We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ducks Delivers!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ducks Grille & Bar

Ducks Grille & Bar
1207 Gum Branch Rd, Jacksonville, NC 28540-5016
910-455-9128
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 192 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Playa Del Carmen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ducks Delivers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The food and atmosphere of this restaurant is perfect! We love visiting anytime we are in town! Thank You Ducks!!! :-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    26
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best good in Jax--hands down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Locally owned. A rare non-chain restaurant in jacksonville. Definitely the best food on town. We live local and go often especially for holiday brunches or when friends are visiting. It has 3 sections--bar which can be loud, restaurant which is nice, and a patio where we hang put with large groups of friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The Duck Grille was such a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I saw on Trip advisor that The Duck Grille had great reviews & the menu looked amazing. From the outside, the place doesn't look as though it would be as cozy and inviting. The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating . The food and the wine list were everything I had hoped for, delightful :))

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Mostly bad service, ok food, but great dueling pianos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been to Ducks a few times and the only reason we keep going back is for the dueling pianos which are very entertaining. With that being said, the food is ok the only very good thing we had is the crab dip the rest of the food is average. It seems 80% of the time we get terrible service. This restaurant is in terrible need of a remodel and an interior decorator. The decor is awful and confusing. The layout itself also seem poorly plan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“OMG! Who would have thought I'd find this gem in Jacksonville , NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Jacksonville, NC is a military town. My son has lived here off and on for about 8 years of his 18.5 year career......never experienced fine dining here (nor expected to) until today! Duck's is right around the corner from his new place. We just got back from an outstanding meal. I got one of the specials: the mixed grill---perfectly done lamb chops, rosemary grilled sea scallop, rosemary/garlic mashed potatoes, and roasted cauliflower.....the best lamb chops I've had outside of New Zealand! Everything was excellent. My son ordered the seafood Mac and cheese which was very good also. Will definitely come here again before I leave!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ducks Grille & Bar also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Ducks Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ducks Grille & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.