We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected, but overall ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Eldreth Inn at Mt. Jefferson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Eldreth Inn at Mt. Jefferson to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Eldreth Inn at Mt. Jefferson
829 East Main Street, US Highway 221 & NC 88, Jefferson, NC 28640   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jefferson
Burlington, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what we expected, but overall ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel on an overnight trip to West Jefferson. The positives to this hotel- the restaurant, Winner's Circle, is outstanding! When you stay, you'll get a voucher to get your breakfast at this restaurant. The staff are super nice and helpful. The location is perfect, right in the middle of Jefferson. The price was affordable also. The negatives- our room smelled musky and old, there were only two pillows and they were extremely flat, the bed was so hard my boyfriend ended up sleeping on the floor due to a bad back. The worse for me was that when I showered, I had water up to my ankles. Overall, not a bad place to stay. We were just expecting more of the "Best Western" quality that we have enjoyed in the past. We have decided to stay at the Hampton Inn next time though in West Jefferson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
37
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at this motel for one night. It was much more reasonable than the prices of the motels and hotels in Boone. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was worth the drive from Boone. The breakfast was served in the restaurant and was included with the stay. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the Boone and West Jefferson area.

Room Tip: The room with the King size bed includes a microwave and refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore of Montreal
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very nice service from the owner.
Rooms and bathroom are very clean.
Beds are cleans cleans and very comfy.
Wifi work well.

Nice included breakfast at the restaurant.
Service at the restaurant was really nice and included choices for breakfast ware nice. Try the biscuit. On a minus side, coffee could have been stronger, but it my personal preference.

Nice spot to stop while on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

I would go there again !

Room Tip: I was very satisfied whit the room 125 who is not on the side of the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Eldreth Inn is a Best Western property and its location makes it a great stop for a night as one is passing through, or a good, clean base of operations if one is staying long enough to be involved in any of the activities the area offers.
The staff is friendly to the extreme and seems committed to making guests feel welcomed and cared for. The room was perfectly adequate, with amenities that are sometimes lacking in other places. The iron and ironing board are still here. The TVs have been upgraded to flat screens. There is wi-fi access available without extra charge.
A comfortable choice that won't break the traveling budget.

Room Tip: Rooms in the west building are apt to be noisier simply because of their proximity to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

As Best Western motels are independently owned, you never know just what you'll get. The Eldreth Inn in Jefferson is an older property that has been remodeled, and enough of the extras (hair dryer, ironing board and iron, coffeemaker, etc.) have been added to earn a 3-star rating on most ranking systems. I would place it at the bottom end of that category or downgrade it to 2-1/2 stars.

Our room, in the one-story section opposite the lobby, was small. There was a bedside lamp on only one side of the bed, and the overhead light for the small clothes bar was burned out. The vent fan in the bathroom rattled loudly, and the air conditioner rattled softly. The mini-refrigerator, for some reason, had been permanently removed, and its place was covered by a plywood panel. On the plus side, the room and bathroom were clean.

If you see advertising for this hotel bragging about "rocking chairs on the porch", be warned that these are ONLY in front of the upstairs rooms -- about one third of the total number -- and that they are actually on the balcony that accesses all the rooms.

Breakfast is "full" as advertised, but it is not buffet-style nor all-you-can-eat. Instead, you select from three options and it is served to you. It IS freshly cooked and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were only staying one night on our way to a zip lining adventure in the area. The room was in what appeared to be the older section, but it was clean and comfortable. The registration clerk was so helpful and friendly. When I told him where we were going he gave me a map of the area and tried to help me find the correct route. The icing on the cake came the next morning when we were getting ready to leave and at the last minute locked the keys in the trunk of our rental car! We were sure we would miss our zip line time an hour later. It was Sunday morning and the closest locksmith was in Boone. The lady at the desk gave me the name of a local gentleman, I called him and he came right over and we were on our way! In our anxious rush to leave, I forgot to get names! We were blessed by angels that day! Thank you, Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were there with our motorcycle group. Weather was NOT perfect (raining) and the staff at this hotel had special towels for us to dry our bikes. Check in was quick, very organized.Breakfast was included with the room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Eldreth Inn at Mt. Jefferson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Eldreth Inn at Mt. Jefferson

Address: 829 East Main Street, US Highway 221 & NC 88, Jefferson, NC 28640
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jefferson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Eldreth Inn at Mt. Jefferson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jefferson
Jefferson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Eldreth Inn at Mt. Jefferson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.