We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Oats Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jarvisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Oats Motel
112 North River Drive, Jarvisburg, NC 27947   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jarvisburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

After checking out the reviews here, I went ahead and booked one night as a stop on my way to OBX. The price was very low and I appreciated that, but I couldn't wait to get out of there. Thank goodness I arrived late and left early. The ceiling in the room looked like it was going to fall down; the carpet was stained (BIG stains), the frig was rusted all along the outside (didn't dare open it); and everything was extremely outdated. The worst part was the smell. The smell of the room was bad enough, but the smell of the office/reception area was downright nauseating.

I wish I had paid more attention to the reviews and noticed that one person wrote all the positive reviews.

Room Tip: ask for a room that perhaps has been "updated"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
7
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We've stayed here the past three years now as part of our trip to the Outer Banks and will stay again next year. They have updated/replaced the flooring and some other things in the rooms. Very comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. Definitely has become part of our tradition of going to OBX.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband, children, sister and I stayed again this past August 2010. Our "usual" room had new carpet and flooring in the kitchen. It looked much better, but we enjoy staying here anyway. The only issue that might have been was that they apparently double booked our room. We called on the way to confirm, and when we were getting close received a call asking if we were still on our way as another family had also showed up. It worked out for us as we had called earlier in the day to reconfirm our reservations. However, we felt bad for the people who arrived 10 minutes prior to us and had also booked the same room. They had to go elsewhere as the motel was completely booked and it was very late. All in all though, we love staying here. The price is great and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Although this motel is not the Ritz, it was pretty decent for the price. We were aware of this motel as my husband and his friends often hunt during the off season in NC and this is where they have stayed. My husband and our son along w/ my brother stayed when we arrived in the Outerbanks on a Friday evening (we couldn't check into our beach house until Saturday). The hotel was fairly clean and our room had a small kitchen with a refridgerator which was convenient. We could park our vehichle right outside our door which was also nice. It was nice to stay right near the Outerbanks so that the next morning we didn't have a far drive at all and could spend the day of our check in shopping and hanging out on the beach. It was also very convenient to restaurants and eating. If you're looking for luxury, this is not your place and yes it could use some updates...however, if you aren't picky and are looking for something comfortable and affordable, this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

The motel is advertised as clean and reasonable. The "standard" room was mostly clean although there were two hairs in the bathtub. However, the structures were in a state of marked disrepair. Whatever monies the hotel owners have earned, little or none have gone back into to the motel. For example, the blind on the front window was broken off to where one could see the outside (and be seen by them). The blinds didn't sit in the window properly so that there was a big gap on the side. Anyone walking by could view the bed. Much of the trim was stained, chipped or broken. The paneling on the walls was bowed with the inner wall visable at a corner joint where the seams were coming apart. The carpet was stained and full of cigarette burns. (We found out that all rooms were smoking -- a real problem to someone with allergies. The air in the room had a stale old cigarette musty odor.) The ceiling of the bathroom had been repaired, but not very well. And part of the bathtub was rusted through.
My husband and I were on a budget and made reservations sight unseen. The price was just under $60 with taxes, way too high a price for this motel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jarvisburg hotels

Been to Sea Oats Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Oats Motel

Address: 112 North River Drive, Jarvisburg, NC 27947
Location: United States > North Carolina > Jarvisburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Jarvisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean & comfortable accommodations for the budget minded person. We have single, double & efficiency style rooms and are located only minutes from the NC Outer Banks beaches! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Oats Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Oats Motel to your Saves list