We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhmazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Siam

The Old Siam
1215 North Marine Blvd, Jacksonville, NC 28540
910 937-0099
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 193 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Ahhmazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Some of the best Thai food I've ever had, and not just for Jacksonville standards. Every time we go my tastebuds are treated to well prepared, hearty portions of delicious food. We try and get something different every time (though we do have our favorites), sample the authentic beer and gorge ourselves on the delicious soup and appetizers. The staff is very friendly and helpful in determining what dish you might like best. Service can be a tad slow on a busy night, but is never unbearable. Be patient and know the meal will make up for the slower pace of the staff. Ahhmazing!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SO good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Every time my husband and I go here it's wonderful. The staff is always nice and service is great. The food is just delicious! Go have the shrimp pad thai and a thai ice tea for a very yummy meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Glad to see a Thai restaurant in Jacksonville!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice atmosphere inside...you might miss it while driving by because it just blends in but it's worth a stop. The massamon curries had very good flavor. It could have had more veggies and meat but the sauce was great. They were short-staffed the night we went, but our server was authentically dressed and was as friendly as could be. It's well worth a visit when you're in Jacksonville.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food/servers not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I guess this is where you pick your own battle. For us, good service overpowers good food.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Coast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2nd best restaurant in Jacksonville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Authentic Thai in Coastal Carolina. Real Thai Curry dishes to die for. The Duck Noodle soup and the spicy basil grouper are also incredible. Real Thai owners and operators. Sanuk!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Siam also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Old Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.