We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local favorite ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Troy

Taste of Troy
1236 Guilford College Rd, Ste 113, Jamestown, NC 27282-8536
336-315-2298
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Jamestown
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: American, Greek, Mediterranean, Turkish
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A local favorite ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Daily specials like salmon wrap with avocado make this place fun to visit every time. Hummus made fresh is excellent. My wife loves the fish dishes and will only eat falafel here - says its amazing. Small place great for take out or, if the weather is nice, sit outside. Comfy cushioned chairs and Greek music make outdoor dining enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Fresh and authentic Greek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Hard to find good Greek food in NC. We found this little spot using Trip Advisor while on a road trip. Went 10 miles out of the way and were not disappointed. We had the chicken gyro and the chicken souvlaki pita sandwiches and both were excellent. Our side salads were very fresh and the owner's homemade Greek dressing was delish. Nice little place to eat outside. All in all a good stop for lunch.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Restaurant that could launch a thousand ships”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Well, it's not big enough for that. Taste of Troy is a small, family owned restaurant located in a modest shopping center near the intersection of the town lines of Greensboro, High Point, and Jamestown. The owner is actually from the middle east and knows the cuisine. I've been there a couple of times and find the food to be excellent, with a wide range of choices and prices to suit about any wallet. It's worth a visit when in the area, and worth a short drive to give it a try. He does wonderful things with Lamb!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing Kabobs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The chicken kabobs are extremely tender and flavorful. I LOVED them!!!!! The owner/chef is passionate about his food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, N.C.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Twice disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Other reviews indicate excellent but I'm hard pressed to say average. I been twice now and have been disappointed both times. The people are very nice but my order, each time from the standard menu offerings, were not to my liking. I've been with family both times and it was not a place any of us plan to return to. I enjoy Mediterranean food and have sampled it from many places in this area. Especially the local Greek Festival. Here I found their use of spices to be overwhelming on some dishes. Their spanakopita was rather flat in dimension; and nothing like any other I'd ever had, uniquely spiced as well. It's a shame, as it's not too far away and I had high hopes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Troy also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.