We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this was a very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Sunset Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   497 Western Blvd, Jacksonville, NC 28546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Jacksonville
Santa Ana, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“this was a very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

this was nice and in it didn't cost and arm and a leg to stay here and they ever had a CDL discount! No it is a little older looking but if you just want or need to have a place to sleep then check them out they even have truck parking but I wouldn't want to have to try and put a 53 foot long trailer in there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
16
8
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times when i came to visit my boyfriend in the marines. Rooms are clean and a great price. Everyone is super nice and helpful. Great location, right on western Blvd. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Jacksonville.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had to get out of the house for a few days and stayed here. Had a great stay. Was in a King size room. Very comfortable bed, room was clean, and there was a fridge and microwave-and they were clean too! Price was good, Jville can be pricey but their price was excellent. Front desk staff was great. Morning lady was great, very pleasant to talk with. Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed for a few days to visit family in the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Really knew what they were doin. Prices were great, especially compared to some of the other hotels in the area. Room was nice and clean. Did not have any bugs. (They have signs that no pets are allowed ! )Had a fridge and microwave in the room. The bed was more comfy than our bed at home! Could walk to all the eateries if we wanted.

They have breakfast too! Make your own waffles are good! And then the usual cereal, muffins biscuits with juice and coffee and tea. Just enough to get you going in the AM!Will stay here again when we come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband & I have stayed here a couple of times. The rooms are clean. The service is pretty good. Most rooms are decently priced, except the jacuzzi suite. There are little to none of these suites in Jville so I guess they think they can jack the price up & be ok with that. The traffic is somewhat noisy because your right on 17 but it's not unbearable. Overall I give it a 4 star.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I stay here a couple days a month and I haven't even thought of going anywhere else. Numerous restaurant within walkingss distance. Walmart is very nearby also. Texas Roadhouse Applebee's Waffle House ruby Tuesdays Logan's roadhouse. Outback

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

There is not enough space for me to write about all the things my husband and I found wrong with this hotel, if you can even call it that. We were only in the room 4 hours before checking out at 11 pm to go to another hotel because there were fleas in the bed. The tv/dvd player did not work properly and we were told that if we wanted to watch anything on the dvd player we would have to buy our own component cables. You could see daylight around all edges of the door and the locks barely closed, so we did not feel safe in the room whatsoever. And to top it all off when we went to the desk to ask for a refund for the night we would not be staying, since we had made our reservation for two nights we were told my the "manager" Michelle that it could not be processed because we were in the room for a few hours. We told her that we would be reporting to the BBB and that we wanted a full refund for the second night we were supposed to be there but were not, and we said we didn't even want a full refund for the first night, a half refund would be fine since we understood that we were in the room for a short period of time. I asked to speak to the property owner/manager and she told us that he "didn't do well with this type of thing" and that there was no number for us to call him at and he wouldn't be willing to speak with us. The room rate was 150.00 per night and was no where near worth that. We went back in the next day and finally got a refund for the second night and a partial refund for the night we left early. Upon getting the receipts for the refunds the property owner was there and started shouting at me, in another language that I did not understand, so we took our receipts and left. My husband and I stay at hotels quite frequently since I travel to see him since he is in the military and this is by far the worst experience we have ever had. I would not suggest that anyone stay at this establishment, poor customer service and an utter lack of respect and common decency. Horrible!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 497 Western Blvd, Jacksonville, NC 28546
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.