't work. There was a note on our dresser that said (exactly as typed) "11clock is check out not 1130 nor12clock check out also if you a stay over house keeping starts at 930 they will not come back after 11clock also must leave room when they clean!" .....nice. Also a big typed sign on the front desk that said "We are NOT pet friendly". really? I'm not so sure you're "people friendly" either. The front desk clerk, while he apparently fixed our reservation (still waiting to see if those two other nights show up on my credit card), spoke in mumbles, never offered an apology and even said " I just work here" when i pointed out the mistake (nicely, mind you). On the plus side, the beds and pillows were comfortable (didn't check them too closely....I just didn't want to know at that point). It is now morning, and we will be leaving as soon as possible. I can't even bring myself to get in their shower. I certainly won't touch any food offered in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    27
    39
    54
See reviews for
60
21
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Hotel needs updating. Rooms are supposed to be non smoking but smell like a bar on a Friday night. Room was dirty. Carpet was sticky. Cigarette burns on the tub. Blankets had cigarette burns and holes. Found a second TV remote made up in the bed. Elevator dirty and hallway carpet threadbare. Cheap but not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I got biten by bedbugs and the aircondition leaked all over the floor. When I went to the desk and showed the person at the counter my arm, her jaw dropped but I couldn't believe she didn't apoligize or even offer us the night for free. I attached a picture of my arm with the bites. I alos had bites all over my body. They are very painful. I WILL NEVER NEVER NEVER STAY AT A MICROTEL HOTEL EVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suches Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Based on a very favorable experience at a Microtel several years ago I decided to give this motel a try. It was a mistake.

To say the carpet and bedspread were worn would be an understatement. The carpet was thin did not apear to have a pad and had wrinkles in it. Both the bedspread and the carpet had cigarette burns. Although it was a nonsmoking room the room had the musty smoky smell.

The bed saw comfortable but that was the only positive I experienced. This is not a 2-star motel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We decided to stay at this hotel because the hotel that we had reservations turned us away when we showed up later than our anticipated check-in. We searched for hotels that accepted pets and this one came up, so the decision was made.

We dealt with two front desk employees & they were like night & day in personality. The woman that checked us in was a doll. Like I said, it was 3 a.m. she quickly got us checked in and assured us that our two puppies were not going to be ANY problem.

The next night, we found out that the only problem with our dogs would be with a man working at the front desk. He was verbally abusive to my husband and even attempted to kick us out of the hotel. Even with my husband explaining that we had searched for hotels that accepted pets & this one came up! My puppies ended up spending the two nights in our truck in 30 degree weather because we had pre-paid for our room. They ended up getting very sick and had to go to the vet.

We did end up speaking with our original desk clerk later in our stay. She explained that it was fine, that we were correct that the web sites stated that pets were allowed. We ended up bringing the puppies in for our last night after talking with her.

As far as the continental breakfast, we have had better. It only had cereals, toast and bagels one day. It would have been nice to have some fruit or something.

We were put in a non-smoking room, yet it was interesting because we found cigarette burn holes in the curtains and a burn on the tub.

  • Liked — The reasonable price
  • Disliked — Front desk staff that is ignorant to their own advertising
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

We loved our stay at this Microtel Inn. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room may need some cosmetic work, but other than that everthing was great.
They have a small juice and coffee bar in the morning.

The price was very reasonable and this hotel is close to everything!

When I go back I will stay here again!!!!

  • Liked — Room was very comfortable
  • Disliked — The washing machine in housekeeping vibrated the room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

I would agree with the other reviewers here that this place is filthy nasty! The bed linens all had cigarette burns in them, the window seat had what appeared to be toenail clippings on it, the hook on the back of the bathroom door was no longer there, the door to the room barely closed, the carpet was filthy and "wrinkled" and there was 1/4 inch of dust/dirt all around the baseboards (I wouldn't dare be barefoot..wore shoes the entire time). The room smelled terrible and we also left the window open. We were there for a wedding and were supposed to stay 2 nites but ended up leaving mid-afternoon on the day of the second nite and headed home because we didn't want to stay another nite. We missed one of the wedding functions due to this, but were very happy to get home! We'll never stay there again and recommend that others don't stay there either. Someone needs to report them! I'm gonna do what I can to let someone know the condition of the place!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kannapolis/Concord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kannapolis/Concord

Address: 3113 Cloverleaf Parkway, Kannapolis, NC 28083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Kannapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kannapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kannapolis/Concord 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kannapolis/Concord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Charlotte Concord/Kannapolis Hotel Kannapolis
Microtel Hotel Charlotte Concord
Kannapolis Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kannapolis/Concord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.