We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mickey & Mooch

Mickey & Mooch
9723 Sam Furr Rd, Huntersville, NC 28078-4915
704-895-6654
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mickey & Mooch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 120 Restaurants in Huntersville
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great Service, Huge portion of excellent food. Great location right of 77 in Huntsville. Live Band, great environment. Private room available for large party or special occasion.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food but over-priced!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food was excellent. My hubby and I were very surprised at the portion sizes, you definitely get alot of food! AND the food tasted amazing. I ordered the coconut shrimp entree and it tasted very fresh and well prepared. The size of the shrimp was huge, more on the colassal size. Absolutely delicious. What I found somewhat offensive was the it only came with one side. I love salads and usually with an entree of that price (around $20) it comes with a soup or salad and one side. The choices of sides included a basic salad I wanted a decent salad and had to pay an extra $3 for a nice salad (with croutons, bacon bits, etc.) So my coconut shrimp and salad came to about $23. My husband ordered flounder and chose the side of french fries. Now let me clarify.. those fries were not purchased at Wal-Mart or Target and then deep fried, they were made home-made there and I must say they were the best fries we have ever tasted.. very light and crispy and absolutely melt in your mouth delicous! The portion size of the fries amazed us, it came in a large bowl and could have easily fed 3-4 people, they were very generous with the fries! The atmosphere was pretty nice, nothing real special. The tables had their own candle. I must say it took quite awhile to get some service. We sat at our table a good ten minutes before being served at all, even for drinks, and then once we ordered our drinks it took another ten minutes to get the drink. I also must include that the drinks were VERY pricey. I ordered 2 cosmo's and they came to $19, each $9.50. They were good but expensive. Our waiter was very nice and courteous and accommodating, though it took him awhile to get drinks, etc. It was quite busy and loud too. Our total bill came to $74, my husband ordered 2 bud lights and I ordered 2 cosmo's and we each had an entree, no appetizer. Would we go back? Most certainly! (If you go, definitely make a reservation in advance!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good food but very rushed meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food we had was great, but throughout the meal we were pushed along like they could not wait to get us out of the restaurant so they could seat the next set of customers. While some customers may enjoy having main courses brought while we're still eating the appetizers, that's fine. I do not. By the same token, they kept making it clear when we were enjoying some conversation at the end of the meal, which we finished in less than an hour thanks to their very rapid, unappreciated service, they kept bustling around our table clearing things that didn't need to be cleared and making it clear they needed us to leave without saying it.

I noted a very poor rating for "special occasions because that's when you want to have some time to enjoy each other's company. This restaurant does not understand the concept of the dining experience. I won't be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went for Queen's Feast/Restaurant Week last night. From the salad (I recommend the bleu cheese dressing) to the filet (done perfectly) to the 7 layer chocolate cake (which I brought home) - everything was delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Service is always first rate. Food quality is very consistent and always good. Have been eating here for years.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey & Mooch also viewed

 

Been to Mickey & Mooch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mickey & Mooch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.