We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2115 Hwy 17 North, Jacksonville, NC 28546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Jacksonville
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Really like the location of this Holiday Inn Express. Just off Hwy 17. Some hotels are 1, 2, or 3 miles down the road after you turn off the main road. Not this one. Very clean. Front desk lady was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for the "5 Star Review". We love hear about great experiences at our hotel, thank you for the compliment as well. Hope to be seeing you during youir future stays
~Samantha Vittitow, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    16
    6
    12
See reviews for
38
15
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The rooms are average. The same for the breakfast. Two star at best - not what one expects from a three star rating. The real problem is that the internet is very slow. Almost not working at times. The front desk clerk said that they had received many complaints about the internet slowness. The clerk said that management know of the many complaints. This is the first time I have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express and the last time. Not worth the extra cost. It does not make you smarter - just frustrated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear THOMAS_L388,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience our internet service has caused you. We regret that this aspect has negatively impacted your overall experience with us. This is definitely not up to our standards as we always strive to keep all our amenities in tiptop shape. Rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to the hotel's management and will be used to consider improvements where possible.

Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We all hope that you give us another chance so we can make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you are looking for a clean place to sleep with a hot shower and nice TV, this is for you. We were in town to visit my brother at Camp Geiger, and this was conveniently located to the base, as well as in walking distance to shops and restaurants.

We were a bit disappointed by the size of the pool (think large hot tub size- for a POOL that 2 hotels use), but fortunately the Holiday Inn has a membership with a fitness club a short drive away and THEY had a better sized pool with more chairs. Thank goodness for this membership!

Breakfast was fine if you want a bagel and some coffee, but if not, there is a Denny's, Waffle House, and IHOP nearby. One suggestion we had was about the space where breakfast is served- during breakfast, the lights are on. After breakfast is over, they turn out the lights- why not leave the lights on (or a sign encouraging guests to use the lights) to encourage guests to bring takeout back and eat it in there. There were times we wished we could just order a pizza and not have to eat it on the hotel bed. Just a suggestion!

The housekeeping staff was always super friendly in the hallway, and Alicia was very nice at the front desk. We had no major issues during our stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: We liked the 4th floor just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is in need of upgrading and not up to the usual Holiday Inn Express quality that we have seen from traveling in the past. The room was dirty. It looked like they only did the bare minimum in cleaning. There was dirt along baseboards and furniture and the tile in the bathroom was gross. My daughter had a bad allergy attack here because of the dust. The bathroom was so small that you had to squeeze in and close the door in order to use the shower or toilet. The fan didn't work very well and the drain in the tub was so slow that by the time you were done with your shower, you were standing in water above your ankles. One of the toilet seat hinge caps were torn off and it was brown and disgusting around it. An empty water bottle was left in plain view by the floor lamp. There was blood on the comforter. The staff did come and replace the bedding but we really didn't want to sleep in the sheets after that. We stayed only one night and had planned on staying another at the end of our trip before flying home. We canceled that reservation and stayed at the Hampton Inn Suites hotel. It just opened this year and it was very nice. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here but if you are, I would ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Karen L,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a very nice place to say. We stayed for one night. Rooms were clean, the beds very comfortable, and the bathrooms had been recently updated. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the lobby very welcoming. The breakfast buffet was well-stocked. The price was very affordable. The location was good for easy access to restaurants and stores. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed seven nights at this HIE. We had one of the best housekeepers we have had in our many years of travel: Wendy. She made sure we had extra soap, extra towels, extra water and changed the sheets often. She left notes asking if there was anything else she could do to make our 38th Wedding Anniversary Special. In other words, she really cared.

Likewise, the front desk was top-notch: Lucy and Alicia. Both provided fresh baked chocolate chip cookies at the front door along with apples and oranges. Fresh brewed iced tea was on the other side of the front door. These young women worked very hard to make sure every guest was special.

The lady in the Kitchen, Lou, was early to arrive every morning, greeted everyone with the special grace and charm that is inherent in one who wants to please. Everything was hot and tasty and she was more than willing to provide extra coffee and cinnamon rolls along with fresh bacon and eggs. Really a very nice lady. Wide assortment of breakfast items.

The manager, Cindy, has taken on a troubled property and is in the process of turning it around. I would not want her job. This HIE is centrally located but dated, economical, and has a large parking lot frequented by truckers and construction workers. The guests are not the typical button down business men and women one is accustomed to sharing breakfast at HIE. The marines who stayed there were well groomed and nice young men worthy of the uniform.

On the night of our 38th Wedding Anniversary, this outstanding staff sent a beautiful bouquet of wild flowers and Cindy, the Manager, left a very nice gift in our room. Cindy and her entire staff deserve great credit for a valient attempt to restore this property to its stature. We plan on returning and staying at this property again because one just can not get this kind of attention and care anywhere else.

Ask for Wendy, Lucy, Alicia, Lou and Cindy. Enjoy your time there.

Room Tip: Become a Priority Club Member and stay on the fourh floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

There was not anything wrong with the hotel but nothing really stood out. It is an older property but its clean and well maintained.
My biggest disappointments were limited TV channels, no HBO, and my fitness center.
Breakfast was your normal HI breakfast so you're better off going somewhere else.
Check in staff was very friendly and helpful. Morning staff not so much.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry we didn't meet your needs during your stay. We aporeciate your feedback and take all concerns seriously. Although not an excuse we are training new staff at the front desk and with any new staff changes comes a learning curve and a comfort level. We do hope you will give us another chance should you find yourself in Jacksonville again. Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville

Address: 2115 Hwy 17 North, Jacksonville, NC 28546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and smoke-free! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Jacksonville, N.C., the area's friendliest hotel. Whether you are coming to visit one of our many military bases, traveling for business or just on your way through, we are the right hotel for you. Our location is in the heart of Jacksonville. Camp Lejeune, Camp Geiger, Camp Johnson and the New River Air Station are all just minutes from our front door. At Camp Johnson you can visit the Beirut Memorial. The Jacksonville Mall is only five minutes away, and plenty of other shopping areas as well. Other available activities in the area include golf, saltwater fishing, scuba diving, kayaking, camping all within twenty minutes of the hotel. After a busy day, you want a comfortable, friendly place to stay. All of our rooms feature wireless Internet, voice mail, coffeemaker with coffee, microwave and refrigerator. Several restaurants are walking distance. You can stay in shape while you're on the road in our refreshing outdoor pool (closed summer 2009 for remodeling) or if a more vigorous workout is what you had in mind, stop by our desk for a complimentary pass to Court's Plus Fitness Center or Golds Gym. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area. If you have any special requests feel free to contact our hotel directly and we will do our best to accommodate you. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville
Holiday Inn Jacksonville
Jacksonville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.