We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Jacksonville

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Jacksonville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Workshop Ln, US 17 N, Jacksonville, NC 28546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 27 hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

For one I would like to say; FIX YOUR HOT WATER PROBLEM. You would think, after many complaints and problems, this hotel would have hot water. It's obviously been an issue for months that they fail to address. The heater in our room barely worked. It was on 85 yet the room still felt like 60 degrees. For paying $95 dollars per night, I expect a little more out of this hotel. Nothing special. No military discount. What?! A hotel right by base, you would think they would offer a military discount. Nope. Not impressed. Don't stay here unless you want freezing cold showers and overpriced rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    11
    11
    12
See reviews for
28
7
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My first experience having no hot water for shower on a winter season. I was not told about the problem during my early check-in & that they may not be able to fix it so I can always look for a nearby hotel that midday. When I asked them about it that evening, they claimed that the old pump/tank is still heating up or is trying to heat up. The next day, water is still freezing cold. And they have the nerve to give me my bill without even offering to give me discount or an apology. My family is definitely not using nor recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed many times at this Comfort Suites with no problems. However the stay over Thanksgiving made up for everything that could go wrong!! Housekeeping was the worst ever!! Wifi problems. Phone problems. No hot water for shower. Needs updating in rooms-lobby looks nice. No one could answer technical questions-always given number to call. When filed complaint no reimbursement was offered except $25 off for the hot water problem. Will never stay at ChoiceHotels again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSNC017, Manager at Comfort Suites Jacksonville, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I apologize for your unhappy stay with us at the Comfort Suites. We pride our selves on our excellent customer service skills. As for internet issues unfortunately that is not handled at the hotel level but with a contracted outside company. I am sorry they were not able to help you with your issues, but that is something beyond my control.

Being thanksgiving we as do all hotels offer very limited service to our guests, and everyone that checks in is given this notice. We operate every day of the year regardless of holidays, but we do try to allow our staff Thanksgiving and Christmas with their families. I apologize that you felt we should have had our staff come into meet your needs, everyone else that stayed with us understood and agreed.

Hot water was not an issue at the hotel as much as we had to turn off the water to repair a leak in a room, sometimes we are able to repair these minor issues with out disruption to water service, but unfortunately there are times were in order to get the pipe repaired properly we had to turn off the water for a period of time. When doing so the hot water tanks do drain and we have to refill tanks and reheat, with the large tanks it does take time. I am sorry that you were not happy, we offer compensation as you stated for the hot water.

We apologize and hope that you and your family have a wonderful holiday season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This place saved my weekend. I booked the Sunset Inn initially, and after one awful sleepless night due to the lack of cleanliness and loud noise (among other things), I called the Comfort Suites. They allowed me an early check-in, a late check-out, the rooms were homey and comfortable, and the front desk agents were all quite friendly. Next time I'm back in Jax, I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

10/2012

Was going to stay from Saturday until tues 10/29...presidential suite 149.00 a night room 321

Dated ... hard to navigate

We arrived in our room which wasn't ready, finally got in.. Smelled wet and musty... Fireplace not working ... Couch was full of crumbs and dirt- food between cushions .... Gross

Bathroom had black mold all over ceiling
The tub was absouletly disgusting with some black stuff on the floor of the tub, tiles were cracked all over floor, no caulking in some parts

On the sink the faucet and handles ready to fall off... Rugs dirty ... Paint on trim old and over painted.

Every window leaked like a faucet due to the rain .... Hurricane didnt arrive at this point

Tried to address with staff.... Total idiots No solutions and offers.. Only 20.00 off. We just drove 11 hours. Was so mad that we left the next morning

Thanks for ruining our special weekend


Health hazard for folks with lung issues

Save yourself to the aggravation and stay elsewhere, don't even give this place a thought

This owner and manager should be ashamed of renting filth like this, Definelty is not like any choice chain I've ever stayed at

Complaint will be filed with cooperate

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSNC017, General Manager at Comfort Suites Jacksonville, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I apologize for your stay being ruined. I would like to start off by first saying that I am deeply offended that you would call my staff idiots, that was incredibly rude and low class, my staff does read these. We offered you a $20.00 compensation for what happened to you, however you did check in during a storm with gail force winds over 50 mph, the leaking windows we can't control, we can't fix what we don't know is broken until it is brought to our attention. The black mold on the ceiling is where the paint on the light fixture has come off and it looks like mold however our room was certified mold free. The cracked tiles and caulking are being repaired, we are working on renovating our rooms and that is on the list of repairs to be done. There is no health hazard here in our hotel, we have been certified safe and clean, and our customer service scores are an average of 8.5/10 or higher which puts us at Choice Gold Status for hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Wow this was better then expected. Not sure where the bad reviews come from. Breakfast was excellent homemade grits and potatoes thanks to the breakfast person. Debbie checked us in she was extremely helpful and gave us great advise on restaurants. She gave us a coupon for 10 % off pancho villa and it was great. Sarah checked us out and was equally helpful. But to have the general manager Cindy greet us in breakfast area and ask about our stay is something we never experienced. We had stayed before and it was ok. But this trip you can see the improvements this new staff brings. Hotel clean staff excellent. Highly recommend. Definitely great value will be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubert, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My family and I stayed at the hotel for a few nights and we had a great experience. The rooms were clean and well kept. The service was really good as well. Sterling greeted us and the kids like he'd been expecting us and made us feel at home. Overall, really good experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Jacksonville

Address: 130 Workshop Ln, US 17 N, Jacksonville, NC 28546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Jacksonville 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Jacksonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.